We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly pleasant”
Review of Ristorante Sostaga

Ristorante Sostaga
Ranked #2 of 38 Restaurants in Gargnano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfectly pleasant”
Reviewed September 3, 2014

We had a nice visit to this restaurant. The macaroni with the truffle and ham was delicious although one other pasta was slightly over-cooked, as were some vegetables. It is unusual not to have any side orders to select from and despite having a long wine list there were no wines by the glass on the menu but when we asked there was just one offered which was a standard Sauvignon Blanc. Shame not to have a few choices with a local wine or two. Both of these could be easily remedied. The decor is a little dated now and blinds on the windows are beginning to come away but it is certainly in a good spot with lovely views over the lake and a terrace. It seems to be a family run business and we wish them well.

  • Visited September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Snowfox101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa S, Proprietario at Ristorante Sostaga, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for leaving your comments on trip advisor and we are glad that you enjoyed your dinner in our restaurant Villa Sostaga.
I would like to answer your observations regarding the cooking of the pasta. It is almost impossible to guess all tastes of our customers. We make a few thousand of these dishes throughout the year and if you read the comments of other guests, who have left their reviews on trip advisor, no one complains about the cooking of the pasta. However it can well be that it was slightly overcooked for you.

As for the wines we have about 200 bottles of different wines to choose from. Furthermore you can find more than 20 half bottles of wine (0,375 ml) this is more or less the equivalent of two glasses of wine.
Our main courses are already combined with the type of vegetable which match the course perfectly. This is the reason why there are no side dishes to choose from. However if the vegetables of the dish you ordered were not of your liking, you could have asked the restaurant staff to have them changed. We would have taken care of your wish right away.

As you have seen, we boast of having one of the most beautiful historical locations of Lake Garda. The Villa has been completely restored 9 years ago. Furthermore last winter all the curtains of the Veranda have been completely renovated so I wonder about your comment about the blinds. Villa Sostaga is an historic building decorated with original restored furniture. We try to keep the original style of the Villa as it was during the 1800 but I can understand that some people may prefer a more modern style.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Villa Sostaga in the future and send you our best regards
Gabriele Seresina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    75
    21
    11
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“A must!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I, like others on here, have been staying at Lefay nearby to this little gem whilst on our honeymoon. We too had read reviews and decided to venture out of the resort for the night and we are so glad that we did.

We walked the 25minutes to the restaurant which offered pretty views of the lake at sunset. I wouldn't advise walking this when it's dark though as some parts are on single track winding roads.

We were greeted with warmth and friendliness by the receptionist Heidi, and were shown to a table that had a lovely view out of the window. What struck us instantly was the family, homely feel of this establishment, which was further extended by the friendliness of the waiting staff.

The food was outstandingly tasty; we ordered from the al a carte menu and my husband steak was literally melt in the mouth. My only regret is not having a desert, but we simply did not have space after the delicious previous courses! What really shoes through in the food is how fresh it all is.

We liked it so much that we've booked to go again on Saturday night! We had to get this review done before then as it simply lovely and people really must try it!

To top the evening off, we asked Heidi if she could call us a taxi and the owner, Gabriel, offered to take us back. He is such a lovely and warm host - not only for providing us with a lift, but also in his words of advice for a happy marriage (he is approaching 34 years!) and the passionate and proud way he talks of his business and most importantly, his staff.

We could not have enjoyed our evening more. Thanks to all staff.

Mr and Mrs McKinnon

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa S, Proprietario at Ristorante Sostaga, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for passing on your positive comments about our restaurant Villa Sostaga on TripAdvisor. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words with all the readers of Trip Advisor.
We look forward to welcoming you back on Saturday
Gabriele and Gabriella Seresina and the staff of Villa Sostaga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benbecula Island, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Excellent variety”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

This is the first time that my husband said the food took his breath away. All the food that we sampled at this beautiful restaurant was outstanding Dishes to sample are the filet steak with a tower of potato and bacon the chocolate deserts but most of all the macaroni with sliced ham and truffles. That was absolutely delicious. I would definitely recommend a meal here even if you are not staying at the villa sostaga. This is worth a visit

Helpful?
Thank CHrisCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa S, Proprietario at Ristorante Sostaga, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for writing this very nice review about our boutique hotel villa Sostaga. We look forward to your next visit. Best Regards Gabriele Seresina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Quality food definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We were staying at LeFay nearby and decided to try this due to its Trip Advisor rating. We were not dissappointed.
The macaroni with truffle was absolutely outstanding and my wife's pasta with lobster was delicious but beware the portion is huge!!!!
Service really nice and friendly and in my opinion it's not expensive. Well worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dallyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa S, Proprietario at Ristorante Sostaga, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear guest
Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for trying our restaurant Sostaga. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words.
We look forward to welcoming you back
Gabriele and Gabriella Seresina and the staff of Villa Sostaga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A memorable gem in our honeymoon”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

My husband and I were on honeymoon, staying at the nearby Lefay Hotel. After reading other reviews on TripAdvisor and wanting to dine somewhere new, we visited Ristorante Sostaga. There were several things that impressed us about Sostaga;

- The genuine, warm welcome and sense of care expressed to guests at this family-run business (The owner brought us a brolly to our car in the rain. We were also greeted by a handsome bull-dog and smiling receptionist)

- We were seated in the conservatory with the most spectacular view, from height, across Lake Garda. Incredibly romantic!

- Neither my husband nor I have ever dined on more spectacular food or combinations of ingredients! We opted for the delightful (& filling!) Tasting Menu, which consisted of 6 dishes... each one was just simply amazing!! The menu was 60 Euros each, which in all honesty is more than we would normally spend on a meal, however we felt this to be incredibly good value and well-worth the treat. Dishes we tried and adored included Prawn Tartar with Coconut Foam, Beef Carpaccio with sprinkles of celery, nuts & cheese, Fish & Tomato Caramelle, Macaroni with Parma Ham and the Glazed Duck Breast. It is also worth noting that we also enjoyed some fabulous wine from their very wide selection (Gavi di Gavi).

- The service delivered throughout our visit was exceptional. Our entire experience was so amazing that we also managed to re-visit the restaurant again during our stay in Gargnano, this time ordering from the A La Carte Menu. The staff not only remembered us, but the owner Gabriel even arranged to pick us up and drop us off to our hotel himself!

To be honest, I cannot rate Ristorante Sostaga highly enough. This was without doubt one of the best meals I have ever had the pleasure of enjoying. If you do go, I highly recommend trying their Tasting Menu. Our experience here will forever be one of the most memorable and cherished occasions of our honeymoon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PoleMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa S, Proprietario at Ristorante Sostaga, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Wow, thank you for your very positive review about our restaurant Sostaga. We are thrilled to read that your experience in our restaurant was so thrilling and that you enjoyed our tasting menu so much. We will forward you compliments to our staff as well.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Gabriele and Gabriella Seresina and the staff of Villa Sostaga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Sostaga also viewed

Gargnano, Province of Brescia
Gargnano, Province of Brescia
 
Gargnano, Province of Brescia
 

Been to Ristorante Sostaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing