We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be careful with email bookings!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Refugio Misterios del Elqui
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pisco Elqui
Certificate of Excellence
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Be careful with email bookings!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

No one replied to my emails to book, and then when I rang to find out what was happening they said they were full! I suggest anyone who wants to stay there be wary of their email system, or lack thereof.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Londinense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    30
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I'm sure this must be the best in Elqui Valley! It was a delight, and so was the owner Jaime. Your backdrop is the stunning Elqui Valley mountains - almost too amazing to be real... and of course the vineyards. The rooms are simple, very tasteful and they all have some view of the pool (which doesn't feel like a tourist watering hole!). We're not usually pool languishers but something about the pool and it's green and rustic environment drew us each day and it was real down time and very peaceful.

You can have breakfasts in bed - a treat brought to your door by a warm and smiling courier - freshly made pancakes and fruits, excellent coffee, breads and jam. Oh, and freshly squeezed, real orange juice. Dinner is served in a gorgeous small dining room - open only from Wed to Sun, so sadly we missed the cooking which I imagine would be a good experience. We'll definitely be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Victoria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We went to Santiago to visit my daughter who is studying in Chile and decided to take a trip to La Serena. The map on Trip Advisor showed this place to be just on the outskirts of La Serena. We rented a car and headed East and soon realized this place was about 100 km from La Serena. We decided to just enjoy the Chilean countryside and finally arrived at Pisco Elqui. What a beautiful place it turned out to be !! The cabin was clean and breakfast was wonderful The night sky was stunning. There were so many stars and I had never seen the Milky Way that clear with naked eyes before We went horseback riding in Elqui valley and visited an observatory, highlight of the trip.

I only booked a room here because the map in TA was wrong. Good thing that I didn't know because this place was well worth the drive from La Serena. There is no Internet access in the cabin but you can sit in a very comfortable reception area with free WiFi access. But then again, the whole place is so peaceful that we just sat and relaxed, not caring about the internet access. The owner, Jaime, was always available ready and eager to help and went out of his way to arrange an observatory tour for us at the very last minute. If you are looking for a get-away in a quiet peaceful charming town, you can't go wrong here. We saw other cabanas in the area but none looked as nice as this place.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, california
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

It was very hard to find a clean hotel anywhere between Santiago to La Serena so finding this place was heavenly. It was clean, comfortable and very relaxing. There is internet access in the main areas just not in the cabanas. The views are spectacular. The night time sky is amazing. It was winter time and it we were traveling with a 2 year old. The room temperature were comfortable for us. The only drawback for us was that the kitchen was closed during our stay but breakfast was provided and it was good - dulce de leche panqueques! Overall a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Our cabana had a fully equipped kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Yvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Stayed here just one night (book ahead in high season!) and considered locking ourselves in to avoid leaving! Wonderful cabaña, private, breakfast delivered, amazing views from pool area and decks. Highly recommend Worth higher cost for a splurge.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petermv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

This was one of the highlights of our 2 week Chilean trip. The drive from La Serena was became more and more scenic as we headed up from the airport. A good place to stop for lunch is in Vicuna at Halley's.

The town of Elqui, narrowly stretched along about a mile of highway, is totally charming with many restaurants and pleasant walks.

Our cabana at Misterios was incredible. We had our choice of several, and took one about 3/4 of the way to the pool. The room was a high roofed adobe square, well shaded with a comfortable private patio for reading or relaxing. The breakfast discreetly brought to our room each day was exquisite full of fresh local fruits and other ingredients.

The pool was very pleasant, even in March. The main house, (an old colonial mansion) along the road above the cabanas contains a sitting area with satellite TV, a bar and a restaurant. Unfortunately the chef was on vacation the week of our stay, so we can't speak for the food, but the atmosphere, with an outdoor terrace, was beautiful.

Jaime, the owner, was friendly and ubiquitous, equally fluent in Spanish and English. He is an accomplished businessman, who escaped the city life in Santiago about 15 years ago. While there is no wireless internet, he graciously made his office computer available to guests upon request.

There is convenient parking in a gated lot by the main house. It is locked after 10PM or so., but can be opened for guests.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alrumbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2010

I just love it, breakfast awesome, the place wonderfull, nice swiming pool, awesome place to see stars :)

Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank AlfredoN4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pisco Elqui
2.0 mi away
Hotel Astronomico Elqui Domos
7.4 mi away
Casona distante
Casona distante
#8 of 42 in Coquimbo Region
63 reviews
51.4 mi away
Hostal Baquedano
Hostal Baquedano
#6 of 6 in Pisco Elqui
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Spa Cochiguaz
Spa Cochiguaz
#8 of 23 in Pisco Elqui
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostal El Milagro
Hostal El Milagro
#6 of 23 in Pisco Elqui
66 reviews
14.6 mi away
Terral Hotel & Spa
Terral Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Vicuna
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Misterios del Elqui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Misterios del Elqui

Property: Refugio Misterios del Elqui
Address: Arturo Prat S/N, Pisco Elqui, Chile
Location: Chile > Coquimbo Region > Pisco Elqui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pisco Elqui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Refugio Misterios del Elqui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing