We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at the Cuan was excellent in every way, especially the warmth of the hospitality”
Review of The Cuan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cuan
Ranked #1 of 2 Strangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“My stay at the Cuan was excellent in every way, especially the warmth of the hospitality”
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We found The Cuan Inn in Strangford on the internet, The standard all round exceeded our expectations in everyway; the room, food, standard of service and wonderful hospitality. The Inn is doubly blessed by its setting in Strangford Village. My wife and I doubt very much whether we have felt so much at home on our varied travels.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    68
    15
    9
    3
See reviews for
109
198
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castletown, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed for a long weekend, golfing with friends. After a hard day on the course, what a great place to unwind. The owners, Caroline & Peter made us very welcome as did all the staff there. Accomodation & food were first class. Located ideally for touring & golfing in County Down, Newry & Mourne. Will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YogaCoDown, Manager at The Cuan, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
Delighted to hear that you were taken by this hiden golf gem - so much in one little corner of Ireland!!
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Many thanks
Caroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We weer and remain 6 'golfers' from British Columbia, Canada who enjoyed a warm and gracious welcome to suitably appointed guestrooms to a fabulous and entertaining dinner to a good hot breakfast and a friendly goodbye. Peter and Caroline are excellent hosts - touring or golfing at Ardglass - include The Cuan in your travel plans.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotPools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Clean, tidy and spacious ensuite rooms, with Tea & Cofee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with Free View.

Ample on road parking and private carpark to the rear.

1 minute from scenic views of the Lough.

It was an ideal location for us to explore the east side of Northern Ireland.

A wide choice of wholesome cooked meals for all tastes, including vegetarians and desserts to die for, in particular the Fresh Fruit Pavolova and Sticky Toffee Pudding.

At Breakfast there was a choice of at least 6 main items, that would set you up for the day.

Peter, Caroline and all the staff, were extremely helpful and friendly and were always on hand if we needed anything.

Village location, very quiet at night, which suited us and we are looking forward to returning in the not to distant future. A big "Thank You" to all at the Cuan Inn.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globetrotter6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Good base for the surrounding area. The food was superb and comparable to many higher rated hotels. The staff were happy to offer variations and suggestions especially for the vegetarian menu. Nothing was a problem which is quite something when you have a six year old!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank !!!!!!!!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castlerock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We booked for 2 nights B&B plus one evening meal. The evening meal was so good on the first night that we immediately booked for the second night. This is a small family-run business set in a wonderful location where guests are made very welcome. The proprietors and staff could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much bother-even our golden retriever felt at home! We are definitely pencilled in for a return trip!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2010

I stayed in the Cuan with my mother who has dementia and 3 young children. Both Peter and Caroline were very pleasant, helping me at breakfast. The food was beautiful and continually topped up with hot tea. The rooms were especially appropiate as the bathroom is a large size and allowed me adequate space and privacy to dress my mother.
Great for families that have a disability

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wedguest186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strangford
0.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
324 reviews
7.1 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
104 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
16.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
0.9 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#2 of 8 in Portaferry
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuan

Property: The Cuan
Address: Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Strangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strangford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cuan 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cuan Hotel Strangford
The Cuan Strangford, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing