We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in County Down”
Review of The Cuan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cuan
Ranked #1 of 2 Strangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 5, 2010

Stayed for a long weekend, golfing with friends. After a hard day on the course, what a great place to unwind. The owners, Caroline & Peter made us very welcome as did all the staff there. Accomodation & food were first class. Located ideally for touring & golfing in County Down, Newry & Mourne. Will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joandstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YogaCoDown, Manager at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2010

Delighted to hear that you were taken by this hiden golf gem - so much in one little corner of Ireland!!
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Many thanks
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for The Cuan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 468 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2010

We weer and remain 6 'golfers' from British Columbia, Canada who enjoyed a warm and gracious welcome to suitably appointed guestrooms to a fabulous and entertaining dinner to a good hot breakfast and a friendly goodbye. Peter and Caroline are excellent hosts - touring or golfing at Ardglass - include The Cuan in your travel plans.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotPools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Clean, tidy and spacious ensuite rooms, with Tea & Cofee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with Free View.

Ample on road parking and private carpark to the rear.

1 minute from scenic views of the Lough.

It was an ideal location for us to explore the east side of Northern Ireland.

A wide choice of wholesome cooked meals for all tastes, including vegetarians and desserts to die for, in particular the Fresh Fruit Pavolova and Sticky Toffee Pudding.

At Breakfast there was a choice of at least 6 main items, that would set you up for the day.

Peter, Caroline and all the staff, were extremely helpful and friendly and were always on hand if we needed anything.

Village location, very quiet at night, which suited us and we are looking forward to returning in the not to distant future. A big "Thank You" to all at the Cuan Inn.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Globetrotter6110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2010

Good base for the surrounding area. The food was superb and comparable to many higher rated hotels. The staff were happy to offer variations and suggestions especially for the vegetarian menu. Nothing was a problem which is quite something when you have a six year old!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank !!!!!!!!!!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

We booked for 2 nights B&B plus one evening meal. The evening meal was so good on the first night that we immediately booked for the second night. This is a small family-run business set in a wonderful location where guests are made very welcome. The proprietors and staff could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much bother-even our golden retriever felt at home! We are definitely pencilled in for a return trip!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

I stayed in the Cuan with my mother who has dementia and 3 young children. Both Peter and Caroline were very pleasant, helping me at breakfast. The food was beautiful and continually topped up with hot tea. The rooms were especially appropiate as the bathroom is a large size and allowed me adequate space and privacy to dress my mother.
Great for families that have a disability

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
1  Thank wedguest186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2010

The Macerleans and their excellent staff, many of whom have been with them for years, looked after us, and plainly after the other customers, in the friendliest way. There's a family atmosphere that marks this place out, but it's also very professionally run and quality of everything provided is good. Our room was spacious and comfortable. Even though it looked onto the main road to the ferry, it was quiet (partly because the ferry stops at 11.30pm) and we slept well. Breakfast was very good, as was the food in the restaurant and bars. Strangford is in a pretty part of the country and there are lots of interesting places to visit and scope for many outdoor activities in the beautiful scenery. The Cuan matches all this and we'll make the efort to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brit_Abroad60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strangford
0.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
343 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
278 reviews
19.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
127 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,014 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barholm
Barholm
#5 of 8 in Portaferry
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuan

Address: Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Strangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strangford
Price Range: $121 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cuan 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuan Licensed Guest Inn is a family owned and run hotel located in the beautiful conservation village of Strangford, on the shores of Strangford Lough. We offer a fantastic food experience, available all day, with a passionate commitment to sourcing local seasonal produce. At the Cuan, we believe in the personal touch that comes with a family run business – you give us our livelihood – we reflect that in the way we look after you. Plan a short break with us and explore the breadth of attractions and things to do in Co Down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cuan Hotel Strangford
The Cuan Strangford, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing