We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in an amazing setting.”
Review of Hotel La Comarca

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel La Comarca
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Purmamarca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Room was ok, in the style of modern real estate development, but the setting is surreal--absolutely gorgeous. Pleasant restaurant and very nice staff.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dallas-Voyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
There are newer reviews for Hotel La Comarca
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 409 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2011

Stayed two nights in La Comarca. When we drove into the complex we were delighted. The grounds were very attractive and the complex looked charming. The general area TV lounge area was connected to an attractive outdoor swimming pool. The common areas were decorated in excellent taste. Had a real nice look.

The room was average to below average. It was large (separate Bed room) and clean. Had tiled floors. Everything worked, but it had the look and feel of a no- tell motel. A real contrast from the common areas. Just had poor lighting, drab furniture and had places that needed painting.

A continental breakfast was provided in La Comara's restaurant. The selection was excellent with yogurt, pastries, cheese, ham and juices. The breakfast and surroundings were very pleasant.

Location was good. A short 3 minute drive to Pumamarca (we drove at night because it was so dark along the highway but the walk during the day was easy).

Be sure to bring a copy of your confirmation with you. We were quoted a rate lower than the amount charged at checkout. It seemed to confuse the desk clerk but when I showed him the confirmation he honored it without question.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rtw5292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2011

Setting is excellent. Rooms are of a relatively low standard no AC. Breakfast looked exceptional but unfortunately it was not that fresh and flies were swarming all over the breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed at the house with our three young children. The hotel is very comfortable and clean. The restaurant has excellent cuisine. It is five minutes away by foot from beautiful Purmamarca. Atention: No TV in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sariano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

The houses and rooms that make up this mini resort look very pretty from the outside, but certainly the rooms are nothing special on the inside - you could be in a travelodge (albeith with a balcony and better view)! The bed was also on the small side and my feet stuck out of the bottom!

On the positive side the outdoor pool was heated (which seems to be something of a rarity in Argentina) and the free wi-fi worked well in the lobby, although not in the rooms.

Breakfast was of a good quality - didn't eat in the restaurant but the menu looked good if a little expensive.

Once you've walked around the spectacular coloured rocks there's not a right lot to do in Purmamarca. We only had one night in this part of Argentina and it wasn't really worth the drive for this length of time - the area probably merits a longer stay to see the other towns.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NPUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

There are three types of rooms here: houses (for 5-8 people), cabanas (2-4 people) and standard rooms (2 people).

We stayed in a cabana (#104), and it was very roomy. It had a living room area with two couches (that doubled as beds), kitchenette area, bedroom and bath. The kitchenette had a built-in counter with two chairs. There is a mini-fridge and microwave oven. The calefon (which is a mechanism that controls the hot water in the unit) is located in the kitchenette area. It's fairly easy to light. The bedroom itself was comfortable.

Each cabana has a terrace in the back of the unit. In the evenings, the owner of the farm next to the hotel lets his five cows feed in the grassy area just outside of the terraces. The terraces are set up higher than the ground, and there is considerable brush, so the cows never get too close, but just close enough for you to enjoy the view.

Reception and the restaurant are located near the entrance of the hotel. The hotel rooms, pool, computers with internet are all located in another building. There is free wifi, but the signal is strong only in reception and in the building with the rooms. There is a nice lobby area in the building with the rooms for you to sit in and enjoy the wifi and flat screen television (no guest rooms in the hotel contain TVs).

There was a free continental breakfast in the mornings: bread, cakes, muffins, biscuits, croissants, ham, cheese, fresh squeezed juice, coffee, tea, milk, cereal, and alfajores(!!). A nice spread for a continental breakfast.

While the location of the hotel was not in the "downtown" area of Purmamarca, it is a quick 5 minute walk to the area. Just close enough without getting all of the dirt and dust of the streets. It was a great location.

There is a pool, a spa with Scottish showers and a gym, but we didn't try those services. We checked out the gym, but it was only a universal machine and an exercise bicycle.

The staff was very nice and friendly and went out of their way to help. It would be wise when traveling to this part of Argentina to know a bit of Spanish. It may get a little difficult to communicate to people without it.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vth888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2010

I personally think a 4- or 5-star rating for this hotel is misleading. It is a simple, unpretentious place. May of the facilities aim higher than they achieve. For example, the pool area looks charming but the pump is very noisy. It claims to offer wifi, but we did not get a connection unless we were sitting in the reception lobby. Hot water frequently cut out mid-shower, or after one shower so the second person got only cold water. (They did immediately try to rectify this, but the on-demand boiler in our cabin had a dodgy pilot light.) Water collected around the tiny hand basin with nowhere to drain away. In our cabin the decor was beginning to get tired, and black-out curtains had many large holes in them. The patio, while spacious and overlooking fields and hills, was slightly spoilt by the smell of kerosene (or something similar) in an adjacent store room.

Apart from these quibbles, however, it is a good place to stay while in the Purmamarca area, conveniently located, with well-tended grounds and more or less everything you need. Unlike others, we found the restaurant staff friendly and helpful, and enjoyed the very reasonably priced food and good selection of wine.

We were pleased to be in a cabin away from the road, and I would recommend requesting this as others are literally alongside the main route to the Chile border.

We caught the morning bus from Purmamarca to San Pedro de Atacama and were able to leave our hire car in the car park of the hotel to be collected by Budget later. The hotel reception were very helpful about this, and also drove us and our bags the few hundred yards to the bus stop. (If you can possibly do this bus trip it is absolutely sensational...)

  • Stayed: April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An173dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Purmamarca hotels
0.3 mi away
Colores de Purmamarca
Colores de Purmamarca
#1 of 10 in Purmamarca
290 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mirador del Virrey, Cabanas Boutique
0.4 mi away
Marques de Tojo
Marques de Tojo
#3 of 10 in Purmamarca
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
El Manantial del Silencio
El Manantial del Silencio
#5 of 10 in Purmamarca
361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Huaira Huasi
Huaira Huasi
#2 of 10 in Purmamarca
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa de Adobe
Casa de Adobe
#7 of 10 in Purmamarca
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Comarca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Comarca

Address: Ruta 52 Km. 3.8, Purmamarca 4618, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Northern Argentina > Province of Jujuy > Purmamarca
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Purmamarca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Purmamarca
Price Range: $142 - $333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel La Comarca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hotel La Comarca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Comarca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing