We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (348)
Filter reviews
348 results
Traveler rating
168
97
46
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
168
97
46
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full body massage relaxation room cream tea changing rooms swimming pool sauna and steam room my mum relaxing weekend overnight stay full english breakfast town centre facilities ploughmans robe steph countryside loungers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 348 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2019 via mobile

Stayed here with my two daughters for a spa break, the hotel was quaint and comfortable. We stayed in a large comfortable room with lovely views of the grounds.
The staff were lovely, very friendly and accommodating. The food was amazing ! Beautiful views from the dining room.
The spa was lovely and had one of the best massages I’ve ever had, thank you so much. The garden cafe served a wonderful breakfast and lunch and the two ladies who served us were really lovely. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, a hotel run as it should be , makes a real change now days to find a gem like this. My daughters and I have decided to make this an annual trip and can’t wait to return.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank leonar895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019

Looking at the other reviews, I think your impression of Cleve Hotel & Spa will depend very much on your expectations. This is certainly NOT a luxury spa. It's not even a luxury hotel. However, it is a very nice old country house with clean modern rooms, lovely staff and a very laid back, unstuffy atmosphere.
Our room was in the modern 'annex' which at first I was very disappointed about, but was told on check-out that the rooms there are nicer - lighter, more recently furnished. It was certainly more than adequate - very clean, modern minimalist furnishings, nice crisp cotton bed linen, quiet double glazed window, functional bathroom a little tired around the edges (lino floor past its best) but absolutely fine. I am fussy and I was perfectly happy and would stay here again. The staff were lovely and put us at ease so I felt very relaxed coming and going. It was lovely and quiet apart from the food delivery lorry reversing outside our bedroom at 5:45am (avoid the rooms overlooking the carpark!!!)
The spa complex is very basic with a very weird layout. Lots of winding corridors, dark staircases and confusing doorways. We got lost every time we tried to visit. The pool is small but clean and has nice ozone treated water and a nice temperature. The hot-tub (in the pool room) is also nice but the room itself is kinda basic. Unlike other spas I've been to, the pool room is not somewhere you'd want to hang out for any length of time. There were only 7 loungers which were all 'bagsied' and nowhere else to sit, not a very relaxing atmosphere as it feels too small and cramped for the people using it, and nothing nice to look at except basic tiles, steamed up windows, other people's bodies and a pool net chucked down at the side. The sauna downstairs next to the changing rooms is very small (4 people max) but fine and enjoyable. The steam room next to the pool is a bit grotty and lacklustre. The changing rooms are OK but no private changing cubicles and cheap shower stalls with shower curtains from Primark. However we weren't really bothered about having a spa experience so it didn't matter that much. It was just a fun bonus to have our 90 mins spa time with the cost of our room (£90).
The whole place has a slightly weird feeling to it, as though it used to be an old people's home or conference centre. They have put a glossy veneer over it but you can see the institutional history of the building between the cracks as it were (strange office-style tiled ceiling that is half falling down above the drapes; institutional disabled bathroom floor, lots of different rooms set up for banquets with no one using them, all those winding corridors....) I didn't mind, it made it quite interesting.
One of the best features is you can walk into the nice town of Wellington in 5 minutes. The quirky original 1940s cinema is fantastic and some great restaurants & cafes. We didn't eat at the hotel apart from breakfast which was very nice. The cafe area of the hotel is really nice too and serves excellent locally roasted coffee.
Also the gardens are big and have fantastic views. On our second day we sunbathed in the garden and watched the horizons instead of returning to the spa (where there was an aquarobics class going on for the local OAPs - adding to the "old people's home" vibe!).
All in all, fantastic value for a very nice night away, but don't go expecting Lucknam Park.
We took a "cosy" room which was £90 with an online offer of £10 off the regular price (£100) and included breakfast and 90mins spa time (of which we only used about 45 mins - it was enough!).

Room tip: The annex is not picturesque but nice recently furnished rooms.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Threetogether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for our Anniversary treat by my husband. We had the overnight spa break which included a 25 minute treatment which was very nice and relaxing, we had full use of the pool, sauna and jacuzzi which we used. Followed by a lovely cream tea with a glass of Prosecco each. The garden is beautiful with a lovely gazebo where we continued the day sat in our complimentary fluffy robes and slippers drinking gin and cocktails. We had a lovely 2 course meal in the restaurant later which again was part of the stay.

Our room was cosy but adequate with a gorgeous view of the garden. All in all a very nice stay for the price, lovely staff very friendly and accommodating. Only to happy to help with anything.

Thank you for a great Anniversary stay.
Tracy & Mark xx

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Trace2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019 via mobile

Myself and my hubby came here for a relaxing afternoon, on arrival we were seated and filled forms out, then staff seemed to have vanished for a while leaving us just waiting there and it running into the time we had booked we were still waiting.
While waiting it was like a scene from faulty towers furniture was getting moved in front of our very eyes some with drawer pieces some with the drawer unit all very strange ha why not choose to do that when it’s closed or quiet.
Finally we got shown around and were down into the depths of a maze of a place.
The spa shares its facilities with the gym so it’s quite a strange experience as you can’t overly relax or get dressed in peace as it’s full of lots of gym people,especially in the changing room.
We were shown where we were going to eat our lunch.
It’s just gets brought straight out to you on a wooden platter.
You don’t get to choose what you want it’s just what they give you.
Lunch very basic but pleasant enough.
The relaxation rooms are very uncomfortable beds that are low and hard.
There is a hot drinks machine which is nice but after lots of heat Eg the sauna etc more cold drinks would be more pleasant.
The cold drinks and in the fridge were however empty and were not refilled once while we were there despite staff walking past the fridge many times.
For the price you pay for the packages there isn’t a awful lot to do here.
A sauna which is small and gets cramped when lots of gym users use it.
A steam room which is tatty and barely works.
The swimming pool again was full with gym users so we couldn’t really use it.
The jacuzzi was nice but basic and tatty.
Infact the whole place is basic and tatty it needs a whole refurbish to be fair.
We had the mud treatment which is deceitful on the brochure my husband booked it showed a treatment in a mud bath.... don’t be fooled the mud temple is where you rub moisturiser and different muds in a dark steam room.
It times you and lights come on for different stages for putting different muds or moisturiser on then finishing with a shower.
So yes kind of relaxing but not how we imagined.
We got bored so left two hours early after our treatment there is only so much hot drink you can drink and everything is so squashed and claustrophobic that everywhere you turn someone is right next to you staring at you so no you can’t relax.
I suggest you try somewhere else as it’s not worth the price tag.
Basil faulty you need to update the hotel ha!
Staff pleasant though and friendly.
Slippers bath towel and robe provided for treatment.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MissyD31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2019 via mobile

I would like to thank all the staff for making our mother and daughter weekend just wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble and the standard of treatments in the spa to the food served in the restaurant were all superb. Great value for money.
Thankyou

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank kim p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews