We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chambres d'Hotes Secret Pyrenees
Nearby Hotels
Hotel l'Astrolabe(Oloron-Sainte-Marie)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel De France(Oloron-Sainte-Marie)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel De La Paix(Oloron-Sainte-Marie)
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
37
10
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
37
10
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bevery morningbeautiful gardenfrench pyreneesour room was spaciousperfect hostslovely placemaison rancesamysmall townlocal areafoothillssecretpauwalksmountainshousefrance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 47 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Most travellers have been to places where they say "it was ok". "ok" doesn't exist in Simon and Isabelle's universe. The Brownes have taken B&B a step further and you feel it's about passion. We found Isabelle and Simon reassuringly consistent with their high quality offering. This place doesn't like to say "no". It's not that we made many or ridiculous requests, but, at every point, everyone went out of their way to ensure we had a great time. Every day Simon spent much time planning the best bike tour for us, the best rafting, spectacular hiking trips and booking restaurants. Many times we have stayed 2-3 days in B&B places like this. However, this time we stayed 7 days and every day we praised ourselves for this decision. As we checked in, a couple of hours early, the house help greeted us with a big welcome and apologized that Mr and Mrs Browne were having their siesta. This is countryside France and EVERYTHING closes from 12.30 to 2.30. You almost expect traffic lights to be switched during this period. The location is perfect if you like rural peace with fields around you. Nearby, Lasseube is a very small town surrounded by beautiful rolling hills. One restaurant, two bars and one small grocery shop. You stay here to relax and forget the big city. Our room was spacious, very comfortable and well-maintained during our stay. The swimming pool was our oasis, in an excellent setting. If anyone knows better breakfast then please advise me, not spectacular luxury but a lot of homemade touch to it. Every day a new little extra. Isabelle was always preparing something in the background, freshly baked crepes, cakes or jams. Simon and Isabelle make everyone feel special and Simon was soon nicknamed "ask Simon" by my wife as he had an answer to every question and always got the chatting going. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

A very nice located B&B with a nice pool. Big clean room with a nice wiev of the Pyreenes. Simon is very helpful and nice person. His wife is the contrary, she refused us to borrow a pan to cook some pasta when returning late to the B&B after a long day of hiking in the Pyreenes. The village restaurant was closed at this time! Not so nice done if you want your guests to return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Per N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isabelleroz, Propriétaire at Chambres d'Hotes Secret Pyrenees, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2012

Sir/Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to write re our BB.

I can perfectly well undersand you point of view but I think there has been a misunderstanding. We do not offer ANY cooking facilities. There is a kettle and fridge to make things easier for our guests. Probably in the future you would be better off staying in self catering accomodation.

All the same I do hope you came away refreshed from you holidays in the Pyrénées !

Kind regards,
Simon and Isabelle Browne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed here at the end of May (2012) and Maison Rancesamy turned out to be everything we hoped for ....and more. Our initial request about availability received a prompt and personal response. Throughout our stay Simon and Isabelle were most welcoming and helpful, They have extensive knowledge about this part of the Pyrenees which they are happy to share with guests.
Breakfasts are relaxed and informal and we would recommend that you take advantage of 'eating in' on evenings when Isabelle is cooking.
Overall we really enjoyed our 4 day stay Maison Rancesamy. It was great value and we fully intend to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HTM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

After a long hot day on a motorcycle, Maison Rancesamy was exactly the right place to arrive at for the night. As we pulled into the driveway, dinner was just being served. A quick shower and then downstairs to meet Simon and Isabelle (our hosts). The food was fantastic and a great complement to the al fresco dining under a tree in the back garden. The bedroom was clean, spacious and simple. All in all... wonderful. I will return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We spent three days at Simon and Isabelle's delightful house in July 2011 and would unhesitatingly recommend this as a beautiful place to stay. We loved the friendly ambiance, the spacious comfortable room, the excellent food - breakfast was great and Isabelle's cooking is wonderful - and the gorgeous countryside. There is a good swimming pool, a table tennis table and a lovely garden. A real treat.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Duncan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews