We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A rose-scented paradise with the kindest of hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chambres d'Hotes Secret Pyrenees
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A rose-scented paradise with the kindest of hosts”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed at Maison Rancesamy for the start of our honeymoon in July 2004. Arriving tired from an early flight we drove through stunning scenery and arrived bewildered in a paradise of roses, tranquillity, lush gardens, the most interesting and warm of host and hostess. The accommodation was faultless and the overall atmosphere so relaxing. Unlike other chambre d'hotes we've used, everything in the rooms was charming, quite quaint yet still practical. The beds (with vintage linen) feel as if the owners have actually tested them for comfort themselves and want their guests to have a wonderful sleep...like my Polish Grandma would make if we were coming to stay (this is a major compliment!). Lovely conversation over delicious dinner (with 3 languages being spoken). Our days passed in a haze of sunny breakfasts, swimming, a game of table tennis, siesta then dining outside until nightfall with the smell of the wonderful flowers. The perfect start to our honeymoon - no where else was as good afterwards.
We have dreamed of returning and made another visit in September 2012, for just one night accompanied by our 4 year old daughter. She fell in love with the place too and with Simon in particular who was very kind to her. Everything lived up to our very high standards, weather was lovely and we enjoyed another wonderful meal with gorgeous food and really fun company. Maison Rancesamy seems to attract like-minded people so although we were all very different, all different ages and backgrounds, it felt like an evening spent with friends.
I can't recommend it highly enough. Please go and enjoy every minute and pass our best wishes to Isabelle and Simon, the kindest of hosts.

Room Tip: Both rooms we used were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oak Brook, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place was perfect. Simon is very charming and friendly with great conversation about his experiences all over the world. Isabelle is warm and her table d'hote was delicious as she uses items right from her garden. Our was everything and more. The bathroom was spacious. The grounds were magnificent and the view from the pool seemed to go right off in the Pyrenees. We absolutely recommend this place. We have already talked about when to go back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Most travellers have been to places where they say "it was ok". "ok" doesn't exist in Simon and Isabelle's universe. The Brownes have taken B&B a step further and you feel it's about passion. We found Isabelle and Simon reassuringly consistent with their high quality offering. This place doesn't like to say "no". It's not that we made many or ridiculous requests, but, at every point, everyone went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. Every day Simon spent much time planning the best bike tour for us, the best rafting, spectacular hiking trips and booking restaurants. Many times we have stayed 2-3 days in B&B places like this. However, this time we stayed 7 days and every day we praised ourselves for this decision. As we checked in, a couple of hours early, the house help greeted us with a big welcome and apologized that Mr and Mrs Browne were having their siesta. This is countryside France and EVERYTHING closes from 12.30 to 2.30. You almost expect traffic lights to be switched during this period. The location is perfect if you like rural peace with fields around you. Nearby, Lasseube is a very small town surrounded by beautiful rolling hills. One restaurant, two bars and one small grocery shop. You stay here to relax and forget the big city. Our room was spacious, very comfortable and well-maintained during our stay. The swimming pool was our oasis, in an excellent setting. If anyone knows better breakfast then please advise me, not spectacular luxury but a lot of homemade touch to it. Every day a new little extra. Isabelle was always preparing something in the background, freshly baked crepes, cakes or jams. Simon and Isabelle make everyone feel special and Simon was soon nicknamed "ask Simon" by my wife as he had an answer to every question and always got the chatting going. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2012

A very nice located B&B with a nice pool. Big clean room with a nice wiev of the Pyreenes. Simon is very helpful and nice person. His wife is the contrary, she refused us to borrow a pan to cook some pasta when returning late to the B&B after a long day of hiking in the Pyreenes. The village restaurant was closed at this time! Not so nice done if you want your guests to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Per N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isabelleroz, Propriétaire at Chambres d'Hotes Secret Pyrenees, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Sir/Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to write re our BB.

I can perfectly well undersand you point of view but I think there has been a misunderstanding. We do not offer ANY cooking facilities. There is a kettle and fridge to make things easier for our guests. Probably in the future you would be better off staying in self catering accomodation.

All the same I do hope you came away refreshed from you holidays in the Pyrénées !

Kind regards,
Simon and Isabelle Browne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here at the end of May (2012) and Maison Rancesamy turned out to be everything we hoped for ....and more. Our initial request about availability received a prompt and personal response. Throughout our stay Simon and Isabelle were most welcoming and helpful, They have extensive knowledge about this part of the Pyrenees which they are happy to share with guests.
Breakfasts are relaxed and informal and we would recommend that you take advantage of 'eating in' on evenings when Isabelle is cooking.
Overall we really enjoyed our 4 day stay Maison Rancesamy. It was great value and we fully intend to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HTM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2012

After a long hot day on a motorcycle, Maison Rancesamy was exactly the right place to arrive at for the night. As we pulled into the driveway, dinner was just being served. A quick shower and then downstairs to meet Simon and Isabelle (our hosts). The food was fantastic and a great complement to the al fresco dining under a tree in the back garden. The bedroom was clean, spacious and simple. All in all... wonderful. I will return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We spent three days at Simon and Isabelle's delightful house in July 2011 and would unhesitatingly recommend this as a beautiful place to stay. We loved the friendly ambiance, the spacious comfortable room, the excellent food - breakfast was great and Isabelle's cooking is wonderful - and the gorgeous countryside. There is a good swimming pool, a table tennis table and a lovely garden. A real treat.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Duncan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chambres d'Hotes Secret Pyrenees? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chambres d'Hotes Secret Pyrenees

Property: Chambres d'Hotes Secret Pyrenees
Address: 583 Chemin Rances | Maison Rancesamy, Quartier Rey, 64290 Lasseube, France (Formerly Rancesamy)
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Pyrenees-Atlantiques > Bearn-Basque Country > Bearn > Lasseube
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lasseube
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly known as Maison Rancesamy, Secret Pyrenees is a boutique bed and breakfast adventure retreat, in the Jurancon wine region. Located at the head of the three valleys of Barretous, Aspe and Ossau, it's the perfect place from which to explore the beautiful Bean and Basque Pyrenees alongside the neighbouring Hautes Pyrenees. Your English and South African hosts are mad about sport and can advise you on where to cycle, trail run, mountain bike, climb, kayak or any other activity you can do in the Pyrenees. Only 1hr15 from Spain or Biarritz, less than one hour from 3 ski resorts, 30 minutes from the mountains and 20 minutes from Pau - Secret Pyrenees is ideally located. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chambres d'Hotes Secret Pyrenees reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing