We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what a doctor ordered for a perfect vacation”
Review of La Romance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Romance
Reviewed June 17, 2011

Located in a small village in Alsace La Romance is simply perfect.Tastfully decorated,beautifully located,very comfortable retreat. And that before excellent and well presented breakfest and the owner.Corrine is a perfect host.Always helpfull and full of advice and humor.Highly recomended.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BoazR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 61 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2011

My husband and I have just returned from our trip in Europe. A part of our trip was devoted to Alsace, where we were for the first time. We did not use the tourist agencies services and planned everything ourselves. I found La-Romance in Michelen guide and then contacted the owner via Internet. When we arrived in La Romance we found ourselves in a fairy-tale: a small charming house,surrounded by green and floweres, decorated with love and delicate taste. Corinne, the owner, is a natural part of this beauty and hospitality. Every corner of this home breathes her love and care. She helped us a lot in learning Alsace: provided with maps, booklets, advised what to see. We stayed in a very nice room ROSE, which is on the second floor, but when there were not so many guests she showed me other rooms, which were not occupied at that time. Every room has its own character, style and colour. My husband had to work sometimes (the house has an easy Wi-Fi access) and I spent the time in the garden or walked in the forest which is just behind the house.
If you are tired from big cities and noise, need to relax in a quite, nice place, if you are friendly nice people, I advise you to stay in this homelike atmosphere.
Thank you, Corinne!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ElenaV16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed one night in this B&B, we had room "Feuilles", other rooms (see the excellent website are Bleuet, Rose, Sapin, etc.). The location is splendid. We enjoyed a walk there. In the evening we bought a bottle of Pinot Gris from the fridge of the B&B, and enjoyed it relaxing in the garden. From the garden there is a small path into the nearby forest. From there we had a walk and passed a local restaurant "Hühnerstall", which was not gastronomic but very correct nevertheless, and exactly what we were looking for, because we did not want to spend more time in the car. Having followed the 'route du vins for several hours'.
Unfortunately we had a bad night in the B&B. The mattress in our room really had its best days behind it. And we woke up in the night with a stiff back and had lot's of trouble to get back to sleep. Everything else was fine. What a shame of the mattress.
We explained this to our hostess, Corinne, and she decided to reduce our roomrate, which we found correct. Luckily for her the problem is easy to fix by placing a new mattress and she will have a good quality room again.
I still find this place recommendable.
I think the success of La Romance is also due to its good website. It was full with Belgians like us who enjoyed the free day of the belgian national holldiay. There are other B&B's in this village, which may also be good, but for which I did not find any review. Other B&Bs in this village are "La Maison Fleurie", "La Maison Blue", "Les 3 Pierres".

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piet1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2008

We stayed 4 nights at this wonderful B &B. Corinne, our delightful hostess made us feel at home. She was always around to answer your questions and help out any way she can.

The room we had was not large but adequate, with a very comfortable bed. The bathroom, we had asked for a room with a shower, was very modern with beautiful tiles and high end fixtures. Nice soft fluffy towels.

The breakfast was excellent. Set out buffet style. Fresh breads, jams, cheeses, meats, hard boiled eggs, cereals, dried fruit, yogurts, juice and good coffee. Something for all tastes. While you were having breakfast, they went around and tidied up the rooms.

Corinne was very well equipped to give directions, mapping out points of interest to visit and giving all kinds of information from shopping in the area, to eating out , or even going for a day trip to Germany, as the border is only about 25 km away.

Their location is in between Strasbourg and Colmar. In a little village up in the mountains. It was about an 8 km. drive to the wine route and they are sort of at one end of the best part of the wine route. But it is not really too far .

We had dinner in a little village of Mittelbergsheim. The restaurant was called Gilg and the food and service were outstanding. Very professional. This was the best dinner in Alsace. Again, a recommendation from Corinne.

I think this is a great place to make as your base in Alsace and I would recommend it any time.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lizzypumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 153jeanluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
corinne1964, Responsable relations clients at La Romance, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016
1  Thank Evelne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Romance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Romance

Address: Rue Privee | 17, Route de Neuve Eglise, 67220 Dieffenbach-au-Val, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Dieffenbach-au-Val
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Dieffenbach-au-Val
Price Range: $122 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your La Romance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Romance Dieffenbach-Au-Val, France - Alsace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing