We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a perfect place to rest your head”
Review of The Cuan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cuan
Ranked #1 of 2 Strangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Peter is the perfect host. I was stuck in traffic waiting for the ferry so my friend went in to ask about prices. Peter came out and told me to come in. He helped get me out of the line and find a temporary parking place. Then after we checked in, he got in the car with me and showed me where their parking was and how to keep the back door open so I could unload.

The ensuite room was large and comfortable. The bathroom was also quite large and had lots of hot water. That was a must after our previous B&B, which didn't have any.

Peter introduced us to the staff by name. The next morning, we were greeted by name by someone we hadn't met the night before. It turns out that she was Peter's wife.

This was our second night in Ireland and I was exhausted after two nights of very little sleep. That was the best sleep I'd had in a long time.

The staff are all welcoming and friendly. Our night here showed me some of the best customer service I've ever seen. It was worth every penny we spent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Leanne D
It was a delight to read the detail in your review, this is how we try to run our business every single day. It is lovely to know that we really made a difference to your visit to N Ireland.
Many thanks
Caroline (Peter's wife!), Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for The Cuan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 468 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

The service out weighed the food by far at this restaurant. Family of 4, kids already asking to go back. Peter made our boys more than welcome, colouring competition a success. Well fed but more importantly - happy boys with footballs. We will no doubt return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Hill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Hill F
Delighted to hear you had a great family day out. I hope the footballs are still entertaining your boys and building up their appetite for their next visit. Thank you for taking the time to feed back to us Hill F.
Regards
Peter, Caroline & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I had the pleasure of an staying here recently with my fiance & family after attending the "Faulty Towers Dining Experience". A fantastic time was had by all - I really cannot recommend the Faulty Towers night enough! My face still hurts from laughing!
Our stay at the Cuan was really nice, it's clean, the beds are comfortable, the rooms are spacious and the service is really good. Peter and Caroline are so friendly and welcoming. The only negative was the bar closing at 11:50 with no warning or call for last orders.
Not a massive issue and I'm sure it's great for some but for a young 20-something on a Saturday night it seemed like an abrupt & premature end to an otherwise great night.
Other than that, we all had a lovely stay and at least no one had a hangover!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherDoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear HeatherDoran
Many thanks for the fantastic review, apologies about the bar, it should have been available to you as residents. We do not typically have a late bar but we do offer residents the option of taking a drink to the residents sitting room. Faulty Towers is secured for next October so keep an eye on our website. Maybe see you next year HeatherDoran.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A fantastic stay for a Faulty Towers experience this weekend.
Caroline, Peter and family we're welcoming and made the stay an excellent one.
Room was perfect and quiet with great facilities
Food in restaurant up to usual high standards and our cooked full Irish breakfast delicious
We will be back!
Faulty Towers was a hilarious live experience and thoroughly recommend it :)

Room Tip: Rooms at back are quiet and spacious
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear B A
Your thoughts are being echoed around the North and beyond - Faulty Towers was an amazing experience and the good news is that we get to do it all over again next October. We will keep you posted through the normal channels.
Thank you for all your wonderful compliments BA.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as part of a cycling trip. The staff were lovely, friendly and welcoming. The room was nice. The brasserie food in the evening was excellent. The breakfast was delicious. We loved the little lounge/dvd room and had a delightful chat with Colman and other staff in the morning about the local area amongst other things! A really great hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Car01yn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

Dear Car01ln85
Thank you for taking the time to do this delightful review on Trip Advisor. We view Colman as one of our greatest attributes, he is a wonderfully engaging individual. We have a whole cycle club arriving this weekend Car01yn85, maybe the word has got out!!
Regards
Caroline, Colman, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband & I went to the Cuan for a weekend break, on arrival we were shown to a beautiful room with ensuite disabled facilites, the member of staff couldn`t do enough for us!! As my husband was extremely tired he decided to go to bed.
I then went down to the restarant to meet up with my daught & son-in-law, we ordered a light meal& then the owner came to our table introduced himself, asked our names & made us feel extremely welcome, that set the tone for the rest of our stay, nothing was too much trouble for the staff.
The breakfasts were excellent, as was the evening meal.
I would recommend to Cuan to anyone , so Thank You to Peter & Caroline, we will be back!!!!

Room Tip: as it is a small Inn it has only 9 bedrooms ,so if booking you need to book early especially for the...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meatcleaver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Meatcleaver1
We were delighted to read your review, it is wonderfully encouraging to start your day with such positive feedback. This is how we run our business, we are genuinely passionate about each and every guest having a fantastic experience at The Cuan. We look forward to your return visit.
Many thanks
Peter, Caroline & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Cuan Hotel was the first place I stayed in Northern Ireland on my recent 6 month trip around Ireland. Peter, Caroline, Colman and the rest of the staff completely made our visit. Nothing was too much trouble. The hotel was incredibly comfortable and immaculately maintained. Breakfast was excellent and Peter's wheaten bread is still to be bettered!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Georgie G
It is a HUGE compliment to finish TOP of your experiences at the end of six months travelling around Ireland. That is what we do every day for all of our guests and take great pride and pleasure in doing it. Your wheaten bread is 'on the house' for your next visit Georgie G.
Many thanks for your review.
Peter, Caroline & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strangford
0.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
343 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
278 reviews
19.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
127 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,014 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barholm
Barholm
#5 of 8 in Portaferry
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuan

Address: Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Strangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strangford
Price Range: $122 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cuan 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuan Licensed Guest Inn is a family owned and run hotel located in the beautiful conservation village of Strangford, on the shores of Strangford Lough. We offer a fantastic food experience, available all day, with a passionate commitment to sourcing local seasonal produce. At the Cuan, we believe in the personal touch that comes with a family run business – you give us our livelihood – we reflect that in the way we look after you. Plan a short break with us and explore the breadth of attractions and things to do in Co Down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cuan Hotel Strangford
The Cuan Strangford, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing