We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing break”
Review of The Cuan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cuan
Ranked #1 of 2 Strangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
northern ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great relaxing break”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent a fantastic 2 nights here with family in four rooms one disabled for my mother.The moment we arrived we were warmly welcomed by the owners Peter and Caroline nothing was any bother and they they were very keen to make our stay as comfortable as possible and that my mother was comfortable in her disabled room.The food from breakfast to dinner was excellent and all the staff were fantastic- this is definitely one of the best places i have stayed in and my husband and i take frequent hotel breaks and we will definitely be returning

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcaulley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear mcaulley
We were delighted ot read about your memorable trip to The Cuan - we run our business as we would like to be received if we were the guests so thank you for all your wonderful compliments. We look forward to your return visit mcaulley, say 'hello' to your mother.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    355
    69
    16
    9
    5
See reviews for
109
206
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We joined a family gathering at the Cuan and were made to feel very welcome. The evening meal was excellent and there was a wide choice of options for breakfast. Our family room was very comfortable and Strangford is a lovely village at the bottom end of the Lough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyhutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Familyhutt
Many thanks for sharing your experience at The Cuan with the rest of the world. I believe we have something special to offer such gatherings as we are family owned and run ourselves and Strangford is a VERY special location. We hope tp see you all again.
Regards
CAroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We researched this hotel from Queensland Australia, after reading the reviews we earmarked it for a stay on our visit to Ireland. Thank goodness we did.
The welcome by the owner Peter with a complimentary glass of Guinness and the fantastic dining menu alone would convince travellers they have hit the jackpot.
But wait there's more,the staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was spotless and cosy, the delicious breakfast set us up for a days exploration in this beautiful region of Ireland.
The small public bar is the ideal spot for a pre dinner drink with the locals.
In conclusion wherever you hail from we would highly recommend this super family hotel and enjoy it as much as we did.
The Elliott's Brisbane Australia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Roger E
Thank you for such an extensive an enthuastic review. It is only right that we should take care of you in such a manner when you take the decision to support us. If you have the opportunity to come to Ireland again we look forward to doing it all over again!
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just back from two days and nights at the CUAN. hospitality like it used tobe.Like going to your grannies and getting spoiled.Service,food ambience! If you want to unwind go there.Great music on the saturday for a charity event. having another one in August get there!
Michael & Shirley.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael mc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear michael mc b
Many thanks for your delightful review. The Cuan offer food for body and soul!!
Regards
Caroline, Peter and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The Cuan hotel at Strangford gave us a warm welcome when we arrived by motor boat during our Irish Sea cruise last week. They offered us a shower before we sat down to an enormous home cooked meal and a great pint of beer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear B1ackbeard
Delighted to hear you enjoyed The Cuan's hospitality, the new pontoon in the village makes our beautiful conservation village much more accessible. Hope to see you again.
Many thanks for the review B1ackbeard.
Caroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here with 6 and 7 yr old. Could not have been more friendly and helpful. Family room bit cramped but very clean. Evening meal and breakfast excellent. Very close to ferry port which we took to Portaferry.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Kristen H
Many thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you again, there is so much to see and do around Strangford.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Colman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We have just returned from a super relaxing beak in the Cuan. Food and accommodation would put a lot of 5 star hotels to shame. The breakfast each morning was outstanding and Colman made sure we were well fed before we set off on our travels each morning. In fact all the staff were very welcoming and went out of their way to ensure everybody had a great time. Strangford is a beautiful well kept village situated on the lough and near to Castleward. Also the ferry to a great way to travel across the lough to visit Portaferry. Will certainly return to the Cuan soon.

Room Tip: All rooms face the beautiful square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear BelfastTeresa
Many thanks for your superb compliments. Colman is a real treasure with an amazing depth of local knowledge particularly of peple, not surprising as he appears to be related to most!!!
We look forward to your next visit BelfastTeresa.
Regards
Caroline, Colman, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strangford
0.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
328 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
266 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
122 reviews
19.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
0.9 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#2 of 8 in Portaferry
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuan

Property: The Cuan
Address: Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Strangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strangford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cuan 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cuan Hotel Strangford
The Cuan Strangford, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing