We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Number 42

Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
Front of House South Facing Rear Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Living Room
Front of House
South Facing Rear Garden
Fully Fitted Kitchen
Sun Room with wood burner
Sun Room with wood burner
Dining with views to the garden
Bedroom
Secure off road car parking
Spacious back garden
Boats in Castleward Bay
Mountains of Mourne
View of boats in Strangford
Ferry at Strangford
near Number 42 Strangford
Strangford Lough
Castleward National Trust Property
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Strangford, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Denisewat...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely holiday!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Had a lovely stay here.Cottage is very cosy with a beautiful garden and patio with bbq,perfect for the summer.Good location,right beside ferry crossing to Portaferry and had lovely days out in Castleward (5 min drive) and Newcastle.Highly recommended!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra M
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Wonderful house and relaxing break”
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous 3 days in Strangford away from it all.

The house more than lived up to it's pictures, lovely features, clean, bright and spacious, just the right mix of old and new, it's been beautifully renovated. It had everything we needed and more. We greatly enjoyed the garden and conservatory, pulling back the sliding doors every morning and eating outside in the sunshine!

The area had lots for us and small kids. The house was only minutes walk to the centre of the village. We enjoyed a trip to nearby castle ward for lunch in the tea rooms, play in the play grounds and scenic walks. The kids loved the trip over to Portferry on the ferry boat to Exploris the nearby Aquarium, they were happy out getting to touch sharks, manta rays and starfish! There was a lovely nearby beach which was perfect for young kiddies, enclosed with shallow water and rock pools.

Only negative on the village is it could do with more eateries, there was just the Cuan which we could see, but I see another coffee shop or restaurant is opening up soon near the house which would be great. The local Mace did lovely burgers and sausages though and we enjoyed a BBQ one of our evenings.

Overall great house and location, can't recommend it more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodM379
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in a great location”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful week staying at Number 42. Immediately on arrival the house felt relaxing and homely. It was the perfect base for a great week of activities around the local area.

The house has plenty of living space (indoors and outdoors) and is well equipped. It was very spacious and is set in a quiet location.

The local park (1 minute from the property) was a kids favourate - it was safe and provided them with some independence. They could also go down to the local shop to spend their holiday money.

Strangford is typical of a small NI village, set in a stunning location. It has a couple of pubs, two village shops, and some other niche stores. Castle Ward is a few minutes walk away and offers some nice walks and the option of a cycle and canoe trail. Just around the coast are some good beaches and a short ferry ride over to Portaferry opens up further attractions, pubs, restaurants and beaches.

Overall, a great rental and we hope to be back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large living area and location
Liked least: Another bedroom would be great
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin y
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Charming home from home”
Reviewed October 31, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We spent a relaxing week at number 42 and felt at ease the whole time, a great place for chilling out and a stone's throw from the excellent Cuan pub/restaurant. The house has been recently renovated and has a nice mix of old and new features. We found this this place by accident because everywhere else was book up over Hallow'een and I'm glad that was the case. We will definitely book again. My only fear is that if I give a too good a review too many people with discover this gem.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility. Location. Cosiness. The log-burning stove!
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing