We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Slice of Heaven”
Review of Estancia El Puesto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tupungato
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Estancia El Puesto
Reviewed October 12, 2013

What an amazing place to come. The air is so pure and the spirit of nature and the Andes just soars through in every moment. We came on a family adventure - doing something different. Initially it was a bit of a shock because it was so cold and the house is quite rustic, but to have this experience in the remote mountains with 5 star food/wine, the wonderful host Raul and his son, the stunning backdrop, the great staff, excellent horses that can cover tricky terrain leading you to yet another fantastic viewpoint. And it's so peaceful at night, that sleep was deeply restful and healing. It was hard to venture away from the fire, so I missed the stars, but one morning (spring was late) we woke up to find snow covering the ground. Magical. I could have stayed forever!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21stcenturynomad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 52 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

I almost don't want to write this review as I think part of the estancias appeal is its non tourist and authentic feel, but honestly this place is awesome and the staff are just fab. The horses and the horse riding is amazing with a perfect back drop. The lunches and the food in general was some of the best i've ever eaten. My best birthday surprise so far!

Be prepared for a very rustic bathroom/shower! We were there in July and it was very cold, especially in the evening and in the bedroom.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ME-review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Me and my girlfriend spent three nights here and we loved it. The horseriding with paolo and danielle was very fun with great horses. Breakfast, lunch, tea, dinner all was amazing. Great food with lovely wine. Everyone working here were very friendly and we felt really well taken care of. It is a ranch so dont expect marble bathrooms and jacuzzis, rooms are clean and comfortable however.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattiasj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I can't believe it's taken me this long to write this review for my stay here over Xmas. It really is hard to do it justice in writing so I have been putting it off....but not anymore!
This estancia is so so beautiful.....5km down a bumpy track into the middle of countryside with the Andes in the backdrop. Then you see this little oasis where the main house is......and then you are greeted by Raul (in his authentic gaucho clothes) and his son in law, Danielle. They are the most caring, generous, thoughtful and entertaining hosts I have ever met......their relationship is very special and it rubs off on you.....many a long story was told by Raul's over dinner and hilariously translated by Danielle......a lot of laughs were had.
The house is beautifully decorates, as are the rooms and the veranda and garden are lovely places to kick back and relax and admire the scenery.
Now the food I have to warn you is incredible and never ending......amazing breakfasts, massive long BBQ lunches, afternoon tea on the veranda, canapés on the lawn and finished off with at least a 3 course dinner! And all but breakfast accompanied by copious amounts of wonderful Argentinian wine.
Then there's the daily horse riding.........going out with Raul and a couple of the gauchos was a truly memorable experience. The horses were brilliant and the rides each day slightly different but all beautiful. I really felt I got a taste of gaucho life thanks to Raul.
Xmas was extremely special as it had such a family feel.. I think it only has 5 rooms maximum so there were only 8 of us......but that made it even more special and was like a family away from home.
Be warned that Raul loves his music and dancing.....and he likes to open up his "disco" in the sitting room and least once for you!
I can't thank Danielle and Raul enough for such an incredible stay.....all I can do is recommend to anyone reading this that you will not regret staying here.....it will exceed any expectations you have....and I promise it will be an unforgettable experience which like me you'll never forget.
It was very emotional saying goodbye to them both, and the other guests we'd shared Xmas with.....as that's how special my stay there was and how attached I got to Raul and Danielle over just 4 days!
Thank you thank you thank you R & D.
Love. Abby. Xxx
P.s. Raul.....I'll get that cd in the post to you as soon as I get home!

Room Tip: We stayed in the garden rooms which are just as nice as in the main house and actually i think give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abby_1234_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've started writing this review a number of times, and each time I tried, I would not be able to finish because I wanted to write about every single amazing detail. This time, I will try to keep it simple. In all our travels, we have not yet come across an establishment which was as beyond our expectations as El Puesto has been. When I think about the whole experience, the only word that keeps popping up is "graceful"; the unadulterated and beautiful nature, the simple yet authentic ranch, the service mentality and even the horses (my sweet Pitufo!) - graceful. But what made the whole experience so unforgettable, heart warming and unique for us were the people - from the first moment we met Daniele until the minute we said our goodbyes to our "adopted uncle" Raul and his mate Lalo, every single minute we spent at El Puesto was magical. (I wish I knew how to "apparate"!)

If you are after 2-3 hour doses of daily exposure to an idyllic natural setting coupled with sterile interactions with people, you could still have that and would probably still enjoy your time at El Puesto, but in my humble opinion, you would be robbing yourself off of a really unforgettable time. If you are however after an honest, authentic and real experience with honest, authentic and real people, then look no further: El Puesto is it. From the moment we set foot at El Puesto until we left (and even to this day if I may say), Raul, Daniele and every one at El Puesto made us feel like a member of the extended Labat family, and we are thankful and grateful for the experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deniz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

A few months ago, my friends and I visited the Estancia El Puesto. The beautiful drive to the Estancia winds through the Valle del Uco and into the heart of Mendoza Wine Country. The view is picturesque and is unparalleled elsewhere in Mendoza. The bus turned off the paved road onto a dirt road, and we all knew we were in for a treat: a real experience in the Mendoza countryside. We arrive at the Estancia to a warm welcome from Raul and his family. Raul was handsomely dressed in gaucho attire, which added enormous authenticity to the entire experience. We arrived in the morning and were greeted with warm tortas, coffee, tea, and other delicious hand-baked goods. We began with an hour long horse ride into the Andes mountains. The horses were docile and the view was breathtaking. Additionally, the guides were dressed in full gaucho attire, so it was a little piece of Argentine history that we experienced as well. After the horseback ride, we were wined and dined until we could no longer eat. I spent four months traveling through Argentina, and I never ate an asado better than the asado at Estancia El Puesto. My friends and I enjoyed the afternoon, chatting with Raul, and amongst ourselves. Raul is a wealth of knowledge and speaking to him about Argentine life is a true honor. Later, we were served desserts of all kinds. Once again, this was some of the most spectacular food that I ate in Argentina. The Estancia itself is quaint, quiet, and picturesque. If you are looking for an authentic Argentina experience, this is the place to stay! I whole-heartedly recommend Estancia El Puesto. You will not regret staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeganV09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent 2 nights at the Estancia El Puesto during our 14-day trip to Argentina. It was one of the highlights of our stay. While other reviewers have mentioned it, I want to confirm that the accommodations are very rustic. Having said that, the remainder of the experience cannot be matched. The views are breathtaking, the gauchos (and Daniele) are very friendly and interesting. The food was exquisite and the horseback riding exhilarating. While the price is not cheap at $300/night, I think you get what you pay for in terms of the overall experience. I found the 4-star review below with a few words of warning to be very accurate, but during our stay we spent our time with Daniele and never met Raul. Daniele did join all of our meals and we found him to be fun and interesting. As long as you go into the experience with eyes wide open, you're sure to enjoy it even more. 2 nights was more than sufficient for us.

As I suggested to Daniele, they really need to find alternate ways of collecting payment and certainly shift away from Western Union for the deposit (I found it sketchy for a place that charges $300/person/night to require me to make a trip to Western Union).

All in all, we had a magical visit and one that everyone should carve out a few days to experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SFO-PHL-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tupungato hotels
6.3 mi away
Auberge Du Vin, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel, Tupungato
0 mi away
Estancia San Pablo
Estancia San Pablo
#3 of 11 in Tupungato
16 reviews
6.1 mi away
Tupungato Divino
Tupungato Divino
#1 of 11 in Tupungato
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Casa de Huespedes Finca La Azul
0.6 mi away
Hotel Chardonnay
Hotel Chardonnay
#1 of 2 in Tupungato
35 reviews
5.4 mi away
Finca Atamisque
Finca Atamisque
#5 of 11 in Tupungato
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Estancia El Puesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Estancia El Puesto

Address: Alto Valle De Uco, Tupungato 0, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Cuyo > Province of Mendoza > Tupungato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Tupungato
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Settled in the middle of the Andes, El Puesto is a great place for all ages to enjoy the panoramic views, delicious meals & mendocinean wines, horse back riding with the best hosts Raul & Daniele. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Estancia El Puesto Tupungato, Argentina - Province Of Mendoza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing