We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend a cold autumn day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Came with a friend for a spa day. We booked the tranquility package and had a great time. Lovely welcome , nice towels and robes and a quick tour of the spa facilities. We relaxed in the lounge and then had 90 minutes of wonderful treatments including a quite fantastic hot stone massage.
Good therapist and a nice treatment room. Lunch was beautifully served and the complimentary tea coffee and juices were a great bonus during the day. The pool was small but clean and the jacuzzi and steam room were in the same area with the sauna downstairs near the changing rooms. Lots of space and nice loungers and magazines . After lunch we spent time in the pool and then finished the day with a manicure and pedicure . May make a day at cleve spa a regular treat in half term !!! Highly recommend .

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denise m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review,

So nice to here you enjoyed your day in the spa, Always nice to hear positive feedback from all our customers that enjoy there spa days and breaks! Will pass your lovely feedback onto the team at our next staff meeting. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

The Cleve Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 295 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Me and four friends stayed here overnight and did the spa package, we all throughly enjoyed our day and night here. Upon arrival we were given a lovely welcome by the reception team and manager who showed us to our rooms and helped one of our party with her bags as she is pregnant. The two rooms we had were lovely and very comfortable, we were then shown around the spa which was much better than anticipated. We enjoyed our time in the spa our treatments were lovely and the therapists also lovely and professional and we were made to feel at home. Our lunch was a platter of ham cheese and salads like ploughmans, and we could help ourselves to tea, coffee, juice, hot chocolate etc which was welcomed. Dinner that evening was fantastic and we have been raving about ever since. But really one of the best things about the hotel were the staff. The next moring we enjoyed a lovely breakfast and after checking out went to make our way back to our husbands and children in Bristol, but our car had a flat battery !!!!! we went back into reception to ask if anyone could possibly help us jump start our car and immediatly we were offered help by the manager without question. we ended up calling out the RAC who were very prompt and in the meantime were checked on by their very attentive staff and managment. So Thank you all at The Cleve Spa for making our stay a truly enjoyable one, and we shall recommend you and hopefully return one day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJS4_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, General Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out in writing your feedback.

So nice to hear you all enjoyed your night away, Its always a pleasure entertaining a friendly group of ladies away for the weekend.

Lunch has been very popular, as is unlimited drinks also been very popular with our spa guests. (a shame you didn't have room for a cream tea! next time maybe)
As the manager of the hotel, I'm very appreciative of my staff, These days it is hard to fine such a quality bunch of people, especially in one hotel!

Nice to know you all did get home safely, after your unplanned slower departure........

Look forward to seeing you all again in the near future.

Regards

The Cleve Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We came to The Cleve Spa for a girly spa break as a group of 5 friends, and were very pleasantly surprised from the moment we pulled in.
The customer service was incredible. They understood what we were there for and treated us accordingly. Natural and friendly without being intrusive, and attentive when required.
We even had a problem with the car as we were leaving and one of the owners went out and bought jump leads especially to be able to help us!
Lunch & dinner was absolutely gorgeous without being pretentious, and the massages were wonderful too.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable, it was all very reasonably priced and we had a wonderful weekend.
If I had to say anything negative, there were a few areas which were slightly tired - but it certainly seemed to us as though they were updating the place one area at a time, and the 'done' areas were lovely whilst staying comfortable.

Very highly reccommended :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, General Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review.

It was a pleasure to have you all stay over the weekend.

Thank you for all your feedback, It has been passed on to all of our staff members at our weekly staff meeting.

Its always a pleasure informing the staff each week on the great feedback received from our customers, It seems to gee them up for the week ahead as well!!!

As you were saying, It is an on going thing reference to updating our fantastic facilities, this is something that is never over looked, and we have made huge strides in all areas over the past three to four years, We have a couple of areas left that we hope to complete over the next six to twelve months.

Thank you once again for your lovely feedback, and look forward to seeing you all again in the near future!

Regards

The Cleve Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just wanted to say what a wonderful job you and your staff did for the wedding of our daughter Kirsty, on Friday 7th September. We all had an amazing day and you certainly made it the memorable occasion we hoped that it would be. My sister’s son gets married in 7 weeks time and she commented, ‘if Jonathon’s wedding goes nearly as well as this we will be very pleased indeed’.

                   Your help and advice when we met with you to plan the day were invaluable. We were very fortunate that on the day we had the best day of the summer! This meant that the outside ceremony set the high standard for the whole day, and The Cleve just kept giving exceptional service. Attention to detail was spot on and when our nephew’s son was not well you delivered once again. Taking their meals to them in their rooms and supplying dry toast for his son really was going that extra 10% to make things run smoothly.
So thank you to The Cleve and your expert handling of the proceedings.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, General Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Hello Ian,

Firstly, Thank you for taking the time out to write and post your review of the Cleve Spa.

We appreciate your feedback, and always love hearing back from the parents of brides and grooms that we have hosted weddings for in the past. Your family were blessed with lovely weather on the Friday, this was a rare thing this year! The day went like clock work, credit to our Wedding Coordinator once again! This took all the pressure off Kirsty and Rick, knowing full well that Faye was running there day.

I hope your nephews son recovered well over the days following the wedding. One of our great assets here at the Cleve are our staff. Nothing is to much trouble, Very lucky to have such a great bunch of people.

Once again, a big thank you for posting. Hope your sisters son's wedding goes just as well!

Regards

The Cleve Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

My best friend and I went to Cleve Spa in August for a girly pamper day to celebrate my birthday. We booked the serenity package which was £90 for 90 mins treatments, lunch, robe, slippers and use of the pool, jacuzzi etc. We arrived at 10am and were shown to the spa area which was lovely, lots of comfy chairs, magazines and even a room with sofas, TV and DVD's so you could really relax. Unlimited tea, coffee and cold drinks too. There was also an area of garden with tables and chairs which was screened off from the rest of the hotel garden. The treatments were lovely and carried out by a very nice therapist. The lunch provided was also excellent (a bit like a posh ploughmans!). In the afternoon we used the swimming pool and jacuzzi which rounded the day off nicely. We both came away feeling very relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed the day. Will definatley return, especially as it is good such value compared to other spas in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ForeverLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, General Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for your post,

Lovely to hear you enjoyed your birthday treat here at the Cleve Spa,
The serenity package is one of our more popular choices with customers, so nice to hear you both enjoyed it as well! I hope you were one of the lucky ones that did get to enjoy the garden spa area, always popular when the sun is shining!

I will pass on your compliments to the therapist at our upcoming weekly staff meeting, All our staff members enjoy the praise they receive from customers, that's why feedback is so important.

Will look forward to your return in the near future, Now that you know where to go, to relax!

Regards from everyone at The Cleve Spa


The Cleve Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I chose to stay one night for a bliss spa package as a single traveler, and I also upgraded the room. From initial email enquiry, to the moment I left, the staff in the hotel could not have been more helpful. The lunch was beautifully presented, and the evening meal was superb - the chef came out to check how i would like it. The gym was very good, and spa area was lovely, especially as it was nice enough to sit outside when I was there. You can always find something not quite perfect if you look, but to be honest, the good- `totally outweighed any other issues. The room was really lovely, and I had a bathroom with a roll top bath (which is a favourite of mine!) I will definitely return, and would recommend it. Access from the M5 is also very good, and there is free Wifi throughout.

Room Tip: I had a room facing the front on the first floor. i found the upgrade well worth the small cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jacey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, General Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank-you very much for your recent feedback.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent spa break with us and that you found our team receptive and to your satisfaction.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your evening meal. We are very lucky to have a Mediterranean Chef who specialises in typical Med style cuisine, and is also very capable with traditional English dishes, I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback, I will also let our Beauty Therapists know that you enjoyed your treatments. I am proud to say that we have a very good team here who always seek to provide our guests with the very best service.

I would also like to take this opportunity to express our gratitude for the positive comments on Trip Advisor. In this day and age we realise just how important on line forums can be for a venue’s reputation and hopefully your comments will persuade other people to visit us in the future as I hope you will again too.

We look forward to seeing you again at The Cleve Spa and hope that this message fines you well.

With Kind Regards,

Penny O'Halleran
Reservations Manager

As taken from recent email response back to customer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

the Gym is just exellent ( though some tv choice or film dvd working - would be great- just a music channel.)
The staff are all v friendly and most accomodating indeed .

But sadly ...it needs a really, really, good clean.The showers to changing rooms are absolutely dire- needs a top to toe itself! The tile and the cubicles are growing all kinds!
The steps to the swimming pool area are filthy and people go up these in bare feet and straight into the pool- equally they use the steam room and then use the swimming pool as a plunge pool! (ugh!) there are no showers at all upon this level.This really needs to be sorted.& v tight control placed upon presentation and standards overall.

Room Tip: inspect all the facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonThom12, General Manager at The Cleve Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to make your post.

Thank you for the lovely comments of the gym area, There are not to many hotels based in the U.K
with such a well equipped spa.

We have taken note of the changing rooms and they have now been fully refurnished over the last few weeks.

Reference to people coming out of the steam room into the pool, there is shower facilities within yards of the pool area, this is sign posted as well, but unless you are there to police it, people will choose to ignore it, Therefore, over this coming month there will be a shower installed at poolside.

Once again thank you for your feedback. This is important to us, as this gives us knowledge needed, on what other areas we need to be investing time and money into.

Hope to see you back in the near future, and maybe a walk around to show you the improvements.

Regards

The Cleve Spa Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wellington
8.9 mi away
The Mount Somerset Hotel
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Wellington Somerset Hotel
10.5 mi away
Farthings Country House Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
267 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Castle at Taunton
The Castle at Taunton
#6 of 17 in Taunton
697 reviews
11.7 mi away
The Hartnoll Hotel
The Hartnoll Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tiverton
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleve Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleve Hotel & Spa

Address: Mantle Street, Wellington TA21 8SN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wellington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wellington
Price Range: $131 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleve Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleve Hotel, in Wellington, Somerset, is a commanding former Country Gentleman's Manor House. The beautiful building and surrounding grounds are steeped in local history, and afford a timeless charm, spacious feel and excellent facilities to those who visit. Situated in the heart of the West Country, The Cleve Hotel has striking views across the Devon and Somserset hills and offers guests a gentle pace with friendly, professional service. The Cleve is family owned and run for more than thirty-five years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Cleve Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleve Hotel Wellington
The Cleve Hotel & Spa Wellington, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing