We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
167
96
45
23
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
167
96
45
23
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full body massage relaxation room cream tea changing rooms swimming pool sauna and steam room my mum relaxing weekend overnight stay full english breakfast town centre facilities ploughmans robe steph countryside loungers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 345 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

What a great find this hotel was ! It has beautiful views of the English countryside and is such a quiet, relaxing hotel. All the staff were really polite and went out of their way to make our stay special. The food is absolutely superb, and beautifully presented. Every meal was really good quality, and overall, excellent value for money.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank estiejw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I spent a weekend at The Cleve for my husbands 30th birthday. On arrival we where greeted by the lovely, yet somewhat stressed and rushed receptionist. Our package included cream tea with Prosecco on arrival which was delicious, a couples full body massage which was dreamy and so relaxing we both drifted off for a few minutes. I booked an extra foot treatment for my husband which he adored. It was my husbands first spa experience and he was left delighted and eager to go back for more. The massage therapists where very professional and lovely. They tailored the massage to our needs and therefore each of us had a different experience but equally as great. After our treatments, we retrieved to our lovely and cosy (not small, just very homely) room until dinner at 8pm. The food was exquisite and we where both left truly satisfied. May I add this was also part of the package. In the morning we had a full English breakfast and that’s why my review is a 4* instead of a 5*. I found the breakfast was delicious but the whole system was disorganised. There was a English breakfast section which didn’t include eggs which we found odd. So we dished up our bfast and it was only because we saw the table next to us getting scrambled eggs that we realised that we had to order our eggs at the bar, as well as any vegetarian option. So by the time we ordered our eggs we had eaten most of our bfast and ended up with 2 dinner plates each. It was just a little odd. They should of advised us of the system before we sat down or whilst they where poring the tea and coffee. The toasted is simply diabolically slow and too small for the size of the restaurant. After bfast we had the Mud Temple treatment and that was just hilariously funny, in a good way, as well as nourishing and relaxing. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience and will definitely go back. The staff where absolutely lovely. Just sort your toaster out!!! Xx

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Alexandra G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

This is more of a local hotel than a 24hr international venue.

Great food. Really great.

Excellent service at all times.

Bar shuts at 2300(?) gym pool shuts at 2100. But staff really lovely. I arrived with a colleague at 2020 and they were ok for us to order food on check in and then go to the gym and come back and eat at 2105. Perfect service.

Rooms are slightly over priced in my opinion.

Good setting. Walkable to Wellington and perched up on a hill with good views.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank 380matta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting family. This is a calm and quiet spot perfect for relaxing. The spa looked good and we plan to try that next time.
The food is great and the breakfast is superb.
The only reason I have marked this 4 not 5 is that the bedrooms need a bit of TLC to bring them up to standard. Mainly a bit of painting etc.
Hotel itself is very clean and we would definitely go back.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 463gillm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2018

We have had a fabulous stay. We had a friendly greeting on arrival and sttled down to a fabulous cream tea. Thoroughly enjoyed the pool and relaxation rooms and can highly recomend a back and shoulder massage. i woudl return just for this alone. We had a two course dinner wchich was very tasty and filling. Great breakfast, pretty bedrommand lovely views. Overall very relaxing. Highly recommend

Room tip: Country rooms are beautiful
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridgette69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews