We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lac de Roches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lac des Roches Resort
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The web site for this place is a joke. It is so far from reality it is not funny. This would probably be the worst place we have stayed at. The "chalet" was a fisherman's cabin, the "en suite" consisted of a shower placed in the corner of the room which was not big enough to swing even a small sized cat in. The wash basin was actually in the room and had no place to put your soap or shaving gear. The curtains were previously used in the Ark. Need I go on...? Oh, yes, the Lake itself is gorgeous, no photo shopping needed there. The restaurant was a shambles service wise AND they charged us $20 to cork a bottle of $20 wine. The food is home cooked Italian and was quite good but this did not make up for the shambolic service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boardie234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Boardie,
thank you giving us a review on our resort.
We just found out about all the reviews on TripAdvisor and we are trying to reply to them a long time after the fact happened.
Your comment sounds like you might have had expectations that were too high.
We are well aware of that fact that we are not a five star resort and we do not try to sell it like that.
If you check our website you can get a great overview on the cabins with pictures and virtual tours to ensure yourself if that is what you are looking for. We put pictures and descriptions on the website and we do not try to mislead anybody
The wine we serve is worth more than $20 and it is sad to hear that you couldn't appreciate that.
If you would let us know why our service was “shambolic” we could improve that, but unfortunately you didn't let us know what we did wrong. All in all we think that your expectations are higher than what you can get for this price in this area. And most people are happy to spend their vacation in a “fisherman's cabin” on a beautiful lake.
We are sorry that you couldn't enjoy your stay. Thanks again, Laura & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Lac des Roches Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 92 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2012

Easy to reach on Hwy 24 with no gravel road to speak of in between, LDR Resort is a peaceful place to spend a few days or a few weeks.

Although by no means a 5-Star resort, one is also not charged 5-Star resort prices. This is your typical Cariboo lakeside resort, ranging between modern-rustic and country comfort with reasonable rates.

Set on a beautiful lake with superb fishing, the resort offers a boat launch, docks, boat rentals, playground, fire pits, picnic tables, volleyball nets and much more.

There are two distinct features that make this resort a great place to stay.

One is their fabulous restaurant with upscale Italian cuisine, served in their casual, yet elegant, dining room. For $39 one is served a superb 4-course meal. The only issue we had was with the quantity of food per course. It was so much per plate that we ended up requesting containers to take the leftovers back to the cabin; making for a 2-course lunch the next day. That is not a bad problem to have :)

The other is the owners, Luca and Laura. Friendly and very accommodating to any requests we had. They truly go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Heck, when we ran out of fuel for our own boat, Luca gave us 5 liters but refused payment for such!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite if you want a bit more space, a wood fireplace and a more set back, quieter loca...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Xenalook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Xenalook,
thank you for your wonderful comment.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
And it is very nice to hear that you liked our food.
Maybe we will see you again.
Laura & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stopped for capuccino and stayed the night for the food and the ambiance. Luca greeted us like family and was happy to chat while catering to other thirsty clients.

The evening meal was excellent; upscale but casual. We chatted with other tables around us and Laura created a warm and welcoming environment just as her husband Luca.

Our little log cabin was just what we needed after a week on the Bowron lakes, and we were sad to leave after just one night -- but at least we were well rested.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Eric,
thank you for taking the time to write a positive comment about your stay.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your meal and maybe we'll see you again.
Laura & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

A wonderful family environment, very beautiful, could use upgrading but fun was had by all! Service was good, when we needed something it was taken care of. Campers around us were friendly and the layout of the site was great if you have kids. They were within view of the dock from cabins #4,5 & 6.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mamafalco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear Mamafalco
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks again Laura & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

we had a wonderful time at Lac des Roches, spent a weekl there with just some of the girls in the family. Great dinner in the restaurant and in the rooms at the top we had our own private back yard and dock, the swimming was great. The owners were very helpful to us and made sure we had everything that we needed. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: cabins at the bottom are on the lake front and if you want privacy the rooms at the top by the resta...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay.
It is nice to read that you liked our food and your room.
We appreciate it and hope to see you again. Laura & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My wife and I were staying up at Bridge Lake in the middle of August 2012 with some friends. The Italian restaurant at the Lac Des Roches resort was recommended to us as a nice place to go for a lovely Italian dinner. We made reservations for a table with a view and were pleasantly suprised when we arrived. We were seated in a front corner with views in two directions of the lake and evening sunset. The owneres Luca & Laura were most hospitable. We were seated and our drink order was taken by Laura. Once the wine was served she proceeded to explain the menu. We chose the four course spread. Laura introduced us to a couple of nice locals at the next table. We all bantered back and forth for a good three hours. We haven't laughed so hard for years. The food was excellent, the company superb and the service was first class. The host and hostess - Luca & Laura showed us a very fun evening. I would not hesitate to recommend the restaurant to anyone. Don't expect hotdogs or hamburgers on the evening menu but you can expect a first class dinner. Sorry I can't comment on the accommodation but I can only think it will be a clean Cariboo style cabin.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainJim2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Dear CaptainJim,
thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on our restaurant.
We are very happy to read that you had such a good time and that you enjoyed not just our homemade food but also the atmosphere and service in our restaurant. Every year we go back to Italy and import two or three pallets of all the real ingredients like Parmigiano Reggiano, olive oil, balsamic, vinegar, coffee, pasta, flour, etc. to make it as close as home.
Thanks again Laura & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at this resort and were not satisfied. We booked a 4 night stay and left after one despite having to pay for the entire stay.

The website was very professionally done and is misleading in nature. The “Fully Modern Accommodations equipped with cold and hot running water and 3 piece washroom” lends one to believe an updated renovated room, however it is the contrary. There is a 3 piece washroom, but it should be described as washroom(s) as the shower and sink are located in the bedroom and the toilet in a small water closet in an adjoining room. The cleanliness of the room appears to be the responsibility of the previous renter as indicated on the rules of the cabin notice. The floors were unwashed, kitchen chairs made of fabric were heavily stained, dishes and utensils required washing prior to use and the presence of spider webs were in most corners. These cabins at best are “Rustic” and this word should be used on the web site giving a fair account of what to expect.

The cabin we rented was a triplex (not an individual cabin), little light as such due to the overhang, noise from the attached unit due to the common wall and no privacy outside as all 3 units share a long narrow covered deck. Not child friendly or even dog friendly as there is no grass around the cabins as shale completely surrounds the entire area to the waters’ edge. Ample parking is not readily available for all the residents of the cabins, there were only a few close spots. Distance from our cabin to the overflow parking area was a few hundred meters. No access by vehicle could be done to unload your belongings into the cabin and as such a 30 meter walk from the boat launch area to the cabin was necessary.

The resort is located at the end of the lake. If you plan on swimming this is not the place. Weeds, lily pads and reeds completely cover the first 10 meters of water around the entire resort. The only place to enter the water out of the natural vegetation is at the ends of the docks, but there are no ladders on any of the docks to exit the water. Also, highway 24 is directly across from the resort. Close enough that one can read the advertising on all the heavy truck traffic and the brand of travel trailers that continually passed by at all hours.

Rather than sticking it out at a resort that would rob us of our precious vacation time, we found a wonderful resort just down the road “Eagle Island Resort” that suited our needs. Included are a few pictures of the triplex cabins, docks and water taken this past week. You decide.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort.
We just found out about all the reviews on TripAdvisor that is why we didn't answer earlier.
We are sorry that the cabin did not meet your expectations. We do not try to mislead anybody on our website and you can see a lot of pictures and virtual tours of the cabins before you book. There you can also see whether the cabin you book is a triplex or self contained. On the resort map you have an overview on the units and the parking spots. We think it is better to walk a bit from the car to the cabin instead of having to look at cars standing right at the lake or even driving in front of you cabin. But these are all personal preferences. Beside the rules of the cabin notice where we just ask guests to leave the cabin clean/wash their dishes etc. our cleaning staff goes through every cabin and cleans it before new guests arrive. We are sorry that you couldn't enjoy your stay. Thanks again Laura & Luca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Butte
7.3 mi away
Wettstone Guest Ranch
Wettstone Guest Ranch
#3 of 9 in Bridge Lake
8 reviews
8.6 mi away
Seawood Bed & Breakfast & Cabins
2.9 mi away
Cottonwood Bay Resort
Cottonwood Bay Resort
#9 of 9 in Bridge Lake
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Big Creek Lodge
Big Creek Lodge
#16 of 51 in Cariboo
43 reviews
22.9 mi away
Attwood Creek Ranch
Attwood Creek Ranch
#1 of 6 in Lone Butte
5 reviews
12.2 mi away
Beaver Guest Ranch
Beaver Guest Ranch
#2 of 9 in Lone Butte
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lac des Roches Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lac des Roches Resort

Address: 8428 24 Hwy, Lone Butte, British Columbia V0K 1X2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Lone Butte
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lone Butte
Price Range: $79 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lac des Roches Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is accessible year round directly off of "The Fishing Highway 24", nestled within the heart of our "Beautiful BC" wilderness. Lac Des Roches Resort hosts and boasts the most activities and adventures in the area, with a view of the most photographed lake in British Columbia. Choose from a variety of our fully modern accommodations; whether one of our suites or a cozy lakefront log cabin, there will be nothing between you and the lake except your personal picnic table and bonfire pit. All units come equipped with hot and cold running water, electricity, 3 piece washroom with shower, bedding , towels, kitchen and cooking utensils at no extra charge. We are Pet Friendly. Situated on 47 acres and surrounded by crown land's finest forests, we have 6 campsites and 12 accommodation units; ample enough room to accommodate both large and small groups while maintaining a relaxed and comfortable environment/atmophere/ experience. Ideal for a family vacation and reunions, activities include: sand volleyball; badminton; bocce ball court; swimming; hiking; horseback riding and much more inlcuding a childrens' playground. Lac Des Roches is well known for its trophy Gerrard Rainbows up to 19 pounds and for its big burbots ( freshwater cod ); ice-fishing enthusiats can easily catch in the winter. Anglers from all over the world come to Lac Des Roches to enjoy fly fishing : massive mayfly and caddice ( Sedge ) hatchings make Lac Des Roches a paradise for fly fishermen. With over 100 pristine lakes within an hour's drive of Lac Des Roches, our resort houses a multitude of fish: rainbow trout; brook trout; kokanee; lake trout; making Lac Des Roches Resort the ideal fly-fishing and ice fishing destination. Our true Italian restaurant combines southern European hospitality with our expert northern Italian chefs. All our entrees are prepared fresh daily on the premises(repetitious). Internet WIFI available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Lac des Roches Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lac Des Roches Hotel Lone Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing