We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just spent couple of nights at spa. Lovely location with spectacular reviews of Wellington memorial and across countryside.
Spa and hotel staff where all lovely, helpful and accommodating making the stay a very pleasant one.
Bathroom obviously been updated since the photo added on trip advisor by a visitor as very nice.

Coffee and tea facilities in room.

Food was very good and chef willing to accommodate tweaks to menu for visitors both my friend and someone on table near us wanted a variation to menu and nothing was too much trouble.
Very impressed with service.

Well done Cleve hope to be back again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 35Daniela35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 295 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the second time I have visited the Cleve spa hotel. This time was for an overnight stay with my husband to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The staff are so friendly and helpful. It is a wonderful place to relax and we enjoyed our massages, platter lunch, evening meal and all the other facilities. Our room was lovely and spacious ( we upgraded before we arrived, it was well worth it) I would recommend this hotel and spa and I would certainly go again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaynor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed a friendly relaxing weekend recently. The wedding breakfast was the best we've ever had. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff very helpful. A shame the gym and spa underused, it is a hidden retreat.
Would recommend highly.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank HertsAlto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked in for a back massage and scalp massage on a whim as iI had never visited before. This is a hidden gem of a spa. Nice decor and the pool is soon to be refurbished. Great facilities including a well speced gym. The treatments were both espa and, frankly, the best I have had- anywhere. I will certainly be going back on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed last night me and 2 friends and I felt I had to leave a review! we had such a lovely stay, the pool, hot tub steam room and sauna where great ,as where the complimentary drinks in the spa area, very refreshing! We had dinner included which was for all of us fantastic we where stuffed. The room was lovely comfy beds, the shower and bathroom lovely and we all snuggled up at 10pm as we where so relaxed! The breakfast was delicious and there was a brilliant choice, nothing was to much trouble for the staff.
Now if I could pick on some small things that I feel would make the hotel even better and probably go up a star, there where a few moulds spots in the bathroom,and the gym showers where a little slow,mould spots totally to be expected and I guess the do decorate when the get quiet and some dust was spotted by my eagle eyed cleaning mad friend, again just small areas, but the rest of the attention to detail was ace, soft towels, lovely bathrobes. None of the above spoilt our stay it was the only areas that we noticed. We would recommend the hotel to any one and will certainly be back. well done all!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrissy042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We used The Cleve as a base for a weekend in Somerset where we were attending a wedding elsewhere, and so we did not use any of the Spa facilities which were available 90 minutes each included in the price.
Booking via the internet and a phone call to the Hotel was easy, the staff were most helpful, and to get the best price the whole of the accommodation cost had to be paid up front.
Putting the address/post code into Satnav did not work, it left us 3/4 mile west of the hotel on the road from Wellington town centre going west towards the A38 which bypasses the town centre, this is not the fault of The Cleve.
Car parking is very good. Reception staff courteous & efficient.
Our room was a Premier Double Room,with lovely views towards the Wellington Monument, large and airy, high ceiling, but decor in need of some TLC, flaking ceiling paint, damp patch stain, window sills badly in need of decorating, large ensuite bathroom, wash basin plug did not work, hand held shower coming away from wall and leaking badly, rainshower part worked fine with plenty of hot water easily controlled. Clean towels each day. Bed very comfortable. No fridge or minibar, but tea/coffee making facility, however the kettle could only be filled by using the hand held part of the shower!
Lounge area light and comfortable but decor looked a little tired.
Dinner menu included a choice of 5/6 mains including a vegetarian option and all the food including the self service breakfast was excellent, wine list was not very inspiring but reasonably priced, the French Pinot Noir was of indeterminate pedigree (not Burgundy) but quoiffable. The evening meal (starter & main course) including a pre dinner drink and a bottle of wine was £50 for two people, very good value.
Most of the other guests were using the Spa facilities which we did not try.
All the staff were smartly dressed, cheerful, and very pleasant & helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the function part of the hotel will be much quieter, our Premier Room was in the qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have used the spa twice now and both occasions have been a pleasure. I will be making this a regular treat and plan lots of spa days and weekend breaks to relax and enjoy the hotel with friends and family. I can not find one thing that this Hotel can improve on, for those who are critical of this hotel, must have unrealistic expectations. Well done to all the staff who clearly take pride in their jobs and continue to make it a very pleasant experience for all customers.
Erica Holland

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erica121holland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
8.9 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
10.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
267 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
697 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tiverton
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleve Hotel & Spa

Address: Mantle Street, Wellington TA21 8SN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $131 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleve Hotel, in Wellington, Somerset, is a commanding former Country Gentleman's Manor House. The beautiful building and surrounding grounds are steeped in local history, and afford a timeless charm, spacious feel and excellent facilities to those who visit. Situated in the heart of the West Country, The Cleve Hotel has striking views across the Devon and Somserset hills and offers guests a gentle pace with friendly, professional service. The Cleve is family owned and run for more than thirty-five years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cleve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleve Hotel Wellington
The Cleve Hotel & Spa Wellington, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing