We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find”
Review of The Cuan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cuan
Ranked #1 of 2 Strangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We have just had the most fantastic sea food platter ever. My husband says the guinness is quality as well. The welcome and service was fantastic. We where staying on our yacht so i cannot review the rooms but Strangford is a very enchanting place and very friendly. I heartily recommend Cuan for a meal.

Room Tip: Sorry we didn't stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayP28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear KayP 28
Many thanks for taking the time to do a review for us. Our seafood platter is an amazing dining experience with over 15 varieties on seafood on the one platter - seeing (and eating) is believing!
Treat yourself t to Dinner B&B the next time KayP 28.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    65
    15
    9
    2
See reviews for
106
194
6
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uddingston
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just returned from a 3 day break staying in Bar View Cottage owned by Caroline and Peter from the Cuan Hotel. We had a lovely stay in this beautiful 2 bedroom cottage. It was so relaxing and within a couple minutes walking distance from hotel. We hope to return in the not too distant future to enjoy another great holiday. Caroline, Peter, Colman and the whole staff team were very friendly and made us feel so welcome. AML

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Anne Marie L
Congratulations!!! - you are the first person to review our new self-catering cottage and you certainly did it in style. The work on the garden should br complete by your return so you can sit out and enjoy uninterrupted views of Strangford Lough.
Many thanks Anne Marie L
Caroline, Peter, Colman & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I booked one nights accommodation B&B and evening meal for my husbands birthday. We had a wonderful time. The owners Peter and Caroline took time to talk to us and made us feel very welcome. If you enjoy seafood this is certainly the place to eat. Our evening meal was fabulous all made with local produce. Our room was clean and welcoming and we had a great nights sleep. We even had a cuppa before we went to bed with the tea making facilities in the room. We will be back for another overnight stay in the not too distant future. I would suggest that you contact the hotel/restaurant direct to check their rates before booking.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Caroline716
Many thanks for taking the time to do a fantastic review for The Cuan, it certainly helps built a great picture for us. We hope to see you again soon Cariolin716.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymoney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My friend Tim and I stayed at the Cuan and we had a wonderful experience. The hospitality, food, Strangford Lough like glass. Shear heaven. The local peeps are extremely friendly and the Cuan staff like coming home to best friends .Tim and I wanted to stay for ever.
I once reviewed Bennan's seafood chowder. I could not help calling in to tell them that as good as it is ... the Cuan trumps theirs. I think I am barred. Kidding.
Coleman (who knows amazing things and him and Tim chin wagged like bros while I listened and grinned), Diane, Bronagh and the wonderful hosts Peter and Catherine could not do enough for us. I never thought I would hear Timothy, Lord Belmont in Northern Ireland, describe an Inn as better than a 5* hotel ... but he did. That will give you a clue as to how great it is. I guess it will be booked out for ever now that we have made the much deserved mistake of telling you all about it. Fair is fair. We were treated sooo well and had such a great time I have to compliment the Cuan ... Loove you guys MMx

Room Tip: Just go ... ask for a room overlooking the square ... Strangford is beautiful. Bring a Kayak and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BallymoneyNumptynuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear BallymoneyNumpt...
We should take you on board for PR!!! We really appreciate the wonderfully enthusiastic review you did for The Cuan. Keep up your good work and we will keep up our end. Hope to see you again.
Many thanks
Caroline, Peter, Colman, Diane, Bronagh & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We had the centenary titanic menu and exceeded any reservations I had. Delectable food from a far gone era. The male host was a delight, knew the food and drink to complement inside out. True professional . and I can truly say I have never experienced finer fare !!! All locally sourced and traced which was a fine experience which I will avail of again for sure !!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjamin05_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear benjamin05_11
Many thanks for your wonderful review. There are many more special events for you to choose from in our events booklet, available to view on our website.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrickfergus
Level Contributor
153 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile


We were down for a wedding, starting with a family dinner on Thursday evening. From this, through to the rooms, the langoustines on Friday, huge smoked haddock breakfast to fill the pre-event stomach on Sunday, and bacon rolls and Bloody Marys on the green on Sunday lunch....everything was very good.

Hospitality is well documented already, and the food is excellent. Both Peter and Caroline are patient, and nothing seems to be a problem. Rooms are good, but it's not cheap at £110 per night, but you do get what you pay for!

We will happily book again when next in Strangford.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McFoieGras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear McFoisGras
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the rest of the world. It is personally very rewarding when you know you have contributed to making a celebration even more special.
We look forward to your next stay.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

In the middle of May I was at the Cuan for a meal for my birthday.My friends took me there
I must say it was the worse meal I have ever had there. The chicken Maryland was cooked in chip pan, chips as hard as sticks and another roast beef dinner was very dried out. I must say it was a night Peter was not there but as I was not paying I did not like to say anything.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank debbymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear debbymark
I was very disappointed to read your review, the two dishes in question are exceptionally popular, indeed the Chicken Maryland came back on to the menu by popular request. It has beem drawn to the attention of Peter and the kitchen team.
yours sincerely
Caroline and Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strangford
0.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
19.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
16.1 mi away
La Mon Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
17.1 mi away
Slieve Donard Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#2 of 8 in Portaferry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuan

Property: The Cuan
Address: Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Strangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strangford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cuan 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Cuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cuan Hotel Strangford
The Cuan Strangford, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing