We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The spa”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The spa offered tea/coffee/juice/squash full use of the spa, including facial treatment and a robe and towel for the spa. The spa includes gym, pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub .I would definitely recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation Tony J,

Nice to hear you enjoyed your spa day, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

The Cleve Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    75
    34
    16
    9
See reviews for
46
73
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This was my third stay at the Cleve Spa. (I go every year). Each time I go, more of the renovations have been completed and I am more impressed with the results. The spa weekend offered bed, breakfast, two course evening meal, tea/coffee/juice/squash for the whole weekend, full use of the spa, including on treatment and a robe and towel for the spa. The spa includes gym, pool, sauna, steam room and hot tub. The cost was £130. All we paid extra for was wine with our meal, which was excellent.
The room that I had the first year was large but a little dated, the second year, modern but a little smaller and this year perfect. I had this room to myself. It was huge with an ensuite shower room with a large shower. My friends room was equally large with great views. The room was a perfect temperature and huge windows looked out over the countryside. The hotel is at the top of a hill and, subject to other guests, very quiet. It was very quiet in January which meant we had the facilities to ourselves for much of the weekend.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: The room I stayed in was called Halse and my friend stayed in the Lovington.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you dawnie8 for posting a lovely positive review.

So nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. We believe that the continual renovation scheme that we have in place is one of the reasons we have seen the hotel and spa grow into a thriving and successful venue it is currently today.
January is a lovely month for a spa break, if you are looking for a nice quiet time away.

Once again, thank you for your post, and look forward to your return in the future.

Regards

The Cleve Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Visited The Cleve Spa once again to celebrate a birthday,We were not disappointed .Room was small but comfortable,very clean,great shower,comfortable bed,a good nights sleep.Ryan is to be commended on his service,nothing was too much trouble,always working in the background,but available when required.He seemed to almost single handedly serve the evening meal to 11 adults and 5 boisterous kids.Food was well presented,with ample portions and very tasty.Good buffet breakfast,with plenty on offer,Chef in attendance,checking that there was good availability at all times.Will return again in the future .Cleve Spa, take note look after Ryan you have a top guy there

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeBaldwin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your post Mr Baldwin.

Always nice to see repeat customers coming back time after time and seeing our improvements throughout the hotel.

Ryan is our new Food & Beverage Manager and we are grateful to have someone that brings his professorial skills to the Cleve Spa. He is now passing these skills on to all our younger members of the team.

Thank you once again for your lovely feedback.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

The Cleve Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Sauna temperature is too low (75c),should be 80-100c
If the sauna was hot,there are no cold showers in the changing rooms,so you would not be able to cool off,or have the health benefit of a hot sauna/cold shower
I wonder when the pool side showers mentioned in a previous reply by the Manager will be installed
The Spa area is very relaxed.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave631591175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Regards to the sauna temperature, This has now been rectified, seems like someone found the thermostatic controller, and altered it, It has now been reset to 85 degrees and the unit assess is now not possible.

Thank you for your post.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

The Cleve Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

I booked the Cleve Spa for two nights hoping for a relaxing break in a well appointed country house hotel but as soon as we arrived we knew we were going to be disappointed. The hotel looked a little tired as we approached and the plastic foliage in the hanging baskets unfortunately gave an indication of what was to come.
We were shown to our room (Henlade) on the ground floor which was one of those having facilities for the disabled. The bathroom was fully equipped with hand rails and a plastic seat in the shower, it had a noisy sliding door with no lock.. The hospitality tray had two cups, both of which were caked with sugar at the bottom. There were no glasses, just a plastic cup in the bathroom.
We had travelled for over four hours to reach the Cleve Spa and were feeling a little hungry. I went to the bar and asked if it would be possible to have a sandwich. Whilst I was waiting for feedback from the kitchen on what was available I asked the Deputy Manager whether they were busy - not tonight was the reply, only six guests. So why the disabled room I wondered?
The sandwiches were duly delivered to our room and whilst the ham was delicious, the white sliced bread was not. The bill for these two ham sandwiches and two small bottles of sparkling water was £17.50!
The following morning we heard what we thought was a dripping noise in some pipe boxing along the ceiling of the room. We had to leave early but were back mid afternoon and mentioned the noise to the duty manager. He was very grateful for our feedback and, having referred the matter to maintenance staff, offered to move us to a superior room on the first floor for our second night. We accepted and were pleased with the second room (Langdale) which was slightly larger and had a bath with shower over, rather than just a shower (as in Henlade) and the bathroom door had a lock.
On our second morning we had more time for breakfast which was perfectly adequate - a good cold buffet style arrangement with fruit, yogurt, cereal, juices, etc. and an extensive cooked menu. My husband's bacon and egg was very good, as was my porridge.
The Cleve must have been lovely as a private house - the views from the hotel are fabulous and the architecture is interesting - it appears to be Victorian. However, it has been extensively added to and there is evidence of a lot of alterations having been made over the years. The spa appeared to be quite busy and maybe this is what is keeping the place going? The decor is a mismatch of traditional and modern - even in the bathroom there were very modern bath fittings and traditional Victorian style washbasin fittings.
On the positive side the hotel rooms are clean and the beds, whilst quite soft are comfortable. The windows open and the radiators can be turned on and off so that you can get the room to the right temperature. Best of all is that the hotel is very quiet - there was no traffic noise that we could hear from our rooms, both of which were at the far right hand side of the hotel - away from the main road and the spa.
It just missed the mark so far as we were concerned and we were disappointed.

Room Tip: Henlade is ideal if you require disabled access. Langdale is spacious and comfortable if you can ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50somethingyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time in posting a review.

We currently have artificial hanging plants due to the weather (winter months).

Was disappointing to hear that the duty manger had not provided you with a free upgrade on the night in question, as I always try to encourage on our quieter evenings. But as he has recently joined us, he had overlooked this, but has now taken this on board.

Our sandwich meals you ordered, are made fresh, and come with a side salad and crisps (£6.95)
Bottles of Spring Mineral water are £1.80 per bottle.This is average hotel prices.

Nice to hear your enjoyed your upgraded room the following evening and the breakfast in the morning.

The hotel is mixed with modern and Victorian design, as this was one of our requests when redeveloping rooms and public areas, this is to cater for all the different customers we have that come to stay or visit throughout the year.

Once again, thank you for posting positive remarks about the Cleve Spa & Hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

The Cleve Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Came with a friend for a spa day. We booked the tranquility package and had a great time. Lovely welcome , nice towels and robes and a quick tour of the spa facilities. We relaxed in the lounge and then had 90 minutes of wonderful treatments including a quite fantastic hot stone massage.
Good therapist and a nice treatment room. Lunch was beautifully served and the complimentary tea coffee and juices were a great bonus during the day. The pool was small but clean and the jacuzzi and steam room were in the same area with the sauna downstairs near the changing rooms. Lots of space and nice loungers and magazines . After lunch we spent time in the pool and then finished the day with a manicure and pedicure . May make a day at cleve spa a regular treat in half term !!! Highly recommend .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review,

So nice to here you enjoyed your day in the spa, Always nice to hear positive feedback from all our customers that enjoy there spa days and breaks! Will pass your lovely feedback onto the team at our next staff meeting. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

The Cleve Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Me and four friends stayed here overnight and did the spa package, we all throughly enjoyed our day and night here. Upon arrival we were given a lovely welcome by the reception team and manager who showed us to our rooms and helped one of our party with her bags as she is pregnant. The two rooms we had were lovely and very comfortable, we were then shown around the spa which was much better than anticipated. We enjoyed our time in the spa our treatments were lovely and the therapists also lovely and professional and we were made to feel at home. Our lunch was a platter of ham cheese and salads like ploughmans, and we could help ourselves to tea, coffee, juice, hot chocolate etc which was welcomed. Dinner that evening was fantastic and we have been raving about ever since. But really one of the best things about the hotel were the staff. The next moring we enjoyed a lovely breakfast and after checking out went to make our way back to our husbands and children in Bristol, but our car had a flat battery !!!!! we went back into reception to ask if anyone could possibly help us jump start our car and immediatly we were offered help by the manager without question. we ended up calling out the RAC who were very prompt and in the meantime were checked on by their very attentive staff and managment. So Thank you all at The Cleve Spa for making our stay a truly enjoyable one, and we shall recommend you and hopefully return one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJS4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, General Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out in writing your feedback.

So nice to hear you all enjoyed your night away, Its always a pleasure entertaining a friendly group of ladies away for the weekend.

Lunch has been very popular, as is unlimited drinks also been very popular with our spa guests. (a shame you didn't have room for a cream tea! next time maybe)
As the manager of the hotel, I'm very appreciative of my staff, These days it is hard to fine such a quality bunch of people, especially in one hotel!

Nice to know you all did get home safely, after your unplanned slower departure........

Look forward to seeing you all again in the near future.

Regards

The Cleve Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
8.9 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
10.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Rookery Manor
Rookery Manor
#1 of 1 in Edingworth
848 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#7 of 17 in Taunton
635 reviews
5.2 mi away
Meryan House Hotel
Meryan House Hotel
#9 of 17 in Taunton
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleve Hotel & Spa

Property: The Cleve Hotel & Spa
Address: Mantle Street, Wellington TA21 8SN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleve Hotel, in Wellington, Somerset, is a commanding former Country Gentleman's Manor House. The beautiful building and surrounding grounds are steeped in local history, and afford a timeless charm, spacious feel and excellent facilities to those who visit. Situated in the heart of the West Country, The Cleve Hotel has striking views across the Devon and Somserset hills and offers guests a gentle pace with friendly, professional service. The Cleve is family owned and run for more than thirty-five years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cleve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleve Hotel Wellington
The Cleve Hotel & Spa Wellington, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing