We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lone Butte
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Red Willow Guest Ranch
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great vacation”
Reviewed February 1, 2011

When my daughter Caroline was 12 (6 years ago) she was taking riding lessons in Vancouver. So, we decided to spend a part of our summer holidays on a horse ranch in the interior of British Columbia. Through the internet we found the Red Willow Ranch, where we spend an absolutely marvelous vacation. Caroline was assigned a horse named Moni always for the whole day and she especially enjoyed the freedom of the western stile riding in contrast to her lessons on the paddock in Vancouver.
Since then we have been on the ranch many times and have developed a real friendship with the owners, the always friendly staff and other guests who we have met again and again over the the years.
It is really a great experience that we can recommend even for non-riders who can enjoy the great food, the long walks in a beautiful nature or can drive to other very interesting view points in the South Cariboo region, and all that for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheodorVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We have been going to RWR for 10 years now; have not missed a year and some years have visited twice. A horse is assigned to you for your entire visit and you get to groom and saddle that horse yourself. Help is available if you need it, but it is like having your own horse while you're there. The horses are very well taken care of and are happy animals. Hence they like being ridden. The site of the ranch is gorgeous and near some lovely lakes. The food is family style and all you can eat. We love the RWR, the horses and other animals and the people who run it. See for yourself. Plus it's a great deal; comparing it to other ranches for the price - you can't beat it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShastasMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 31, 2011

Our family has been going there for 7 or 8 years, it is our favorite place. Great people, great horses, nice trails, a wonderful place
Felix, Jamie and Fran

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelixBreden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed November 6, 2008

We wanted to experience a real life working ranch but still feel like we were on holiday. Red Willow Ranch lived up to all expectations, set in a beautiful location away from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Elke, Ulrike and Craig are great hosts who make you feel right at home. The accommodation is simple but very comfortable, our room looked straight out onto the paddock from where we could watch the horses. The home cooked food was delicious with the communal eating arrangements creating a great homely atmosphere. The log fire was the perfect setting to let your food go down and your mind relax.
The horse riding was great. My husband had ridden very little with little confidence around horses before our trip, but by the time we left he was both confident in the saddle and around the horses. We both had the opportunity to ride more than one horse but felt very lucky to spend most of our holiday on horses that suited us perfectly.
There is a great bar for in the evenings if you fancy a tipple or 2, again a great setting with comfortable seats and a wonderful log burner.
All in all a great trip. Highly recommended for anyone who wants the opportunity to explore Canada on horse back, on a homely and welcoming ranch.

  • Liked — Homely and comfortable
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petjia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisharris80
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2008

I don't normally write long reviews but as this will be the first review Red willow has had I feel compelled as I must say how brilliant this place really is!!

For our first trip to Canada my fiancee and I wanted to do as much as we possibly could in the three weeks we were over there. We thought a stay at a horse ranch would be good experience but nevertheless were a bit apprehensive having never done anything like it before.

We are not horse people - we've got virtually no experience! So wanted a place that would teach us the basics quickly and hopefully get us to a stage where we could really get into it - as we would only be staying two nights.

I got the impression when booking this would be the place. It certainly was.

On arrival we had lunch and were introduced to all the guides/staff and a few other guests. Everyone was very friendly.

We were then introduced to the horses and went on a 2 hour ride with Ulrike to get used to it. Ulrike was really patient with us, taking us through everything. We got on really well and got upto a canter in no time at all!

That evening Craig (Ulrikes husband) cooked an excellent Fish pie and we had the best apple pie!
Dinner (as well as breakfast and lunch) is a wonderful time. The place is run superbly and the atmosphere created by everyones positive attitudes really makes you feel at home in no time.
The reason is simple - everyone at RWR is treated equally, the staff have just as much fun as the paying guests - even when they're doing the washing up!
I have stayed at similar places that just don't cut it because they're not run in this way.

We then retired to the Saloon and the fun continued til late as we enjoyed a few beers with Ulrike and Craig and a couple of the other guests.

The following day (after an excellent breakfast) we went on a day ride - about 7 hours! We went with two other, more experienced, guests who again were very patient with us and didn't mind at all us tagging along. We went all through the woods, to a lake where we had a picnic. Then back through some really interesting landscapes - it really was brilliant.
We were constantly running with the horses and were getting really into it.

Just a note - if you are more experienced you just normally go off riding on your own - thats how most people do it I think - maybe next time!!

Dinner was delicious once more - and obviously back to the saloon for a couple of beers!

The following morning, despite being a bit sore, we were really depressed to be leaving. We still had over two weeks left in Canada but it was hard to a place as brilliant as this, even after only two nights.

To sum up..

At about £60 pppn for accommodation, full board and all your riding/tuition if needed it is totally incredible value. It isn't a luxury resort - saying that, the rooms/beds were huge and the food is great. If you're considering going to a ranch look no further than this.

Thank you so much Craig and Ulrike and everyone else who was at RWR when we were for making our holiday so brilliant.

  • Liked — The warm welcome and the riding
  • Disliked — nothing - all brilliant
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chrisharris80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Butte
12.3 mi away
Seawood Bed & Breakfast & Cabins
2.8 mi away
Attwood Creek Ranch
Attwood Creek Ranch
#1 of 6 in Lone Butte
4 reviews
6.1 mi away
Big Creek Lodge
Big Creek Lodge
#13 of 46 in Cariboo
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Beaver Guest Ranch
Beaver Guest Ranch
#1 of 9 in Lone Butte
33 reviews
12.8 mi away
Lac des Roches Resort
Lac des Roches Resort
#9 of 9 in Lone Butte
86 reviews
14.6 mi away
Cozy Guesthouse
Cozy Guesthouse
#4 of 6 in Lone Butte
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Willow Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Willow Guest Ranch

Property: Red Willow Guest Ranch
Address: 7511 Nasby Road, Lone Butte, British Columbia V0K 1X0, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Lone Butte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lone Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing