We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly and well run outdoor activity centre.”

Clearsky Adventure Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based on the shores of Strangford Lough; just 45 minutes from Belfast. Come to Clearsky Adventure Centre for a wide range of activities on offer to everyone a€" from the young to the young at heart. The centre was also used extensively for the filming of Game of Thrones. As you drive down through the estate you soon realise why the HBO film location scouts chose here; the centres medieval walls and castle clock tower, the beautiful surrounding landscapes and far-reaching views across the water; it was the perfect place to create the fantasy 'Winterfell' - home of the Stark family Adventure days and courses for individuals to large groups. Canoeing, Laser Clay Pigeon Shooting, Kayaking, Sea Kayaking, Abseiling, Rock Climbing, Coasteering, Raft Build and Racing, Archery, Crate Stacking and more. Experience Clearsky &€" inspiration, fun and enjoyment for everyone.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We booked in for a full activity day for my sister's 30th. I've been once before and enjoyed my days kayaking, so I was interested to try out the other activities. I was a tad underwhelmed to hear that our canoeing had been cancelled due to poor weather and substituted for mountain biking! However, it turned out that this was my favourite activity. We cycled along several miles of scenic custom made tracks that were challenging/fun when attacked at speed! Afterwards we went for an indoor option of laser shooting and archery which again were highly enjoyable. A big positive is the attitude and professionalism of the highly personable staff. Really good to see that Mick Hucknall has kept his chin up after hIs music career went south!!! ;) Thanks. Will def use again.

Thank Mielsibub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearskyAdventure, Front Office Manager at Clearsky Adventure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thanks for such a great review Mielsibub - we are so pleased that you had such a good time and that your sister was pleased with her birthday day out! Our very own Mick Hucknell and Davy both enjoyed their days and said you were a great group to work with - Mick even said he would perform a little solo next time you're here! Thanks again guys, hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
There are newer reviews for Clearsky Adventure Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 89 of 146 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2013

A well run and efficient adventure centre. We hired bikes here to cycle along routes which was very enjoyable.The staff were very helpful and jolly. We intend to go back this year.

Thank BelfastCar0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearskyAdventure, Front Office Manager at Clearsky Adventure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thanks for your comments, the cycle trails really are a lot of fun and you're right about Castle Ward being a beautiful location! Looking forward to seeing you again this year - maybe you'll venture out onto the Canoe trail this time?! Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The centre has a variety of acticities to offer, we decided to do a half day mountain biking. The bikes were great, and the trails were nicely varied, well sign posted and reasonably accessible. The staff were very helpful and friendly and it is a beautiful location to pass a day in the fresh air.

1  Thank grandmec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearskyAdventure, Manager at Clearsky Adventure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review, we're pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you like the bike trails, we like them a lot too! You'll have to try the Canoe trail next time! We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We really won the prize when we went on the Sea Safari.
From the moment we met Andy, our boat pilot, to we left we had a brilliant experience.
All the safety gear was provided, even for the larger gents among us,and the RIB was waiting ready to go.
Our pilot Andy pointed out and fully explained all the points of interested and give a potted history of the lough and the land-marks which was interesting.
We had a brilliant time in the boat and enjoyed the speed of the twists and turns.
We had a great day out and would happily recommend the trip.

1  Thank Lester B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClearskyAdventure, Manager at Clearsky Adventure Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Hi Lester B - well what can we say! What a great review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed the Strangford Sea Safari so much! Hope to see you in 2013 on some of our other boat trips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We rented a bike and kid's trailer, and also booked in for a family archery session. James sorted both of these out, and was just great.
In particular, he was really lovely with the kids during archery, making sure they got a lot out of the session.

Thank shawbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clearsky Adventure Centre also viewed

Strangford, County Down
Downpatrick, County Down
 
Portaferry, County Down
 

Been to Clearsky Adventure Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing