We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stapleton Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Stapleton Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

stop off here on your way to the west country, even if you don't really need to. Make it a part of your summer holiday. Stay here instead of at the wedding venue you are attending in the area, get here early, have a ploughmans and a pint for Saturday lunch, eat the fabulous food here, drink the glorious ales here, relax with the papers here, stay in room one here (the only room we have ever stayed in which actually is big, never mind described as such), enjoy the atmosphere here, order the full breakfast here. Come here without the kids, just for one night, and don't organise to do anything but lounge around here, except maybe using the wellies lined up at the foot of the stairs to have a yomp around the local lanes. just make sure you are back in the bar for around six to enjoy the laidback atmosphere and have a drink. I have never written a review on one of these sites before. Thanks Stapleton people, you are doing it right, hope you thrive.

Room Tip: room one for size and seating and sitting in the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    43
    9
    5
    1
See reviews for
26
81
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

My name is James and I am part of the Party Pioneers disco company based in south Wales. I visited the stapleton arms on August 18th as I was doing a children's party outdoors. My first impressions were positive as the atmosphere was great and the layout was comfortable. I decided to try some food in between the break at the party. I ordered a Fish and Chips both home-made. I must say it was the finest fish and chips I have ever had. They had a wide selection of drinks available from local breweries to better known brands. Since we were only there a few hours, we didn't require the use of the actual hotel but I expect it to be a very good standard. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. This is how a restaurant/hotel should be!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

This small hotel/public house is located in a quiet country village, Food was excellent - served by young, enthusiastic and helpful staff. Sunday lunch roast pork: it would be impossible to find better elsewhere. The accommodation has been beautifully restored - the four rooms had everything one could possibly want. A delightful, relaxing three day break made perfect by the " diamond in the crown " by the name of Sophie.

Room Tip: This depends upon whether you want a shower or a bath - our shower could blast away any cobwebs. Lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReginaldFluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed in Room 1 in March 2012 and found the pub, room and food to be welcoming, clean and generally excellent. It is certainly off the beaten track, so plan ahead if you are hoping to catch a taxi (we were off to a wedding) but we would certainly stay there again, for the stunning breakfast if nothing else!

Room Tip: Room 1 is large and clean but the bed a little soft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bath_Matt76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

I know this place so knew what to expect. We were not disappointed. Young, well mannered & knowledgeable staff were attentive & saw to our every need. I asked for a decent glass of white wine to finish the most succulent, well cooked burger I have ever had (sorry America!) & the young lady brought me a sample of what she would drink herself. 10 out of ten young "Soph" (the name on my receipt!) as she hit the target in the bulls eye. Outrageously expensive at £6:10 a glass but trust me, worth every penny, as was the meal. We are told that England was always "50 years behind the USA" & I would have agreed with at in my teens but this is undeniably a world class pub. There would be little point complaining on here about the price of the food as you can read the figures on the menu before you buy. Ales remain good value.Treat yourself in a stylish establishment. Simply fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xanthe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
442 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

We visited The Stapleton Arms for lunch today with our friends in a group of 7 including 3 teenagers. The location was in a lovely village. The atmosphere was very welcoming and the staff friendly. We ordered a main course from the menu, although there was good choice there was only one vegetarian option so I ended up with the beetroot salad, personally I would have preferred a cooked option. I enjoyed this but felt rather short changed that i could'nt enjoy a choice of food as did the rest of our party. The ploughmans were enjoyed by the teenagers but more bread would have been better. The roast dinners were cooked to perfection. I felt that although the food was good it was pricey. The sweet menu was good, again pricey with prices at £6. The waiters/waitresses were attentive and the food did'nt take long to arrive.
I would not visit again due to the lack of catering for vegetarians........

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahpWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

The Stapleton Arms has got lots going for it. A pretty village location, lovely rooms and great food. The staff were also friendly and laid-back. Unfortunately we experienced a few glitches with our room (s) during our 2-night visit. The management fixed all of these quickly and we guessed that these were down to bad luck and low staffing, especially after reading the other glowing reviews on Tripadvisor.

So despite our experience, I'd still recommend this to others, particularly the bar/restaurant. Even if you can't stay over, it's worth making a detour for the food alone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carson10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckhorn Weston
4.0 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Langton Arms
The Langton Arms
#1 of 1 in Tarrant Monkton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holbrook House Hotel
Holbrook House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wincanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hunters Lodge Inn
Hunters Lodge Inn
#1 of 8 in Wincanton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stapleton Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stapleton Arms

Property: The Stapleton Arms
Address: Stapleton Arms Church Hill | Buckhorn Weston, Buckhorn Weston SP8 5HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Buckhorn Weston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Buckhorn Weston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Stapleton Arms in Buckhorn Weston is a new style country pub with rooms situated on the Somerset / Dorset / Wiltshire border close to the A303, A30 between Shaftesbury and Sherborne. Close to Wincanton Races. The four individually furnished bedrooms offer supreme comfort with fantastic beds, Egyptian cotton linen and state of the art bathrooms. The menu which changes daily features great classic dishes all supporting our philosophy - quality food cooked with fresh local ingredients, sensibly priced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Stapleton Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stapleton Arms Hotel Buckhorn Weston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing