We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday”
Review of Club Hotel Zemda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Hotel Zemda
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Gumusluk
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed June 26, 2011

The hotel completely lived up to its website description and the four of us (myself, my husband and two daughters (18 and 20)) had an amazing time. Kayaking and swimming in the sea were great fun and Dermot (our watersports instructor) made learning to windsurf and sail a catamaran a highly enjoyable experience (especially the rendition of French and Irish songs as we sailed!). The hotel food was, generally, very good and we tried out several cafe/restaurants within a short stroll which were of good quality. The hotel bar was a perfect place to spend the early evening - played cards and pool. Despite a large party of students being there during part of our stay the head waiter, went to great efforts to make sure that we always had a table and the service was impeccable. The staff throughout were friendly and helpful - made the holiday a truly relaxing and enjoyable experience. Agnes and her husband run an amazing hotel and their care of their guests is outstanding. Thank you!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanetSyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agnesbMarmaris, Owner at Club Hotel Zemda, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
We are happy to hear that you are safely back home, after fully enjoying your holidays with us. We were also very pleased to have you here and meeting the family.
It is nice to know that you will remember Club Hotel Zemda with fond memories, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    18
    10
    4
    4
See reviews for
29
23
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Seclusion and magnificent setting at the end of the bay in Gumusluk on the Bodrum peninsula. easy reach of the town if you want nightlife, but the village itself is adorable, and the hotel is the best in town. Would definitely go back. Particularly good to learn water sports.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramsay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agnesbMarmaris, Owner at Club Hotel Zemda, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you are thinking of coming back (for water sports maybe ?).

Best wishes.

Agnes and Durmus.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

This could be a nice hotel were it not for sliding standards of maintenance and cleanliness. If they gave the place a good scrub and replaced some of the dirt-cheap furniture I would rate it higher.
Anyway, the location, at the southern end of the Gumusluk 'beach', is good. The 'beach' is nothing to write home about, but then we have not really seen a great beach in Turkey. Not their fault. Nice garden area adjacent to the beach with loungers and the good pool a bit further back. There is a children's pool as well.
Breakfast was basic and uninspiring. As so few people were staying we stayed away from their restaurant and walked along the beach to the main restaurants 'in town'.
Rooms, while spacious, were furnished with the cheapest stuff you can find. Small TV with BBC.
Particularly the bathroom could need with refitting, grimy tiles and shower wall plus some wooden decking that should be thrown out. The hair-dryer was hand-wired into the socket with some exposed copper wire, a definite safety hazard.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank twiggels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agnesbMarmaris, Owner at Club Hotel Zemda, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you for underlning the negative points of your stay : this helps us to improve.
We are sorry that you were disappointed about maintenance, cleanliness, and breakfast and apologize for it.
We do plan to invest in the bathrooms : we took this hotel over in 2009 and did a big restoration work since it had been empty two years. We also apologize for the hair-dryer.

About the beach, a truck brings 20 m3 of sand every year in May. At the end of the season, a lot of it is gone due to wind and passage.

Best regards.

Agnes Bayatti-Ozdemir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2010

This hotel is a gem. We stayed for nine nights. The rooms are fine, the service impeccable, and the facilities first class. It is rare to enjoy such tranquility...This is helped by the large garden areas...where you can stretch out undisturbed on the many sun loungers.

We swam off the private jetty and I had some private lessons on a Hobbycat catamaran. All good value and great fun.

Breakfast is fine. We ate out in the many local restaurants, just a short stroll along the seafront.

Gumusluk is like Turkey used to be 20 years ago. It has yet to be ruined by overt commercialism. Go now, and use this hotel.

NB: the staff are friendly, helpful and forever cleaning. The new French owners deserve to do really well - they run their operation like clockwork.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank TVhack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agnesbMarmaris, Owner at Club Hotel Zemda, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thank you very much. This is is exactly what we wish people to feel, as well as enjoying the beauty of Gumusluk !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

We stayed for a week at the end of August. The hotel is very well located at the end of Gumusluk bay - 5 mins walk from the middle of the village along the beach. Lovely views and incredible sunsets!

Our room was very basic and impersonal but immaculately clean. The beds were very comfortable (we like hard beds) and we slept well. Our daughter slept on a pull out bed that was also very comfortable and safe as the arms of the chair prevented her falling out of bed (which would be good for younger children). Good dark curtains too. We had a big terrace overlooking the sea which again was very safe for children as the wall was quite high. We also looked at one of the family rooms (for next time) which are huge and would sleep 5 in comfort (but no terrace). The bathroom was fine and very clean, however the shower tray seemed to fill up quickly and then overflow every time we showered. The room was cleaned daily without fail. The air con was very effective. In fact it was very cool in the evenings and we could have done without it if a fan had been available but they had none (might be worth investing in some as lots of people, myself included, would prefer not to sleep in aircon).

We were b&b only but ate at the hotel a couple of nights. The buffet was fine but the bar food left a lot to be desired (frozen calamari particularly awful). The restaurant by the pool where you ate dinner was a bit dismal - lit by a couple of overhead bulbs so you could hardly see what you were eating. Some fairy lights wound round the pillars and/or some candles or lanterns on the tables would remedy this. There are many nice little restaurants within 5 mins walk so this was not a problem. The Sysyphos pansiyon right next door was great - very fresh fish and lovely mezes.

The sailing school was great but we were a bit disappointed that the tennis coach had already left when we were told he would be there until the end of August. I can particularly recommend the massage - a lovely Austrian lady with a magic touch! Excellent pool (note - the big pool is 1.4 m all over so children can't stand in it) and a lovely grassy area leading down to the small beach with big squishy cushions and sunloungers on it. There is plenty of room for everyone, never any pressure on sunlounger space and lots of nice little shady bits to hang out it.

The service was fine - not many of the staff spoke English (and my Turkish is non-existent) so there was some entertaining miming going on. Some of them spoke French so we communicated this way too. The reception staff were particularly good.

All in all a very relaxing stay - we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CountessDrac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agnesbMarmaris, Owner at Club Hotel Zemda, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
And thank you so much for the nice things you said ! We will continue to do our best to always improve ... including offering great massages.

Kind regards.

Agnes Bayatti-Ozdemir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Hey everybody :)
I would like to tell you that this hotel is really really great !!!
You can do tennis, windsurf, kanoe/kayak, and more !!
The landscape is wonderful !!!
And all the team is very kind and very welcoming ;D !
I appreciated a lot my hollidays there and I advise you this hotel !
Bye and thank you again hotel zemda :)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starlette2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agnesbMarmaris, Owner at Club Hotel Zemda, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Thank you so much Starlette !
We tend to think it is never perfect though and we still have many ideas of how to improve it.
Hope to see you agian some time.

Agnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubagne, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Gumusluk bay is totally unique : beautiful, amazing sunsets ... One of those places not easy to describe !
The Hotel has a very charming architecture (small white blocks), a huge garden and a lovely private beach (with a Beach Restaurant for many people like me who didn't feel often like going elsewhere). The rooms are large and comfortable.
The Franco-Turkish couple who runs it immediately makes you feel at home. The staff is nice and friendly.
There is also a Sailing Club for those seeking for more active holidays (professional instructors and good equipment).
One has to experience this wonderful place. When leaving, the question you have in mind is : 'when will I be able to come next ?' ...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LesCalanques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
agnesbMarmaris, Owner at Club Hotel Zemda, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
Thank you for having taken the time to write this review.

And we are so happy that you like this place as much as we do ! We will always do our best to maintain and improve our Hotel in this incredible environment.

Kind regards.

Agnes and Durmus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gumusluk
0.3 mi away
Otel Gumusluk
Otel Gumusluk
#1 of 9 in Gumusluk
101 reviews
1.9 mi away
Arion Resort Hotel
Arion Resort Hotel
#2 of 9 in Gumusluk
31 reviews
2.0 mi away
Golden Age Crystal Bodrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
Yasmin Resort Bodrum
#4 of 53 in Turgutreis
1,274 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sundance Suites Hotel
Sundance Suites Hotel
#9 of 53 in Turgutreis
141 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
Sianji Wellbeing Resort
#6 of 53 in Turgutreis
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Hotel Zemda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Hotel Zemda

Property: Club Hotel Zemda
Address: Karakaya Mah. Cayiralti Mevki, Gumusluk 48970, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Bodrum > Gumusluk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Gumusluk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Hotel Zemda 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel and Sailing Club, with a private beach and a beach restaurant.3 star Hotel opened in 2009 by a Franco-Turkish couple.Large, comfortable (TV, tel, AC, mini-bar, hair-dryer ...) and elegant rooms, private beach and swimming-pools, restaurant, 2 bars, tennis court. Qualified and experienced instructors, European sport equipment for Windsurf and Sailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Club Hotel Zemda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing