We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real Argentinian experience”
Review of Don Romulo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Don Romulo
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tupungato
Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed at Don Romulo for 4 nights just before New Year 2010. We felt like staying at somebody's home, in a positive way, with all the family running the place. The staff was always not so easy to reach but everybody was kind and helpful.

The accommodation was of course not a five star hotel but it was very cozy, clean and quiet, just as we expected. The restaurant was one of the best in the town.

The hotel is situated right in the center of the small Tupungato town. If you have a car it's very easy to visit the great bodegas around the town. Just ask the hotel for recommendations and reservations. The valley is very beautiful with all the vineyards and surrounding mountains.

The excursion to Refugio el Condor was an unforgettable day with horseriding, great mountain views and excellent food!

I send my best wishes to all the family of Don Romulo and recommend the place to everybody who values family-like atmosphere and wants to have a real Argentinian experience.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoNiX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 21 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2008

We stayed several night with Don Romulo and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is basic, nothing fancy, it's not the Ritz, but it is clean and provides excellent value. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant (prepared by his wife) and had an excellent one day tour into the mountains with his son. This concluded with an excellent dinner cooked at the nature reserve while we enjoyed a glass or two of wine. We also were fortunate to have a number of sightings of condors which was terrific. I would recommend Don Romulo highly. Also, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, they are very nice.

One note of caution if you have a car. When we were there, the local gas station (the only gas station) ran out of gas each day. Fortunately the tanker arrived around 9:30 at night, but this was fairly stressful as we were down to 1/8 tank. I never gave this a thought but if you are driving, take advantage of gas stations and get gas anytime the tank is down to any degree. It turned out not to be a problem, we got gas in the morning but later that day they ran out again. Don Romulo's son went with me to the station and helped translate, which was greatly appreciated.

Also, Tupengato is a nice little town, fairly quiet, but we enjoyed it. Plus it is close to many wineries and the mountains. All in all a nice time.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyGhost007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2007

Tupungato is in the heart of Mendoza's breathtaking wine country and Don Romulo and his family know how to show their guest the best sights in town. Tupungato is a small rural town South of Mendoza and only has three hotels. We stayed at Don Romulo's hotel for 2 days and one night. The place is run by Romulo himself and his family. His wife makes all the meals, which were splended and his son, Remo, gave us a personal tour of the best bodegas in the area and was very friendly and knowledgable. We visited Salentein, Bombal, Guiaquinta, and Nonno Artesenal, all in one afternoon! The second day, Remo loaded his pick-up truck and a cooler full of meat and wine and we set off for Romulo's mountain retreat called "El Refujio del Condor." What ever you do in Tupungato, do not miss the opportunity to spend the day in the Refujio horseback riding and trekking in the beautiful mountains. Remo cooks-up an amazing authentic asado for lunch and views are simply breathtaking. Above all, the service provided by Don Romulo and his family surpasses anything I've ever experienced! They bent over backwords to make sure that we enjoyed our short time in Tupungato. The price was offensively low, a mere $80 per person for a cozy room, 5 homecooked meals, a personal wine tour, horseback riding, guided hiking in the mountains, and the trip to the Refujio. I would recommend Don Romulo to anyone wanting an authentic gaucho experience in Mendoza.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cimartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: la mayor tranquilidad del mundo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emilcepelayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
Thank danielfigueroa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Alejandro_41-4C-45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
Thank Lorena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donromulo, Propietario at Don Romulo, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tupungato
5.7 mi away
Auberge Du Vin, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tupungato
18.7 mi away
Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort
Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Vista Flores
348 reviews
8.4 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Finca La Azul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Posada Salentein
Posada Salentein
#1 of 1 in Los Arboles
278 reviews
19.2 mi away
Casa de Uco Vineyards & Wine Resort
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chardonnay
Hotel Chardonnay
#1 of 2 in Tupungato
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Romulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Romulo

Address: Almirante Brown 1200 | Three blocks from the bus terminal, Tupungato M5561AGX, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Tupungato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Tupungato
Price Range: $54 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosteria (Hotel) Don Romulo; It is located in Almirante Brown 1200 street three blocks from the bus terminal and a few blocks from downtown and the casino. It is a typical place with ornaments of Argentine gauchos with meals of the place, peaceful and comfortable to vacation with family. We make excursions to the mountain with horses and roast, with Tupungato wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Don Romulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Don Romulo Tupungato, Argentina - Province Of Mendoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing