We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and not so good...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2013

A friend and I stayed here recently for a girlie catch up. Hotel, for the most part, is absolutely lovely - gorgeous setting, lots of places to chill out inside and out and free tea/coffee/juice. The hotel staff were ever friendly and helpful and couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome. The spa staff, on the other hand, seemed bored and indifferent. Our hour's treatment included being left lying on the bed for 15 minutes at the start while the staff disappeared and my friend's treatment finished 15 minutes before mine, bringing hers down to a mere half an hour. What we actually had (the 'Bliss Treatment') was ok, but I've had better.
The food, like the staff, was inconsistent: lunch platter was perfect for nibbling while nattering, dinner was inedible, breakfast was lovely and freshly cooked.
Our room was clean and pleasant but surprisingly tiny and would benefit hugely from a member of staff actually spending a night in it in order to realise that little things matter, such as somewhere to hang bathrobes and towels (there wasn't a hook in sight, nothing bar a teeny-weeny hand rail that could just about cope with a flannel). Whoever designed this room put a lot of effort into the decor, but very little into how to make the room functional and comfortable for guests (e.g. putting a telly where you can watch it comfortably, or lighting where you need it).
Overall we had a pleasant enough weekend but think we'll go elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanne012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you for your review,

Firstly, thank you for all of your positive comments, Yes I completely agree with you, the hotel is absolutely lovely, and does have gorgeous settings! Nice to hear you enjoyed all the complements included in your stay, like cappuccinos, hot chocolates. coffees, teas & juices.

I was staggered to read your review, that you stipulated that your treatment did not last the time allocated. we have many people come through on a weekly basis, and this has never been 'mentioned at all......All we receive are fantastic reports from happy customers about how wonderful the treatments are they have received here at the Cleve Spa, Its a shame that you had failed to mention this to any of the management team working throughout the day, As had this been the case, we could have resolved the problem there and then.

Once again, had you mentioned any other issues during your stay, Nine times out of Ten, we aim to rectify immediately, as our aim is to give every customer an experience that they enjoy, therefore encouraging repeat business to The Cleve Spa.

Apart from a couple of issues that could have been resolved, Nice to hear that you did still enjoy your stay. If you ever do reconsider coming to stay again, You will be pleased to know that all are Therapists are under going further advanced training, Due to out launch of the ESPA brand and additional facilities coming to the Cleve Spa soon! Very exciting times here!!!

Once again, thank you for your feedback.

Kindest Regards

The Cleve Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for The Cleve Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 286 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

We have just come back from a spa break away at the cleve hotel and will Definatly be going back (infact we had picked up the wedding package to look into!) from start to Finnish every member of staff was fantastic and friendly, always willing to make sure our stay was very enjoyable :) our room was lovely and modem yet classy, clean and fresh :) our meal in the restaurant in the evening and breakfast was cooked to perfection! The treatmeant I had done at the spa was lovely and again staff were lovely. This is a hotel I will Definatly be recommending to family and friends :)

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xxsusan09xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review Susan,

Nice to hear about your enjoyable visit at the Cleve Spa, We have some lovely facilities on site and are currently improving them everyday. My greatest asset at the Cleve Spa though, Is the fantastic bunch of staff that we have. They all enjoy been a vital part in the successful day to day running's
of the business, and I always love there input on ways to improve the experience for the customer.

Nice to hear that you have picked up a wedding pack, and from a biased point of view, there are not many better back drops for your wedding day then the rolling hills of the Black downs on a warm summers day in the Cleve Gardens.

Once again, thank you for your review and hope to see you once again (Maybe your Wedding Day....).

Regards

Cleve Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

This lovely family-run hotel provides a great get-away location set in lovely countryside. It’s based around someone’s country house from many years ago and set on a rise above Wellington with lovely grounds and views. As a wedding or spa venue it’s got everything you’d need and you can see from most people’s reviews that they can deliver this to a consistently high standard.

Staff are great and always very accommodating (….sorry about the pun). Food, layout, atmosphere & grounds are all very good. It’s undergone considerable updating and renovation of the last 2 years.

I use this hotel as a conference and training venue and have done for a few years now. They have never let us down and always sort out any special needs we have and all the rooms are fully equipped.

Gripes? Very few – some public toilet facilities look a little dated but are always clean and it’s probably not the most wheelchair friendly place to get in and out of (remember this is an old house with new extensions).

It’s a lovely place – go there.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philby_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review,

We strive to ensure everyone that visits The Cleve Spa is well looked after from the moment they making a booking to the moment they depart.

We have had on going renovations over the last few years to keep improving everything for our customers experience. This is all achieved very discreetly to ensure the customer is unaware that it is happening on a day to day basis. You would not even be aware that we have a builder on site!

Reference to your only Gripe, The Public toilets you mentioned located at basement level, are in there final stages of been removed, as we are currently building new public toilets at ground floor level. Once this has been completed, Later in the year we will be dismantling the entire basement area and work will commence on our additional Spa facilities to accommodate the launch of ESPA at the Cleve Spa. Exciting times ahead!!!

Once again, Thank you for your fantastic review, and look forward to your return in the future.

Regards

Cleve Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

A Pool Shower,with adjustable temperature would be a great addition to the facilities.

I enjoyed the Gym,and would have liked to have had a convenient shower before using the Pool
after the Sauna,and Steam Room

Otherwise a great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave631591175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hello Dave,

Thank you for your feedback, it is appreciated.

We are currently building a new steam room, this is in a room that will be attached to the pool area, and with this will be the shower we so need! As soon as this is completed, i will be posting pictures on trip advisor and the website.

if you are visiting again over the next month, why not ask to speak to me, and i will give you a little tour of the new stream area with shower currently been built, and chat about future developments around the spa.

Once again, Thank you for your feedback, We appreciate knowing where we can improve things, to make the whole spa experience at the Cleve amazing!

Kindest Regards

Cleve Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

A surprise weekend for my birthday!
We arrived early and the room was already ready, we were given large white towels and fluffy towels, shown around the lounge and spa areas including the drinks station and the piles of magazines and DVDs incase we wanted them
Our treatments were lovely, the lunch large and delicious. We enjoyed an afternoon in the pool, spa pool, steam room and sauna before relaxing in the lounge drinking tea, coffee, juices and cordials. About 4.30 we decided a scone would be nice and this quickly served - and delicious!
Dinner was also lovely - with very large portions!
We had a super night's sleep in a very comfortable bed.
The only minor point was we would have liked individual pots of tea with our breakfast rather than serving ourselves from a thermal pot on the breakfast bar as it was warm and stewed - although staff quickly replaced it when we commented.
We are looking for an excuse to return!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justjill27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hello Jill,

Thank you for posting positive feedback about the Cleve Spa.

So nice to hear peoples comments about the hotel and staff, we all do appreciate the feedback, (to the point where a lot of the staff have the trip advisor app on there phones to keep updated!

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write the post, all of the staff appreciate it!
Maybe we might see you again for your birthday next year........
And i promise you.....you will enjoy the new improvements coming to the Spa Area!!!

Regards

Cleve Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We came to the cleve for a day spa deal. our welcome was warm and we were shown around the facilities and there was juice,tea and coffee for us to help ourselves too. we both had a back,neck and shoulder massage and a mini facial which was absolutely fantastic and really relaxing.

We then moved onto the pool etc and were very disappointed.
The whole place was dirty and badly laid out,having to traipse up the stairs from the changing rooms and sauna was annoying and dirty.
There was a man up a ladder fixing something in the pool area which was far from relaxing.
The steam room was nowhere near hot enough and was clearly an afterthought and was nothing more than a upvc cupboard at the edge of the pool.
There were no shower facilities on poolside which means people going from the steam room/sauna to the pool won't be able to rinse off.
The whole place needs a complete rethink and massive deep clean to even bring it close to other spas I have experienced.
We had our day booked until 1pm but left at 11am as it simply wasn't enjoyable.
I have nothing but praise for the treatments we had but unfortunately everything else tainted it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank magicstar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hello magicstar31,

Thank you for taking the time out to make a post,

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your day visit to the spa, It's a shame, As if you had asked to speak to the manager, while you were here, I would have sorted any problems that you had in counted during your visit. As my golden rule of thumb, Is to insure every customer is happy with there spa experience.
.
We are currently building a brand new stream room, this will not be located at poolside, but through to an additional room off the pool, there will also be a shower beside this, this has already been started, and as soon as it is completed, I will be posting pictures of it on trip advisor and our website.

Following this project, as i stated to you on your visit, we will be extending the spa to include additional features, like flotation tanks, various other dark relaxation steam rooms and mini pools,
Once again, when this phase is completed, I will be posting pictures on trip advisor and our website.

Once again, thank you for your feedback, we do take it all on board, and a striving to improve things all of the time.

Regards

Cleve Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel and spa is amazing. The building is gorgeous, and grounds beautiful. The staff are attentive without being over the top.
We had a family room, which was huge, very clean and the loveliest softest beds ever.
The only gripe was the bathroom, which despite being a generous size had no ventilation and no shelves for toiletries etc.
The breakfast was cooked to order, and the choice vast.
The gym facilities are also very modern and clean, and open to residents in the hotel, as was the pool area.
We used the gym several times, as well as the pool and found the staff and other gym users friendly and helpful. Sadly our 12 year old so was unable to use the facilities as you need to be over 16 years.
We have already decided to come back to The Cleve, which offers excellent value for money in a gorgeous corner of Somerset.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room in the old part of the hotel, and at the back for a great view towards Wellin...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Hello Lucy,

Thank you for your feedback,
We like to know what our customers are thinking, so we appreciate all feedback that we can get, be it positive, or any problems they encountered on there stay (rare). That way we like to prevent or improve things to give the customer complete satisfaction on there visit to the Cleve Spa.

Once again, Thank you for your positive comments, and look forward to your return.

Regards

Cleve Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
8.9 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
6.5 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
5.3 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#8 of 17 in Taunton
146 reviews
19.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleve Hotel & Spa

Address: Mantle Street, Wellington TA21 8SN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $127 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleve Hotel, in Wellington, Somerset, is a commanding former Country Gentleman's Manor House. The beautiful building and surrounding grounds are steeped in local history, and afford a timeless charm, spacious feel and excellent facilities to those who visit. Situated in the heart of the West Country, The Cleve Hotel has striking views across the Devon and Somserset hills and offers guests a gentle pace with friendly, professional service. The Cleve is family owned and run for more than thirty-five years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Cleve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleve Hotel Wellington
The Cleve Hotel & Spa Wellington, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing