We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Pub Food”
Review of The Holywell Inn

The Holywell Inn
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Nestling in the Somerset countryside close to the Devon border, The Holywell Inn is a family owned and operated traditional village pub. The owners, Vic and Paulette Bigg, have lived in the area all their lives and fell in love with the charms and location of this pub many years ago. In June 2011 they managed to fulfill their dream of ownership and completely yet sympathetically restored the whole building whilst restructuring and relaunching the whole business. All of the offerings in their traditional British menu are now freshly prepared by Paulette using local ingredients whenever possible, her Sunday lunches should NOT be missed! You will always find Vic behind the bar, meeting, greeting and serving his customers with a wonderful selection of local and not so local ales, fine wines and spirits not to mention a superb selection of coffees freshly ground and brewed to order PLEASE NOTE - opening hours are - Weds-Sat lunches 12pm-3pm Weds-Sat evenings 6pm-11pm Sun-Tue closed all day.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My partner and I came a couple of weeks ago as we didn't feel like cooking and on the first cooler day in a while fancied a warming bit of pub grub! We called and they had a table free so hurried down (5mins down the road!) and instantly felt welcome! The Holywell has this lovely cosy feeling, unlike some of the other chain pubs that we have locally which have a menu longer than your arm and no personal feeling whatsoever! I had scampi and chips and my partner had Steak and Ale pie (with an extra bit of stilton under the crust - YUM!). Our food was super tasty and hit the spot! The food tasted freshly cooked, was flavoursome and served with a smile, we couldn't have asked for any more. It is all very reasonaby priced as well. We also had a really wonderful New Years Eve spent here with family, so we knew the quality of food would be good, but it was great to experience it on a average weekday just the two of us!

1  Thank Charlotte N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b1ggv, Owner at The Holywell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Hi char-m-123 Many thanks for taking the time to leave a kind review - we are all very pleased you enjoyed our little pub and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 212 of 225 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were staying in Wellington for a cousins Golden Wedding party and they took us for Sunday lunch at the Inn as may years ago we attended their parents anniversary meal at this pub.
We live in South Wales and it was probably the BEST Sunday lunch that we have had out for many years if not the best
The meal was piping hot and the cauliflower cheese was magnificent, the service was top rate and the meal reasonably priced
We shall return next time we are in Wellington it was that good

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PeterS460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b1ggv, Owner at The Holywell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Hi Peter S
Many thanks for your very complimentary and informative review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and invite you to return sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Great little village , great owners and a great menu --- homemade cooked to order ...

If in the area ... You have to try this place

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony_Forder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b1ggv, Owner at The Holywell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi Tony_Forder
You said "great little village, great owners and a great menu" - all i can do is respond GREAT REVIEW - may thanks for you kind words and valued custom, come back and see us again when you are next nearby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A lovely inn which has recently been tastefully refurbished to a high standard . Good food if a little unadventurous but reasonably priced A genial landlord who knows how to keep his beer.Friendly efficient staff. Advise booking in advance as it is an increasingly busy watering hole.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tuffles2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b1ggv, Owner at The Holywell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi blackerswellington
Many thanks for your kind and informative review, we are all really pleased you had an enjoyable experience at The Holywell Inn - come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Ate here recently after reading the recommendation on Trip Advisor. So glad we did. Always looking for somewhere to meet friends which is between our homes and came up trumps this time. The food was first class and the service very quick and efficient. They were very busy with a large party in another room but this did not effect our meal at all. So very pleased we have discovered this place and will certainly be back again.

Thank Lel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b1ggv, Owner at The Holywell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Hi Lel1234
Many thanks for your kind review, we are pleased to have met your requirements and look forward to your return sometime soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Holywell Inn also viewed

Wellington, Somerset
Wellington, Somerset
 
Wellington, Somerset
Wellington, Somerset
 

Been to The Holywell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing