We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful places I have visited”
Review of The Cuan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cuan
Ranked #1 of 2 Strangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The area & Stragford is one of the most beautiful places I've ever visited. We stayed at The Cuan where the hospitality was 2nd to none. Thank you to the owners Peter & Caroline not forgeting The Cuan's own character Coleman. If you go golfing I would certainly recommend Ardglass,the course is one of the best I've played.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cr1ck3t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear cr1ck3t
Many thanks for taking the time to do such a fantastic review fo The Cuan. Colman certainly is a character and a wonderful asset to The Cuan. There are 10 golf courses within a half-hour drive of The Cuan - lots of reasons for a return visit!!
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Colman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
There are newer reviews for The Cuan
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 468 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just got back today from a 2day break.What a great wee place.The staff are so welcoming and down to earth.I have to mention Colman the night porter,he was such a charming gentleman.He told me and my husband some great stories.The food was delicious,i dont know what i enjoed more,the dinner or breakfast,it was so tasty.We certainly didnt go away hungry.The rooms are very basic but spacious and very very clean. I will definately be back again and will let my family and friends know about this fabulous wee place in Strangford.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Kerrie D
Many thanks for your fantastic review. Colman is keeping a tally on the number of mentions he is getting! Colman has celebrity status in The Cuan. A god breakfast sits very close to my heart and i believe our is special because everything is cooked fresh to order. We look forward to your next visit and welcoming your friends and family in due course.
Regards
Caroline, Peter, Colman and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The title of this review may seem a little strange...but that's only because it was heartbreaking to have to leave! I must admit that this beautiful inn is very well deserving of the highest praise already stated by many previous reviewers. The McErleans are wonderful hosts and Mr Rooney is a real asset. We must however also give a special mention to the young chap who delivered copious amount of tea & coffee to our room with a big smile. In fact, all the staff are very welcoming, courteous and efficient.
As for the food, it's hard to know where to begin, but I really must disagree with one reviewer who felt that the delicious crab risotto wasn't up to scratch. In fact it was so good I could easily have eaten another bowlful and my husband was very impressed with the breaded cod, so much so that he declared it to be the best he had... even when compared with the seafood at Fisherman's wharf! As for the seafood platter, our only problem was that we were unable to finish it. (I would advise splitting it between three people, so you can have a little desert)
Finally, I must say something about Strangford itself. It is an extremely pretty wee town and without exception, the locals who passed us all said hello...something of a rarity these days.
On the whole, we had a wonderful time and are very much looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: Stay longer than you planned!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebbeddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Ebbeddee
It was an absolute treat to read your review. Our heart and soul go into our business, it is essential that our guests go away having had a very special experience and feeling motivated to share it with others. I was particularly delighted to read your 'Room Tip': "Stay longer than you planned"
We look forward to your next visit Ebbeddee.
Many thanks
Caroline, Peter, Colman (Mr Rooney) & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent a night on our way south to Dublin last weekend and it was so good that we booked a night for our trip on the way to the ferry at Larne. One of the best Inn/Hotels we have stayed at. The owners Caroline and Peter could not do enough for us and their staff were all so helpful. The food was superb. This might not be on your way but it is well worthwhile taking a trip to Strangford as it is a lovely place just across the water from Portsferry. We would definitely recommend the Cuan unreservedly. Full marks for this gem!!

Sandra and John, Kippen, Scotland

Room Tip: We had room 6 and it was lovely and large with a super bathroom
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keera001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear keera001
My smile just got wider and wider as I read your rewiew, many thanks for such comprehensive feedback on your initial visit that lead to a repeat visit. Now that you have discovered us we look forward to being a regular when you visit Ireland.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Very impressed with the friendliness of the management and staff at The Cuan during our recent stay - it really did stand out. Perhaps they could start a sideline in hospitality training during the quieter months! It was really refreshing to meet people who seemed to really enjoy their jobs, meeting people and making your stay a pleasant one. Notably this applied to all the staff, not just the owners / managers (perhaps it is no coincidence that Peter and Caroline seem to have a very hands-on role and are very much involved).

We were probably not the easiest guests as we had our baby with us. The idea to put her to bed and enjoy a nice meal with one ear cocked to the monitor did not go according to plan and we had to take her down to the dining room and the keep nipping out between courses to walk her and try to get her off to sleep. Despite this, the staff were brilliant and did their best to ensure we stil lenjoyed our meal as much as possible. Babysitting had even been offered but we had not managed to get her to sleep.

Dinner was good with generous portions that will not displease those who do not care for nouvelle cuisine, but at the same time the menu was interesting and went well beyond tired pub staples.

Breakfast was also excellent (and we met yet another member of staff who was a real asset to the place - didn't catch hs name but suspect he is the same as mentioned a few reviews lower down) and in terms of the total bill for our stay I think we got great value.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ringraider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Ringraider
What a delight to read your fantastic review. Consultancy - now there is a good idea BUT we would have to travel out of our uniquely beautiful village, it may be too great a price to pay!!
We hope you find another opportunity to visit us in the not to distant future.
Many thanks for taking the time to do the review Ringraider.
Regards
Caroline, Peter, Colman & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Myself and a group of friends visited this restaurant after a dive.

I went for the Roast of the day.

It was a big let down. The food was tasteless. It would be best compared to the food you would get in a cafe. I didn't taste like a meal a chef had prepared. It was more like the standard a cook would make.

The presentation was awful. It was as if it was just threw on the plate.

It wasn't cheap in the slightest. They need to reduce their prices to match the standard of the place they are.

The staff were friendly though but thats not enough to make be return.

I won't return. Good food isn't difficult to make. The Cuan are very fortunate to be located where there is an abundance of fresh produce so they have it easy compared to other restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyanBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear RyanBelfast
The most recent posting on The Cuan's restaurant review page of Trip Advisor reads as follows:
“Delicious food and great atmosphere with moderate prices” 5 Stars
Reviewed 8 September 2012 NEW
Seafood is the speciality of this restaurant in a charming little fishing village on Strangford Lough. Food was fresh and delicious.Seafood chowder excellent.
Interior has lots of charm and atmosphere.Very relaxed and unpretentious.
Prices appropiate.

The roast of the day is consistently within our top 10 sellers!
Yours sincerely
Caroline & Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Myself and my husband have just spent a very enjoyable overnight stay at the Cuan Hotel. We were given a warm welcome by Damien who showed us to a lovely, good sized room at the front of the hotel. The room had both a double and single beds and was spotless. It have a view of the green and was very quiet. We had booked for Bed, Breakfast and Dinner. The food at the Cuan is excellent and is further enhanced by the attentive staff. At Breakfast we met 'Coleman' who has been with the hotel for many years. He could not do enough for us and his cheerfulness was a great start to the day! The Cuan Hotel is great value for money and we have no hesitation in recommeding it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank heather w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Dear heather w
Colman has printed this review and put it up on the staff notice board!!!
Many thanks for this fantastic review. It is such a delight to read this heartfelt endorsment of The Cuan. We look forward to your next visit.
Regards
Caroline, Peter, Damian, Colman & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strangford
0.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
344 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
278 reviews
19.5 mi away
Clandeboye Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Donard Hotel
Donard Hotel
#5 of 16 in Newcastle
127 reviews
21.1 mi away
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
The Old Inn Crawfordsburn
#1 of 1 in Crawfordsburn
1,014 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barholm
Barholm
#5 of 8 in Portaferry
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuan

Address: Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Strangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strangford
Price Range: $122 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cuan 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuan Licensed Guest Inn is a family owned and run hotel located in the beautiful conservation village of Strangford, on the shores of Strangford Lough. We offer a fantastic food experience, available all day, with a passionate commitment to sourcing local seasonal produce. At the Cuan, we believe in the personal touch that comes with a family run business – you give us our livelihood – we reflect that in the way we look after you. Plan a short break with us and explore the breadth of attractions and things to do in Co Down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cuan Hotel Strangford
The Cuan Strangford, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing