We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most perfect hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castel Provence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ver-sur-Mer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Castel Provence
Save
You added Castel Provence to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 3 Ver-sur-Mer B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
“the most perfect hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Josette and Jean Pierre are the most perfect hosts. From the moment we arrived (wine and cheese and chocolates!) to our final breakfast of freshly baked casserole and homemade jams and marmalades, we felt as though we were visiting the home of friends. I highly recommend Castel Provence for a long weekend in Normandy. The location is perfect for visiting the Normandy beaches and museums and Mont St. Michel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
37
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed at Castel Provence while in Normandy during a two week tour of France. It was far and away the highlight of our trip. Josette and Jean-Pierre, the proprietors, were exceptionally warm and lovely people. They advised us on our day trips around Normandy, suggesting the best times to visit certain sites, directing us to the most interesting ones and the most convenient parking lots, and helping to ensure that we made the best of our time. They helped us with restaurant reservations, and made our inability to speak French far less of an obstacle than it otherwise would have been. Immediately on our arrival, they invited us to share an apertif and some local delicacies. We shared stories and learned much about the history and culture of Ver sur Mer, Provence, and all of France. Each morning they served us elaborate and delicious breakfasts with local specialties and Josette's own outstanding jams. Their home is beautiful and the guest rooms immaculate, with all modern conveniences. When we had an incident with our passports at the end of our stay, Josette and Jean-Pierre went far out of their way to help us. All in all, I cannot recommend Castel Provence more highly. It is a truly beautiful place.

Thank you Josette and Jean-Pierre. We hope to see you again soon.

Michael and Jessica (from New York)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We were traveling with our 13 year old granddaughter, and had the garden suite. It was perfect for the three of us. The hosts made us feel part of their family. Both nights, we had picnic suppers out on their beautiful lawn. It's such a quiet, peaceful place. Thank you, Josette and Jean Pierre!
Grant, Louise & Vanessa
BC Canada

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weez1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I agree with the previous "excellent" reviews to which I'll add my confirmation that:
1) Josette and Jean Pierre are wonderful hosts -- generous with their time, expertise and maps!
2) Josette's kitchen is a wonderful place -- full of good food and conversation.
3) The upstairs bedroom and bath are lovely. And the park with its gorgeous trees is heaven.
4) The area is a fascinating mixture of bucolic beauty and history.
Thank you Jean Pierre and Josette!
A bientot!

Room Tip: Garden room nice but upstairs room much more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaston1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

A charming property in large well maintained grounds tucked away in a quiet location. The French owners were very hospitable and extremely helpful with tourist advice. We stayed in the Garden Room with an en-suite (containing large shower cubicle) and small kitchen area with tea/ coffee making facilities, cooker and fridge. Tin of lovely biscuits a nice touch and there were a few basic items in the fridge e.g. water. Small writing desk handy. Very enjoyable typical French breakfast including freshly squeezed oranges and fresh strawberries/ fruit salad.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveFWaltononThames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Castel Provence is one of the great discoveries of B&B accommodation. Josette and Jean Pierre gave us a very warm welcome to their home. We stayed in the upstairs room which was comfortable , clean and very quiet. We particularly enjoyed having breakfast with Josette and Jean Pierre in the delightful kitchen which overlooks the garden. We felt we sampled a little of french life. It was a perfect base for seeing the coast and all D-Day landings. Josette was completely dedicated to making our stay a very happy one. Jean Pierre treated us to some apple brandy ( Calvados) which is a local product. It proved to be a good night cap !! We strongly recommend this B&B. You will find no better.

Room Tip: Book early - it is popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2011

What a wonderful stay we had at Castel Provence. The home itself is so full of history and Josette & Jean-Pierre are wonderful hosts. Jean-Pierre has wonderful stories to tell about the home and Josette is a wonderful cook.

We had the had the upstairs bedroom which was very comfortable and large. The view from the windows are wonderful over the garden.

Would recommend this B&B to all my friends and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waljul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ver-sur-Mer
3.3 mi away
La Cremaillere
La Cremaillere
#1 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ferme de la Ranconniere
18.8 mi away
Le Grand Hotel Cabourg - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel de Paris
Hotel de Paris
#2 of 2 in Courseulles-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
4.3 mi away
Le Mulberry
Le Mulberry
#2 of 5 in Arromanches-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Jardin d'Eden
Le Jardin d'Eden
#3 of 3 in Ver-sur-Mer
4.0 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castel Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castel Provence

Property: Castel Provence
Address: 7 rue de la Liberation, 14114 Ver-sur-Mer, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Calvados > Ver-sur-Mer
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ver-sur-Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 18th century manorhouse, situated in a park full of trees and flowers.Pleasant and comfortable 2 rooms.Delicious breakfasts with more types of homemade jam to choose.Internet in the rooms.Private car park ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Castel Provence Ver-Sur-Mer, France - Normandy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing