We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home Cooking”
Review of Sogan-Sarmisak

Sogan-Sarmisak
Ranked #23 of 45 Restaurants in Gumusluk
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Ireland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Home Cooking”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

They promise home cooking and that is what you get. Different menu to the other restaurants on the beach - limited to a small number of dishes but all were quite delightful. Only complaint would be that the beach slopes a lot under the tables so it was a strain to stay upright unless you were facing the beach with the table in front.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelPrendiville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    13
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Food is average and everything else is below average. We have eaten at more expensive places in Bodrum but this one felt the worst at it had nothing to deserve the price tags. Menu does not have many options but the worst part is the service: we had to feed ourselves with bread for an hour before the mezes showed up. Definitely not recommended.

Helpful?
Thank ekursun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We spent the afternoon in Gumusluk and were told to spend the evening there as the view of the sunset is beautiful. We decided to have dinner at the onion-garlic Cafe and we had a lovely time! We ate by the beach facing the beautiful sunset. We had a couple of lovely starters and a main. But the best of all is the chocolate cake! We first ordered a slice to share but ended up having one each as it was so delicious. We really enjoyed the "home-made" feel to the place. It was absolutely lovely!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Sloppy restaurant with ordinary food”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Sogan Sarimsak was recommended by a famous food critic in Turkey so I thought that it was a safe bet for dinner but I couldn't be more wrong. The house/restaurant concept is interesting for a first few minutes. To glance at the raggedy scrapbook menu is no fun either. We had our fingers crossed that we were going to have great food to compensate for this mess. Unfortunately, that didn't happen for us. If you are tourist and you never had Turkish dishes at home, the food may be good enough. Being a local, I have better olive oil dishes at home. The bream cooked in sage leaves was nice. We wanted to end our meal on a sweet note with their daily homecooked fruit pie. The base of the pie was literally burned so we couldn't even enjoy our desert. The service in general was friendly but slow. This is quite a given when you consider the size of the kitchen as you can see when you go inside to pay the bill. Also, don't be fooled by the overall sloppiness of the restaurant, at 15 TL for the slimmest slice of pie in the world, it is not the cheapest.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Can A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

It is with a little regret that I write this review, I wanted to love it! We had booked for dinner prior to reading other reviews, then on the basis of its number 1 rating were really looking forward to it. I agree the food is very authentic, the starters being the stars though rather small. The menu was difficult to navigate and a couple of the mains not available. The food was good but the scale of the bill was rather shocking and we left feeling sadly " ripped off".

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank flossie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sogan-Sarmisak also viewed

 

Been to Sogan-Sarmisak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing