We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfull experience in argentina”
Review of Atamisque

Atamisque
Ranked #5 of 16 Restaurants in Tupungato
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: El restaurante se encuentra en la finca del mismo nombre la cual cuenta con criadero de truchas y las mismas tienen la fama de ser las mejores de la Provincia de Mendoza.
Nantes, France
1 review
“A wonderfull experience in argentina”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Travelling in Argentina, I had the opportunity to test the famous trouts of Atamisque. very tasty and served with one of the best wine I have in argentina. People really friendly, service not perfect but this is not the kind of restaurant totally without soul and life. One of my best experinence of this french owned place. Also a unique opportunity to visit the Finca which is probably one of the nicest in this area. Don't hesitate to ask the people of the casa of turismo to arrange it. They are totally at your service. If you enjoye nice place and quiet place, go there.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gérard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    50
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendoza, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“NOT WORTH THE TRIP!”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I went out of my way to try the restaurant at this bodega because of the wonderful reviews and now I regret it. The food was good but definitely not worth the dismal service. It was just offensively bad. If the terrible waitstaff wasn't enough, the manager stood nearby clearly listening in on our displeased lunch conversation and did nothing. There's really no hope for the waiters/waitresses with a manager like that. You can find much better service along with better food and wine much closer to Mendoza City.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbySojit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“the food does not compensate for the bad service”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The trout dishes were tasty but the food did not compensate for the inadequate service which was at best negligent and at worst unforgivably rude. Certainly not worth the trip. What is remarkable is that we were seated only a few feet away from the manager's station. It was obvious that the lady at this station had witnessed the inadequate service and yet she did absolutely nothing to try to improve our experience. From the moment we waked in the door we were greeted by someone who accused of us making a mistake in our reservation. She claimed our reservation had been for two people and not three. This was not the case. As a matter of fact, a table set for three by the window mysteriously stayed empty during out entire lunch while we were squeezed into a dark corner. Never mind that the customer is always right and a can-do attitude goes a long way. It simply never occurred to the person who was seating us that I am less likely to make a mistake about my name or the number of people in party than someone who is answering the phone! We were poured a taste of the wine but were expected to refill our glasses ourselves. This would be alright for half the price and if we were not eating a winery When I asked what was in one of the desserts, it was named Amor de Dulce de Leche so there was no way to know much about it except for the main ingredient, the waitress was not able to explain the contents. I had to ask about each possible ingredient. Is it a cake with flour? What are the other ingredients? Not only was she barely able to answer, she behaved like it was wrong for me to be asking. I am originally from Argentina and Spanish is my first language. This was not a language problem but rather poor training and zero supervision. I live in Mendoza and spend a great deal of time taking my international family to visit restaurants and wineries but have never experienced anything so awful. I had been to Atamisque on one previous occasion which had been less than ideal but the place is beautiful and the trout was fresh. I was giving it one more chance. Never again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful trout tasting menu”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

After wine tasting at Atamisque (in a separate area, also excellent) we had the lunch trout tasting menu at Atamisque. Each dish was unique and delicious. The food was paired with wine. The ambiance is good and service was great. Highly recommended (combine trip with wine tasting at the winery).

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BJW_ATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant, Wine and Trout!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you need a break from the Asado and red-meat-fest that is Argentina, try the trout at this quaint restaurant that raises their own trout and makes great wine too! We went for lunch and tried the trout 2 different ways - smoked and sauteed - with different sides, and everything was great. Strongly recommend the drive for all those foodies out there....

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank anamatteya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atamisque also viewed

Tupungato, Province of Mendoza
Tupungato, Province of Mendoza
 
Tupungato, Province of Mendoza
 

Been to Atamisque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing