We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just right”
other travelers have booked this property
Traditional exterior, spacious modern interior
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Traditional exterior, spacious modern interior
Comfortable living room with stove Sheltered patio just off living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Traditional exterior, spacious modern interior
Comfortable living room with stove
Sheltered patio just off living room
TV / DVD, Chromecast, Bluetooth speakers
Multifuel stove, fuel provided
Fully equipped modern kitchen
Dining area
Entrance hall, coat rack, shoe storage, umbrellas
New for 2017: King size bed in master bedroom
2nd bedroom, double bed, built in wardrobe
3rd bedroom, 3 single beds
Modern bathroom
Bathroom: bath, shower, good water pressure and lots of hot water
Children's equipment available on request
Children's equipment available on request
Sheltered patio off living room
Enclosed south facing garden
Garden
Bike wash and lock up at rear
Very central village location
Village playground 100m away, linked by footpath no roads to cross
Village playground
Castleward Bay on edge of village
Strangford quay
Ferry to Portaferry every 30 mins
Castleward: Game of Thrones locations, forest trails, café, Clearsky, adventure playground
Castleward trails for walking, running, cycling
Killard beach, 5 min drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Strangford, County Down, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
catpipfra...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Just right”
Reviewed January 9, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Great location, lovely house with everything thought of from tea bags to logs for the fire. Very modern, clean and deceptively large inside. WiFi and smart TV excellent for teenagers. Hosts very friendly and helpful. Couldn't fault it.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2018
We are really happy to hear you had a great stay at The Red Door. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We'd love to have you back, get in touch anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flembinho
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect family friendly place for an escape in Strangford”
Reviewed December 18, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Beautifully styled, well equipped modern and spacious terrace. Great location, in walking distance to shops restaurants, and local attractions in a beautiful part of County Down. Marty and Melanie have thought of everything you might need, and offered first class hosting. Highly recommend this place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2018
Thanks guys - really appreciate your review. You know where we are now, hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaylebree...
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend away”
Reviewed November 19, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Just back from a lovely weekend in strangford with my husband and our dog, we stayed at the red door and i can honestly say it was the best dog friendly house we have stayed in northern Ireland. The house was spotless with everything in it we could have needed, hosts Marty and Melanie are lovely and very helpful. Strangford is a lovely village, house 2 minute walk from the ferry and less than a 5 minute drive to castle ward, would highly recommend and will definitely be back, thanks again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2017
Thank you very much for your review. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Red Door. We would love to welcome you back, get in touch anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sian B
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Half Term Break”
Reviewed November 5, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We decided - on a bit of a whim - to take a short break down to Strangford over our half term holidays. And what a stay we had! The Red Door is a beautifully appointed little cottage with everything we could possibly have required for our 3 night stay. What’s more, we were travelling with our 11 month old daughter and we didn’t even have to bring a travel cot or high chair - all was provided by Marty and Melanie who are wonderful hosts.
We fell in love with Strangford and the surrounding area - autumnal walks in Castle Ward, exploring Exploris and a stop off to Mount Stewart on the way home made this is a holiday to remember. Thank you Marty and Melanie - we cannot wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2017
Hi Sian, really appreciate your review and so glad you had a great stay. We are very lucky in Strangford, as you say it is a great family location with lots to do close by. Get in touch anytime, we would love to welcome you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thompson8...
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect location”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a fantastic stay at The Red Door. Marty and his wife Melanie were more than accommodating and super friendly. The house is a stones throw from town so we could walk in for drinks and dinner if we didn't fancy a night in at their beautiful house. Thank you for a lovely stay, Sarah and Andrew.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2017
Really appreciate you taking the time to review! We are so lucky with lots of great options to eat out a short stroll away. Glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent z
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
““Don't look any further, just book!!!””
Reviewed October 24, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

“Don't look any further, just book!!!”
Stay in great comfort for the whole family. Stair gates, Induction hob...
Wel maintained secure garden, very clean house! Great beds...
There is not much to say, this is probably the best holiday rental we have ever been.
Marty is a great host, and the house has everything you need, Even a smart tv.
Stangford itself has more to offer than you would think, even the nearest town of Downpatrick has les to offer than Strangford.
Going to Belfast is just less than a hour drive.
Great walk and gorgeous surroundings.
Play area, just at the back of the house.

I would say don't look any further, just book!!! You won't regret it!!!

We stayed when in the week when the Storm Ophelia rushed over Ireland, And we had just less that 10 min power loss. Just comes to show that even on a bad day like then the stay was great!!! Well done Marty, we will be back!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend? Yes

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2017
So glad you had a great stay despite Ophelia doing her best to interrupt! Thanks so much for taking the time to review. Love to welcome you back anytime, just get in touch.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleks M
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay in Strangford.”
Reviewed October 3, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Stayed here for a family wedding in Strangford. Easy to communicate with the host. Lovely house. Clean, bright, spacious, great facilities including everything for baby. Situated in Strangford itself. Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 10, 2017
Thanks so much for taking the time to review. With young ones ourselves we know it can make life that bit easier if baby is happy! So glad all was good at The Red Door. Marty and Melanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing