We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, fabulous food, friendly folk”
Review of The Cuan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cuan
Ranked #1 of 2 Strangford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last week with 4 friends, following a hectic few days in the lead up to our son's wedding. Our time in Strangford was just what we needed to recover - from the moment we arrived everyone was helpful and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We had some of the best food of our 10 day stay in Northern Ireland, 3 good nights' sleep and even experienced excellent weather to take in the local scenery. We enjoyed the walk round the headland, the trip on the ferry to Mount Stewart, and a drive up to Nendrum all in sunshine. Thank you Peter, Caroline and staff for giving us such happy memories to take home.

Room Tip: We had room 5, with a view of the village. Would recommend asking for this room as it was a good si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Dear JaniceT
Many thanks for your delightful and extensive review of The Cuan. It is very encouraging to get such positive feedback, our heart is truely behind our business. I hope you find another opportunity to come back to stay with us JaniceT.
Regards
Caroline, Peter and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 482 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed just one night wish had more time for longer. Dog friendly room well thought out near an exit for 'walkies'. The food was superb, service excellent. A charming place.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karenclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear Karenclarke
Delighted to read your summary of The Cuan. Keep an eye on our calendar of events for lots more reasons for a repeat visit.
Many thanks
CAroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here because we heard it was very good, and so it was. When we booked in we were told they were having a new boiler fitted and there was no hot water, and they would knock money off the price, so we stayed dinner bed and breakfast. The dinner at night was awesome, the fish was fresh and beautifully cooked. The owners and staff were fantastic, they made you feel like a long lost friend, coming home. The lack of hot water was not a problem, I would have thrown myself in the Strangford lough rather than miss the food. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheila565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear shiela565
I REALLY LOVE your last line: I would have thrown myself in the Strangford lough rather than miss the food.
We thoroughly enjoyed the fun and chat with you and are glad to hear that the work on the new heating system didn't detract from your stay. See you soon.
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I called in with my sister for a drink and had a chat with Peter who was serving in the bar. We decided to sail down the next day from RingHaddy with my brother-in-law, leaving the boat at the small marina in Strangford and wander across for lunch. No sign of the owners, but the staff on duty were equally welcoming,knew the history of the buildings and the town and generally made us feel both like locals they knew without dropping the service levels. Fresh fish had just arrived and we had a simple,beautifully cooked meal without the price tag you are often met with in better known establishments! Will be back. Ps the local Armagh cider is a find

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valhalla81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear valhall81
I really enjoyed reading your review, I agree with you 100% when you say "people make the difference" our ethos is to treat every customer as we would like to be treated our selves, to ensure that this is consistent throughout The Cuan we 'hire the attitude and, if necessary, train the skill'. We hope to welcome you again to enjoy some more of our exciting range of freah fish.
Many thanks for the review.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I could not fault my stay at The Cuan everyone was just so nice and welcoming, but if I had to choose a few members of staff who stood out to me was a you child call Conall and his mother Caroline. Overall a brilliant stay and I hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigTripper123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 29, 2012

Dear BigTripper123
Conall was 'over the moon' to see his name in print on Trip Advisor, he is a great help to the housekeeping team and I am the proud mum! Many thanks for taking the time to share your memorable experience of The Cuan with the rest of the world.
Looking forward to your next visit.
CAroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Just came across The Cuan and booked in for the night. Good food and comfortable lodgings. Nice people.

Room Tip: Visit local National Trust property whilst there and leave on the ferry to travel north towards Belf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Brian 1946
Many thanks for taking the time to feedback on The Cuan through Trip Advisor.
We take great pride in The Cuan and are delighted to boast about our Special Award from Taste of Ulster as their top scoring restaurant for the past 3 consecutive years:
98% in 2010; 99% in 2011 and 100% in 2012!!
I hope you have another opportunity to call with us Brian 1946.
Regards
Caroline, Peter & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2111
Reviewed May 24, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheCuanCoDown, Owner at The Cuan, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strangford
0.7 mi away
Portaferry Hotel
Portaferry Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portaferry
366 reviews
4.4 mi away
Dufferin Coaching Inn
Dufferin Coaching Inn
#1 of 1 in Killyleagh
282 reviews
7.1 mi away
Denvir's Hotel
Denvir's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downpatrick
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
Fiddler's Green Bar and B&B
#1 of 9 in Portaferry
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Barholm
Barholm
#5 of 9 in Portaferry
38 reviews
11.8 mi away
The Old Schoolhouse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cuan

Address: Strangford Village, Strangford BT30 7ND, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Strangford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Strangford
Price Range: $135 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cuan 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cuan Licensed Guest Inn is a family owned and run hotel located in the beautiful conservation village of Strangford, on the shores of Strangford Lough. We offer a fantastic food experience, available all day, with a passionate commitment to sourcing local seasonal produce. At the Cuan, we believe in the personal touch that comes with a family run business – you give us our livelihood – we reflect that in the way we look after you. Plan a short break with us and explore the breadth of attractions and things to do in Co Down. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cuan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cuan Hotel Strangford
The Cuan Strangford, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing