We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Super wee apartment.”
other travelers have booked this property
Main living area with kitchen, breakfast bar and extensive lounge area (4 seater/2 seater/sofa bed)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main living area with kitchen, breakfast bar and extensive lounge area (4 seater/2 seater/sofa bed)
Living area Main living area with kitchen, breakfast bar and extensive lounge area (4 seater/2 seater/sofa bed)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Main living area with kitchen, breakfast bar and extensive lounge area (4 seater/2 seater/sofa bed)
Living area
Main living area with kitchen, breakfast bar and extensive lounge area (4 seater/2 seater/sofa bed)
Four-seater sofa
Dining area with fridge, microwave, breakfast bar, toaster, kettle utensils etc.
Complimentary tea /coffee
Kitchen with fridge (continental breakfast) / microwave / kettle / toaster
Dining area with fridge, microwave, breakfast bar, toaster, kettle utensils etc.
Welcome! Decorative entrance and seating area to the front of the property
Double bedroom with en-suite / Wardrobe / Drawers / Hair dryer
Double bedroom with en-suite / Wardrobe / Drawers / Hair dryer
Doubled bed room with ensuite
En-suite bathroom
En-suite - power shower / toilet / sink
Complimentary toiletries
Timber decked stone walled courtyard and outdoor seating through double patio doors
Listed building - original stonework
Listed building - original doors
Timber decked stone walled courtyard and outdoor seating to the rear of the property
Patio doors to seating area in the walled courtyard
Decked seating area
Stonework / Lentils
Lobster pot in the courtyard
Strangford / Portaferry Ferry crossing the Narrows
Sunset on Strangford Lough
A view across the Narrows
Northern Ireland Tourist Board approved Guest Accommodation
Water sports / Sailing on Strangford Lough
Strangford Lough
Strangford castle is a simple 16th century Tower House built to control ships entering the lough
Strangford Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Strangford, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SYDNEY B
1 review
“Super wee apartment.”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a beautiful apartment. Clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated. A great place to relax and recharge the batteries. The hosts are very friendly and can't do enough to make you feel welcome. The added bonus is the supply of milk, bread, cereals etc for breakfast. Strangford is a lovely quiet village with plenty of restaurants to eat in. Also National Ward Castle Ward House and Gardens is close by.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2017
Hi Sydney
Thank you for a most wonderful review and taking the time to reflect on your stay at the Castle Apartment
We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to Strangford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah F
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely little apartment”
Reviewed July 11, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Really nice apartment well placed for days around Castle Ward and Ards Peninsula. Owners were super friendly and surprised us with fridge full of breakfast goodies. Definitely will recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 15, 2017
Thank you for a lovely review and taking the time to reflect on your stay at the Castle Apartment Strangford
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleanor B
Port de Pollenca, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Wish I could put this apartment on wheels and take it with me to live in”
Reviewed June 5, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Relaxed and friendly welcome. The cleanest rental please I have ever stayed in - and there have been many. Pretty courtyard area, lovely furnishings great location in town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2017
Hi Eleanor

Thank you for your lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markfrome...
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable apartment in an idyllic location”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The apartment is located about 100 meters from Strangford Castle, which I completely missed, and a similar distance from a couple of restaurants.

Strangford is a small place with limited dining options and as the apartment only has a microwave for cooking you will probably exhaust most of the village's eating establishment if you stay for any extended duration.

That's not a problem though as you can always hop on the ferry over to Portaferry and sample the restaurants there too.

We only stayed one night however and I wished we had the time to stay for much longer.

The apartment is very comfortable, with plenty of sofas, and the courtyard in the back is a great little suntrap for spending a few hours drinking a bottle of red wine.

The bed was very comfortable. Ian had bought a new mattress due to feedback from previous guests.

The location is ideal for Castle Ward, which is one of the reasons that we were visiting.

I only wish we had stayed for longer. I'd certainly stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Thank you for a lovely review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheLardon...
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great apartment, hosts and location”
Reviewed June 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We booked the Castle Apartment for a 5 night long weekend and really enjoyed our stay at the house owned by Ian and Karma. The Apartment is very spacious and has been refurbished to a high standard. There is a comfortable lounge area and kitchen with doors opening out on to a courtyard for your use. The bedroom is snug with a good size en suite shower and toilet. It is located near to the ferry dock and the centre of the village, everything is within a few minus walk including a really great place to eat called the Artisan Bakehouse where you can take your own drink. The local area is very attractive around the loch and coastline with Castle Ward (National Trust) a walk away plus Port Stewart (also NT) a drive away. Ian and Karma were great hosts and we would definitely visit them and Strangford again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Thank you for a lovely review. so glad you enjoyed the Apartment and would love to see you both back in Strangford -at the Castle Apartment

Ian/Karma
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 15, 2017
Thanks for such a great review of your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon at 'holiday house'.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
october-h...
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another Perfect Stay!”
Reviewed March 30, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Our second year at The Castle Apartment and just as we remembered. The lovely owners met us at The Last One Standing event at nearby Castleward so we could 'check in' and get the keys. The apartment is warm, welcoming and just perfect for anyone who wants peace and quiet and some quality time on their own or with their family. WiFi, Sky TV, coffee, orange juice etc and everything you would want even when you arrive back in the early hours tired and cold with a partner who has just ran 100 km in 16 hours (idiot). Just perfect and highly recommended, we have booked again for our third year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2017
Hi Jenny
Thank you so much for the lovely review. We very much look forward to welcoming you both back next year and 100km is fantastic achievement!!
See you 17th February 2018 !!

All the best
Ian
Castle Apartment
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing