We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family run bodega” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bodega La Azul

Bodega La Azul
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Tupungato
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great family run bodega”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here after the enormity and grandeur of Bodega Salentein. This place looks like a little shack on the side of the road. It is not to be underestimated. A building the size of a house enclosed the entirety of this tiny little bodega's wine production. They save the best grapes for their own wines and distribute the rest to other bodegas. The service was very friendly. Pablo explained all we needed to know and provided healthily sized wine portions for degustacion. Good wine, lovely setting in front of the snowed capped mountains. Definitely worth a stop for a bite to eat. The food looked great but we were in too much of a hurry to stop. When we go back I'd say there's a good chance it'll be on our itinerary again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank George Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    368
    94
    13
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best lunch in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Awesome lunch, great tasting and tour! Relaxed, friendly, authentic. Fabulous service, outlook and food. Better than some of the white tablecloth places in the area!!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Woolloomooloo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous lunch and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had lunch here and it was just stunning and refreshing to be out in the open. The food was delicious and the waiter was so friendly. The whole place seems very chill -- we even were greeted by one of the owners himself, after having jumped out of a truck carrying hay or something. It seems like a very down to earth place with simple deliciousness in both food and wine. We sat on edge, closer to the road and had some fly issues, but not enough to tarnish our experience! Really nice experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Following a visit to Salentein bodega ( amazing architecture but wines a little on the light side ) Azul was truly refreshing. It is unpretentious but the food and wine pairing lunch was fabulous. The main of Grilled pork was very memorable. To boot Pablo made the experience much more wholesome with his enthusiasm for the wine and food and his anecdotes about the winery and the wines.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
296 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“simple, rustic style lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

we had a lunch sitting in the sun. Nice rustic, straightforward farm food. Good but nothing special. Accompanied by a tasting of the Azul wines.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bodega La Azul also viewed

Tupungato, Province of Mendoza
 
Tupungato, Province of Mendoza
Tupungato, Province of Mendoza
 
Tupungato, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Bodega La Azul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing