We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hotel in the world”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gargnano
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel a Villa Feltrinelli
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Amazing! Literally what I believe is the best hotel in the world. Ask for a drink one way and you never have to ask again. The entire staff immediately know your name. The mini bar is included with the room. One night they had dinner for us in the dinning room alone. They did all our laundry from a ten day trip without our having to ask at no charge. Truely like staying at a friends house-a very wealthy friend with amazing taste.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annex are cheaper and also great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ctyankee20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 166 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2012

Feltrinelli still continues to place itself another level above anything else in the world. I have no doubt that anyone staying here is a demanding guest, yet the staff conduct themselves with a casual confidence unsurpassed in the world. Ambience amazing...food amazing....rooms amazing....setting ridiculous.....peter and gabi are fantastic, their team of loyal staff even better. Oh and maybe the words best hotel laundry.

Room Tip: No bad rooms here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mronion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Perhaps the most esquisite Hotel experience - its like staying inthe most beautifull of private homes as a welcome guests. Furnished with beautiful antiques and set in the most gorgeous grounds complete with ancient terreced lemon groves.

The view across the lake is priceless.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

My husband and I stayed in this fantastc hotel for three nights in May and to us it was the most wonderful experience. We didn't even feel we were staying in a hotel but rather with some friends - very wealthy ones! :-)

I was greeted with a bouquet of flowers on arrival, and after having been shown to our room a maid arrived and sweetly asked if we wanted her to do the unpacking for us! We declined the kind offer, but felt so welcomed by the friendly staff.

The grounds are simply beautiful. We used to walk around or just sit by the lake at sunset sipping a cocktail and eating some delightful little nibbles. The staff was so attentive, almost knowing what we wanted before we did.

Our room on the first floor with a partial view of the lake was absolutley beautiful and so comfortable! I have read some of the other reviews, and one guests thought the rose petals in the toilet was too much, but I thougth it was charming and I could hardly believe my eyes when I saw the floral decoration made of petals at the end of the bed. It must have taken them hours! The outdo the Lake Palace of Udaipur!

We took a boat trip one day and had lunch on the terrace overlooking the lake at a lovely old place, Punta san Vigilio.

We only ate at the restaurant one evening, finding it quite good but a bit too formal. The staff suggested two charming places down in Gargano for the other two evenings. They were both very good, right on the lake with children - Italian, VERY well behaved - playing quietly around.

Yes, Villa Feltrinelli is VERY expensive - however you do get extras like the free minibar and the beautifully done laundry - but, just for once, if you can afford it, do go! It is worth it! I felt like "una Principessa d'Italia for three days, and that was a VERY nice feeling!

I have never been to paradise, but I wonder if this isn't better. We would love to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tita51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Best hotel we've ever stayed in. Will be back. Very private, beautiful garden and excellent service. Winston the cat was great too.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greynomadsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

we visited Feltrinelli on our recent honeymoon, unfortunately we didn't know how wonderful it was going to be, we only stayed 3 nights. what the website doesn't really describe is the privacy and the feeling of exclusivity that you get when you are in this "Grand Hotel", You can't just walk/drive into the hotel you have a buzzer at the main gate to enter. then you use your key to buzz in/out after that, when we arrived, a staff member was waiting on the steps to welcome us, with a small posey of flowers for me. wow we thought, this is a great start. we got to our suite, and there was champagne on ice, and flowers in the room. the room was enormous, with frescoed walls, and beautiful furniture. unfortnunetly we didn't have a lake view, it was peak season and the hotel's 20 rooms were busy. but we will the next time we return. The grounds are absolutely stunning, direct access to the lake to swim in the turquoise waters, private seating areas under trees, and dotted round the grounds. a beautiful pool that was never busy, and with an attentive attendant, ready to bring you water, tea, beer, anything really. Free sunscreen and magazines for your use also. The minibar in the room is also complimentary stocked daily with champagne, iwnes, beers, and soft drinks. Nibbles left in your room twice daily also. Our first night we walked into Gargnano, only 8 minutes walk, down to where the ferry comes in, and ate and one of the restaurants there, lovely food, with a divine view of the lake, not expensive about 70 euro included wine. When we got back to our room it had been pepared for the evening, candles lit, and rose petals had been left in the bathroom. If you want a drive, go round the lake or take the ferry to a wonderful village called Malcesine, absolutely stunning. The day we checked in we also asked for some laundry to be done. we handed it in at about 5pm (it was a sunday) and it was brought back to our room the next morning at 9am all folded in tissue and hanging on hangers, free of charge. We haven't seen this anywhere else. Breakfast was wonderful seated on the outdoor patio, looking at the lake, and lovely lovely food. Our last night we decided to try the Michelin (1) star restaurant and we weren't disappointed. stunning stunning food, and the service also exceptional, not too claustrophobic, but perfectly watchful, and attentive. we saw people arrive by launch for dinner/lunch and people on boats taking photos of the hotel, made you feel like you were mixing with celebrities. You won't find this hotel on 'good hotel guides' it's way too classy for that, they want the hotel kept as an exlusive retreat which gives the wonderful feeling of pure bliss. we were sorry to leave, we have told everyone we know about it, and will most definitely return.

Room Tip: A lake view room would be wonderful but as you are only steps to the lake, it didn't really matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanna5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

This is the second time we have stayed at this stunning hotel, and it was only the weather that made it better than the first. Everything was perfect and beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AEW22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gargnano
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Giulia
Hotel Villa Giulia
#12 of 19 in Gargnano
94 reviews
15.6 mi away
Lido Palace
Lido Palace
#2 of 62 in Riva Del Garda
648 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Lido
Hotel Lido
#19 of 19 in Gargnano
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Garni Bartabel
Hotel Garni Bartabel
#18 of 19 in Gargnano
24 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Tre Punte
Hotel Tre Punte
#3 of 3 in Navazzo
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Meandro
Hotel Meandro
#9 of 19 in Gargnano
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel a Villa Feltrinelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel a Villa Feltrinelli

Address: Via Rimembranza 38-40, 25084, Gargnano, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Gargnano
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Gargnano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Gargnano
Price Range: $499 - $1,146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Gargnano
Grand Hotel Feltrinelli
Villa Feltrinelli
Grand Hotel a Villa Feltrinelli Lake Garda/Gargnano, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing