We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Skip it don't Risk it - Not as Described” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lac des Roches Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Lac des Roches Resort
Prince George, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Skip it don't Risk it - Not as Described”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at this resort and were not satisfied. We booked a 4 night stay and left after one despite having to pay for the entire stay.

The website was very professionally done and is misleading in nature. The “Fully Modern Accommodations equipped with cold and hot running water and 3 piece washroom” lends one to believe an updated renovated room, however it is the contrary. There is a 3 piece washroom, but it should be described as washroom(s) as the shower and sink are located in the bedroom and the toilet in a small water closet in an adjoining room. The cleanliness of the room appears to be the responsibility of the previous renter as indicated on the rules of the cabin notice. The floors were unwashed, kitchen chairs made of fabric were heavily stained, dishes and utensils required washing prior to use and the presence of spider webs were in most corners. These cabins at best are “Rustic” and this word should be used on the web site giving a fair account of what to expect.

The cabin we rented was a triplex (not an individual cabin), little light as such due to the overhang, noise from the attached unit due to the common wall and no privacy outside as all 3 units share a long narrow covered deck. Not child friendly or even dog friendly as there is no grass around the cabins as shale completely surrounds the entire area to the waters’ edge. Ample parking is not readily available for all the residents of the cabins, there were only a few close spots. Distance from our cabin to the overflow parking area was a few hundred meters. No access by vehicle could be done to unload your belongings into the cabin and as such a 30 meter walk from the boat launch area to the cabin was necessary.

The resort is located at the end of the lake. If you plan on swimming this is not the place. Weeds, lily pads and reeds completely cover the first 10 meters of water around the entire resort. The only place to enter the water out of the natural vegetation is at the ends of the docks, but there are no ladders on any of the docks to exit the water. Also, highway 24 is directly across from the resort. Close enough that one can read the advertising on all the heavy truck traffic and the brand of travel trailers that continually passed by at all hours.

Rather than sticking it out at a resort that would rob us of our precious vacation time, we found a wonderful resort just down the road “Eagle Island Resort” that suited our needs. Included are a few pictures of the triplex cabins, docks and water taken this past week. You decide.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort.
We just found out about all the reviews on TripAdvisor that is why we didn't answer earlier.
We are sorry that the cabin did not meet your expectations. We do not try to mislead anybody on our website and you can see a lot of pictures and virtual tours of the cabins before you book. There you can also see whether the cabin you book is a triplex or self contained. On the resort map you have an overview on the units and the parking spots. We think it is better to walk a bit from the car to the cabin instead of having to look at cars standing right at the lake or even driving in front of you cabin. But these are all personal preferences. Beside the rules of the cabin notice where we just ask guests to leave the cabin clean/wash their dishes etc. our cleaning staff goes through every cabin and cleans it before new guests arrive. We are sorry that you couldn't enjoy your stay. Thanks again Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    10
    12
    21
See reviews for
30
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I feel compelled to write a review after returning from this resort, and reading the mixed reviews.

The GOOD: nice lake, affordable lakeside cabins (typical rustic cariboo cabin, with very little tlc), boat launch with dock, dog friendly.

The BAD: entire lake shore is covered with road-base gravel (except area in front of "chalet"). Our dog had cut pads by day one, and had to lay on the picnic tables to be with us outside. Pricey food. We didn't eat there due to $40/person + drinks, tax and tip. I think they could do much better business if they served/priced better to their market. The noise from traffic on the highway is disturbing - it's very close and directly across the water from the lakeside accommodations.

The UGLY: Owners are purposefully misleading about their accommodation. The "cabins" listed on their site are NOT cabins, they are triplexes (the word used to accurately describe them by the owners...AFTER we showed up to check in). I had sent 2 emails asking for clarification on this after I booked, and never received a response - shame shame.

Overall, a good spot in comparison to others in the area...less crowded. My rating is based mostly on the integrity of the resort owners. I understand businesses not wanting to point out their deficiencies, but my experience was a clear case of lying by omission, and I believe their website is misleading.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank x x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your comment and as we just found out about all the reviews on tripadvisor we apologize for the late answer.
Thank you for pointing out the things you liked about our place.
We are sorry that your dog cut his pads that never happen before that is why we weren't aware of this problem.
Unfortunately we can not change anything about the highway being so close to the resort, but we think it is a plus that guests do not need to drive a long gravel road to get here and you can still enjoy the beautiful lake.
We deeply apologize if you did not get an answer to your email asking about the cabins that is why we are happy to receive reviews like that to make sure that something like that never happens again. It also says on our website if the cabin you book is a log unit or self contained. We hope that this helps that people do not come with wrong expectations and we hope you could enjoy your stay anyway. Laura &Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

After booking the Chalet and then coming across the reviews here I was really worried. But having had stayed at all kinds of fishing resorts I decided to just make the best of it.
Overall I was pleasantly surprised. The Chalet was not rustic as some people described and was comfortable and practical. It's not a 5 star accommodation but it is a fishing resort and it suited us well.
The first night Lucca gave us all sorts of tips and was very friendly. We also ate at the restaurant to test out the 4 course menu whom some other patrons we met there recommended for us to try. People who say it's expensive either don't know what they are talking about are used to eating pasta at white spot or ihop. It's reasonably priced for providing really amazing food by the way, fresh hand made with many ingredients from Italy. They don't just go to costco and pick up some cheap olive oil, regular parmasan etc. We appreciate this as we have been to Italy before.
We definitely enjoyed the beauful lake, the fishing, hikes, wildlife, the friendliness and help from the owners and especially the pasta.
I'm not normally a write a review type of person but I felt I wanted to let people know of my experience and not miss out because of some negative ones on here.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1sttimereviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay at our resort.
We are happy to see that you care about letting other people know that you enjoyed your stay and that you were pleased with the cabin, the food and the service. It is always great to read that people appreciate the quality of the food we offer. Maybe your comment will help other people with their expectations. Thanks again Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Nice Cabins, Great Hosts, Excellent Food and Fishing.
Despite the cold temperatures we spent two beautiful weeks, Excellent Ice Fishing For Burbot ( Freshwater cod ), but we caught just a few rainbows. The italian resturant and the food was good : it felt like home, 10,000 km away from Italy. We enjoyed X-country skiing and we skated on the lake : brrrr very cold.
The cabins are cozy and nice : don't expect a 5 star hotel, but you have everything you need for a winter vacation.
Our Kids had lots of fun tobogganing and skating on the lake, and tried a freedom we can just dream of in Italy.
We hope to be able to come back in the summer to try some fly fishing and catch the big rainbows.
Grazie Luca and Laura, speriamo di vederci presto!
Isabella, Cristiano, Ginevra,Benedetta e Alberto
[--]

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank isabella p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Isabella, thank you for taking the time to write this great review. It is nice to read, that you had such a good time at our resort and your comment shows that you can also have a really nice vacation during the winter. We look forward to see you again. Grazie mille Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

just spent 7 wonderful days at the Lac Des Roches Resort. The owners Luca and Laura were very friendly and helpful. All of the meals were excellent! (You'll leave the dinner table full and happy) The location was beautiful with plenty of activities to keep you busy during your stay. If you do stay there and can honestly say you did not enjoy your time, you're probably a yuppie who should stay away from remote resorts run by friendly folks. I left the resort feeling like part of Luca and Laura's family.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackdani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comment.
We appreciate it a lot that you let others know how much you enjoyed your stay.
And we are flattered how you stand up for us.
Thanks again, Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelowna
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

the Cariboo is a wonderful area and Lac des Roches Resort reflects the beauty of the scenery and the people who live there. Lucca and Laura are wonderful hosts who truly go above and beyond....My daughter and I stayed in a 2 bdrm cabin right on the lake with a great view and sounds of the wildlife...including the cry of the Loon in the evening. The cabin was cozy, clean and well equipped. Lots of hot water, warm and quiet...what else can a person ask for. And the food is 5 star...you would not eat better in Whistler, for sure! Not a fancy or luxury resort but then it is rustic country, and that's the charm. Thank you Lucca and Laura for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauragrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you very much for leaving us such a great comment. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in the cabin and our food and we appreciate it that you take the time to let others know about it. Thanks again Laura & Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

I thought despite all the bad reviews I would form my own opinion and stay at Lac Des Roche. I should have listened to all the reviews! The hosts were very snotty and stand offish, the food was a rip off and we were given a $100 bill for two pasta dishes, two desserts and an appetizer. The fridge in our room didn't work, the shower door was taped together and was falling off/apart, the door to the cabin didn't close or lock and was 1/4" open and only stayed closed when u locked the handle. The bed had about 20 springs coming up throughout the entire thing it creaked and everytime one person moved the other person would roll into the middle and when we woke up (after only sleeping 2 hours the entire night) our entire bodies hurt SO badly from head to toe!! The water stinks and is not only not drinkable but it smelled so vad i didnt even want to use it to wash my face. There was no privacy in the back where the fire pit is and when we decided to only stay the one night because of the horrible sleep they were very rude and seemed put out. We couldn't get out of there quick enough and we would never go back! They should advertise as ghetto rustic cabins!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Harveybrewster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LacDesRochesResort, Owner at Lac des Roches Resort, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Thank you for your comment and as we just found out about all the reviews on TripAdvisor we apologize for the late answer.
If something wasn't working properly of you had problems with the door we would have been happy to help you and fix it.
We can not mention often enough how important it is that guests let us know as soon as something isn't working so that we have the chance to help and make your stay better.
With the prices in our restaurant we do not want to rip people off, we simply think that our food is worth it, as it is rare to find good homemade Italian food in this area. We also just have to cover our own costs and as we do not just buy the cheapest pasta the price stands for the quality. Also all our desserts are homemade with the best ingredients.
We can not do anything about the fact that you didn't like the water, we put up notes which say that you can not drink the water without boiling it first.
Our water has been and still is filtered and UV’d as legally required until Dec 2010 to be legally drinkable. Since Jan 2011 the law changed and unfortunately 1 micron filtration is not considered “disinfectant” any longer. That leaves us with the only option to UV and add “chlorine” to the water, and while the system is set in place to hang the boil water notice. Now our water is regularly tested and approved for drinking if we were “residential” but not for “commercial” use for the above mentioned new law, which stated a “process” without considering the goodness of the final product. My personal background of mineral water producer leads me to believe that chlorine is no good for our health and no better than filtration (at 0.5 micron), which is an opinion sustained by many scientists around the globe.
Installing a chlorination system on commercial lakefronts involves the approval of a lakefront new septic system and we have 5 which takes huge investments (affordable for some operations) and infinite applications and processes which we are trying to put through.
I hope this explains the nature of the problem.
It is sad to hear that you couldn't enjoy your stay because of facts like that.
Thanks again Luca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lone Butte
1.5 mi away
Seawood Bed & Breakfast & Cabins
7.8 mi away
Beaver Guest Ranch
Beaver Guest Ranch
#1 of 9 in Lone Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
16.1 mi away
Big Creek Lodge
Big Creek Lodge
#16 of 47 in Cariboo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Ponderosa Resort
Ponderosa Resort
#2 of 2 in Canim Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
8.2 mi away
Cozy Guesthouse
Cozy Guesthouse
#6 of 7 in Lone Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lac des Roches Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lac des Roches Resort

Property: Lac des Roches Resort
Address: 8428 24 Hwy, Lone Butte, British Columbia V0K 1X2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Cariboo > Lone Butte
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Lone Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lac des Roches Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our resort is accessible year round directly off of "The Fishing Highway 24", nestled within the heart of our "Beautiful BC" wilderness. Lac Des Roches Resort hosts and boasts the most activities and adventures in the area, with a view of the most photographed lake in British Columbia. Choose from a variety of our fully modern accommodations; whether one of our suites or a cozy lakefront log cabin, there will be nothing between you and the lake except your personal picnic table and bonfire pit. All units come equipped with hot and cold running water, electricity, 3 piece washroom with shower, bedding , towels, kitchen and cooking utensils at no extra charge. We are Pet Friendly. Situated on 47 acres and surrounded by crown land's finest forests, we have 6 campsites and 12 accommodation units; ample enough room to accommodate both large and small groups while maintaining a relaxed and comfortable environment/atmophere/ experience. Ideal for a family vacation and reunions, activities include: sand volleyball; badminton; bocce ball court; swimming; hiking; horseback riding and much more inlcuding a childrens' playground. Lac Des Roches is well known for its trophy Gerrard Rainbows up to 19 pounds and for its big burbots ( freshwater cod ); ice-fishing enthusiats can easily catch in the winter. Anglers from all over the world come to Lac Des Roches to enjoy fly fishing : massive mayfly and caddice ( Sedge ) hatchings make Lac Des Roches a paradise for fly fishermen. With over 100 pristine lakes within an hour's drive of Lac Des Roches, our resort houses a multitude of fish: rainbow trout; brook trout; kokanee; lake trout; making Lac Des Roches Resort the ideal fly-fishing and ice fishing destination. Our true Italian restaurant combines southern European hospitality with our expert northern Italian chefs. All our entrees are prepared fresh daily on the premises(repetitious). Internet WIFI available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Lac des Roches Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lac Des Roches Hotel Lone Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing