We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value, and great outfitters for backcountry trip to the Andes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Don Romulo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tupungato
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Don Romulo
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tupungato
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value, and great outfitters for backcountry trip to the Andes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

We initially hired Don Rómulo in February 2013 as an outfitter to escort a party of three riding mountain bikes from Tupungato to Santiago de Chile. He arranged for two men and six pack animals to guide us across the Andes on the three-day ride over Portillo Argentino across the Tunuyán valley and over the Paso Piuquenes. Due to land slides blocking a member of our party coming over from Chile to Mendoza (Ruta 7) we had to stay two nights in Tupugato, and fortunately Don Rómulo had rooms available. Excellent rate, excellent service. Simple clean rooms opening to a private patio. We used the extra day to explore local wineries on bikes (Salentein is a modern yet welcoming example). The hostel is in the middle of the town, which has several modest but very pleasant options for eating. We made the crossing on schedule and in good health despite some breathing challenges at +14,000' and a summer blizzard among other challenges, and Don Romulo's crew provided a great service. Beds and room were a bit small, but a great deal with private bathroom, clean, and private/secure common space in courtyard/patio.

Room Tip: Further back in the courtyard is quieter if the place is full.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CPachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed at Don Romulo's for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The 'patron', Don Romulo's son, although not speaking English, was warm and friendly and could not have been more helpful. His brother took us on a wonderful excursion, leading us on a walk around the Refugio Condor and serving us an excellent lunch. We loved the garden and enjoyed the tortoises! Our only disappointment was that the restaurant was not open in the evening for dinner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2010

We stayed at Don Romulo for 4 nights just before New Year 2010. We felt like staying at somebody's home, in a positive way, with all the family running the place. The staff was always not so easy to reach but everybody was kind and helpful.

The accommodation was of course not a five star hotel but it was very cozy, clean and quiet, just as we expected. The restaurant was one of the best in the town.

The hotel is situated right in the center of the small Tupungato town. If you have a car it's very easy to visit the great bodegas around the town. Just ask the hotel for recommendations and reservations. The valley is very beautiful with all the vineyards and surrounding mountains.

The excursion to Refugio el Condor was an unforgettable day with horseriding, great mountain views and excellent food!

I send my best wishes to all the family of Don Romulo and recommend the place to everybody who values family-like atmosphere and wants to have a real Argentinian experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoNiX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2008

We stayed several night with Don Romulo and enjoyed it very much. The hotel is basic, nothing fancy, it's not the Ritz, but it is clean and provides excellent value. We enjoyed the food in the restaurant (prepared by his wife) and had an excellent one day tour into the mountains with his son. This concluded with an excellent dinner cooked at the nature reserve while we enjoyed a glass or two of wine. We also were fortunate to have a number of sightings of condors which was terrific. I would recommend Don Romulo highly. Also, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, they are very nice.

One note of caution if you have a car. When we were there, the local gas station (the only gas station) ran out of gas each day. Fortunately the tanker arrived around 9:30 at night, but this was fairly stressful as we were down to 1/8 tank. I never gave this a thought but if you are driving, take advantage of gas stations and get gas anytime the tank is down to any degree. It turned out not to be a problem, we got gas in the morning but later that day they ran out again. Don Romulo's son went with me to the station and helped translate, which was greatly appreciated.

Also, Tupengato is a nice little town, fairly quiet, but we enjoyed it. Plus it is close to many wineries and the mountains. All in all a nice time.

  • Liked — Reasonable price, clean, nice people and town
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular, it's a basic room.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyGhost007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington DC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2007

Tupungato is in the heart of Mendoza's breathtaking wine country and Don Romulo and his family know how to show their guest the best sights in town. Tupungato is a small rural town South of Mendoza and only has three hotels. We stayed at Don Romulo's hotel for 2 days and one night. The place is run by Romulo himself and his family. His wife makes all the meals, which were splended and his son, Remo, gave us a personal tour of the best bodegas in the area and was very friendly and knowledgable. We visited Salentein, Bombal, Guiaquinta, and Nonno Artesenal, all in one afternoon! The second day, Remo loaded his pick-up truck and a cooler full of meat and wine and we set off for Romulo's mountain retreat called "El Refujio del Condor." What ever you do in Tupungato, do not miss the opportunity to spend the day in the Refujio horseback riding and trekking in the beautiful mountains. Remo cooks-up an amazing authentic asado for lunch and views are simply breathtaking. Above all, the service provided by Don Romulo and his family surpasses anything I've ever experienced! They bent over backwords to make sure that we enjoyed our short time in Tupungato. The price was offensively low, a mere $80 per person for a cozy room, 5 homecooked meals, a personal wine tour, horseback riding, guided hiking in the mountains, and the trip to the Refujio. I would recommend Don Romulo to anyone wanting an authentic gaucho experience in Mendoza.

  • Liked — personal service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cimartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tupungato
0.6 mi away
Auberge Du Vin, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
18.7 mi away
Fuente Mayor Hotel & Resort
10.7 mi away
Posada Salentein
Posada Salentein
#3 of 5 in Tunuyan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Casa de Uco Vineyards & Wine Resort
15.9 mi away
The Vines Resort & Spa
The Vines Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Tunuyan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Chardonnay
Hotel Chardonnay
#1 of 1 in Tupungato
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Romulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Romulo

Property: Don Romulo
Address: Almirante Brown 1200 | Three blocks from the bus terminal, Tupungato M5561AGX, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Tupungato
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Tupungato
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosteria (Hotel) Don Romulo; It is located in Almirante Brown 1200 street three blocks from the bus terminal and a few blocks from downtown and the casino. It is a typical place with ornaments of Argentine gauchos with meals of the place, peaceful and comfortable to vacation with family. We make excursions to the mountain with horses and roast, with Tupungato wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Don Romulo Tupungato, Argentina - Province Of Mendoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing