We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service.”
Review of The Cuan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cuan
Ranked #1 of 2 Strangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 10, 2012

I am a coach driver. On a December Monday morning I had dropped a group off at Castleward. Unfortunately the Castleward coffee shop was closed (why I do not know). So off into Strangford I went for a coffee. Only place open was The Cuan. So in I went and immediately greeted by a friendly lady. She directed me to the lounge. I ordered the coffee and she brought it out with complimentary mince pie. A few staff were having their coffee break and invited me to join them. I didnt as didnt want to intrude. But my whole experience in The Cuan was great. All staff very friendly and very inviting. Place is great and a big congratulations to the staff. I have completed the Worldhost course and would recommend The Cuan to anybody passing. Well worth stopping.

Thanx guys. See you again soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gush37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Gush37
Now that is worthy praise! You line of work would have you in many establishments, I am sure with a wide spectrum of experiences, so we are delighted that you found The Cuan right up there at the top. Next time bring the contents of your bus with you Gush37!
Many thanks
CAroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 473 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

Late Review for August 2012:
When our daughter arranged Castleward as her summer wedding location and knowing that accomodation is hard to find in the locale we quickly booked up the Cuan.
Not knowing what the standard was we carried out a quick reccy and had the MOST enjoyable weekday lunch there a couple of weeks before the wedding. Would highly recommend that :)
Caroline was able to show us the accomodation and we were more than satisfied that they could cater for elderly parents as well as the young atttendees.
We checked in off the Ferry early on the Saturday morning got our keys and headed onto the wedding with a late return on Saturday night.
The next morning ... nothing was too much trouble for either Caroline or Peter and the elderly breakfast "Waiter?" was a hoot bringing us his old photos of our local cinema! A great family reunion location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANGELA K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Dear AKONHOLIDAY
We were delighted to read that you had such a great time with us - exactly what we set out to achieve! Colman is our breakfast waiter and is one of the star attractions of The Cuan, he has a fan club all over the world. Ask him any question and he has the answer!. You will find many reasons to visit The Cuan in 2013 when we complete our booklet of events so we look forward to taking care of you again - maybe your family reunion?
Many thanks for taking the time to do the review AKONHOLIDAY.
Caroline, Peter, Colman & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having lived in Strangford as teenagers, my sister and I wanted to revisit old haunts. We were delighted to discover a four star hotel in the village (where there used to be a grocers shop!) From my initial telephone enquiry, until we departed after a three night stay, our host and hostess, Peter and Caroline, could not have been more helpful or friendly. We had five people in our party occupying three rooms. The accommodation was four-star standard and the meals were delicious. I strongly recommend anyone to visit The Cuan - they will thoroughly enjoy it!

Brian K

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Dear Brian K
Many thanks for the wonderful review. Having researched the history of The Cuan in great detail for the celebration of its 200th birthday we are delighted to chat with people who have memories of their time in Strangford. We do hope to see you again Brian K.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Last weekend we travelled to the Cuan in Strangford for the Fawlty Towers Experience and were rewarded with a truly exceptional experience. The reception on arrival and the hospitality we received from all the staff was excellent - they clearly take their lead from the owners Peter and Caroline who set the highest imaginable standards. The food was marvellous, the rooms were first class and the entertainment kept us all spell-bound . In every respect a fantastic time and one that we would like to repeat in the future. We cannot recommend the Cuan highly enough.

Tom and Laura

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank NorthDownCC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear NorthDownCC
Our smiles just got bigger and bigger!! What a fantastic review. The Fawlty Towers event was an amazing success and the good news is that it is to be repeated all over again on Fri 30th Nov. We look forward to sharing all that is The Cuan with you on your next visit.
Many many thanks
Caroline, Peter and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

My husband and I had the pleasure of staying at the Cuan recently. We were made to feel very welcome by Caroline and Peter, who gave us their personal attention. The bedroom was beautifully furnished comfortable and relaxing. The beds were very comfortable and the pillows were especially comfortable, providing a relaxed sleep. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was excellent quality. In fact the staff were very happy to cook the food just the way you like it to suit your individual culinary requirements. The next morning we were served breakfast by Coleman and his colleagues, who all gave us personal attention. Coleman also gave us some interesting historical information. I would highly recommend this B and B, where every guest is made to feel cared about. I look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greencuisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear greencuisine
It was a real delight to read your FANTASTIC review, the detail in your report is really encouraging to potential new customers to The Cuan. Colman is one of our unique selling points - such an entertaining man, your life is certainly richer for knowing him.
We look forward to your next visit greencuisine.
Many thanks
Caroline, Peter, Colman and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I would thoroughly recommend this as a place to stay. Excellent value for money and Caroline and Peter are the most welcoming of hosts. The food and hospitality are second to none. I stayed whilst attending a 2 day event at nearby Castleward, and was disappointed the event was not longer so I could have enjoyed another night at the Cuan. Coleman the night porter is a very entertaining and friendly character. Looking forward to staying at the same time next year, if not before!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alison c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear alison c
Many thanks for such a delightful review. Keep an eye out for our new 2113 calendar of events for LOTS of reasons to visit The Cuan, please don't wait until the next pumpkinfest event in Castle Ward.
Regards
Caroline, Peter, Colman & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The area & Stragford is one of the most beautiful places I've ever visited. We stayed at The Cuan where the hospitality was 2nd to none. Thank you to the owners Peter & Caroline not forgeting The Cuan's own character Coleman. If you go golfing I would certainly recommend Ardglass,the course is one of the best I've played.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cr1ck3t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear cr1ck3t
Many thanks for taking the time to do such a fantastic review fo The Cuan. Colman certainly is a character and a wonderful asset to The Cuan. There are 10 golf courses within a half-hour drive of The Cuan - lots of reasons for a return visit!!
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Colman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strangford
0.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
353 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
280 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
109 reviews
16.7 mi away
Strangford Arms Hotel
Strangford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newtownards
262 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barholm
Barholm
#5 of 8 in Portaferry
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuan

Address: Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Strangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strangford
Price Range: $120 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cuan 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuan Licensed Guest Inn is a family owned and run hotel located in the beautiful conservation village of Strangford, on the shores of Strangford Lough. We offer a fantastic food experience, available all day, with a passionate commitment to sourcing local seasonal produce. At the Cuan, we believe in the personal touch that comes with a family run business – you give us our livelihood – we reflect that in the way we look after you. Plan a short break with us and explore the breadth of attractions and things to do in Co Down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cuan Hotel Strangford
The Cuan Strangford, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing