We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Byre

The Byre; Luxury holiday cottage, Somerset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre; Luxury holiday cottage, Somerset
Master bedroom with luxury furnishings and superb views Back garden with views over open fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
The Byre; Luxury holiday cottage, Somerset
Master bedroom with luxury furnishings and superb views
Back garden with views over open fields
Lounge, furnished in oak and leather, underfloor heating, log fire
Modern kitchen with quality built-in appliances
Dining area
Bedroom 2; twin , linking to superking double bed if needed
Bathroom
Ensuite to main bedroom
Front garden, with ample parking area
Bedroom
View from terrace. to open countryside
Luxury hot tub to rear of property
View from back garden
Swan with cygnets on canal
Canal
Hot tub
Hot tub
Local geese
Evening
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wellington, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MeeshD80
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday ”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I plus our 4yr old stayed for a week and had a fabulous time. We were greeted shortly after arrival by the owner who came armed with a box of local delights for us.

Accommodation was brilliant, very comfortable, spacious etc throughout. The garden and hot tub are just fabulous!

We visited Lyme Regis one day which is an hours drive away. Then visited the outlet in Glastonbury on another plus visited wookey hole on route to our holiday from London.

We will most definitely be returning again for another holiday! Thanks for having us!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grainnete...
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot ”
Reviewed July 26, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed here at the weekend for a wedding in nearby Huntsham. Very clean and tidy, plenty of fresh towels and lovely cider and local apple juice left in the fridge. Plus a lovely fruit loaf.

Hot tub was great!

Only issue during our stay was wifi not working, limited phone signal in the area so getting maps to work etc was hard. We got lost a few times.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dirty oven
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mario M
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed May 1, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely place to stay and relax. Wonderful scenery and peace full place.High standard
cottage with all you need. We highly recommend the place for a relaxing holiday.
Thank you Tim.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayleyhol...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing rural escape”
Reviewed April 13, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 4 relaxing nights here at the beginning of April, with young adult children and 2 dogs.
The Cottage was very well appointed and well presented. There were a couple of bottle of cider and a delicious cake to welcome us (Thank you Tim!)
I messaged Tim on arrival and he met us at the cottage to show us how the hot tub worked, check the chemical levels and tell us a bit about the area. He also came by early each morning to check the chemical levels (very discreet).
The hot tub and garden were enjoyed by all and we even managed to make use of the sun loungers on one day! Plenty of space for the dogs to run around and for the kids to kick a ball around.
It's a very short walk downhill to the canal where we walked/jogged the dogs each day. We enjoyed day trips to Tiverton and Taunton. We also visited Wellington and walked up to the monument (all reasonably short drives away from the cottage).
We also managed to find the source of the cider - The Sheppy cider farm. Worth a visit as it has a lovely little shop on site and a trail to walk the dogs.
Overall this was a very relaxing stay in a quiet rural location, so if this is what you're looking for then you'll really enjoy a stay at the Byre.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing
Liked least: Lack of food storage space in the kitchen
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbet K
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A country retreat!”
Reviewed March 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A very lovely place to stay, great views. The canal is on walking distance, its great for dog walks. The cottage has everything we needed, very cosy! We really enjoyed the hot tub under the stars.
Well equipped and very spacious.
We hope to come back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub was a great bonus!
Liked least: shower was a little bit small
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jen082011
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect peaceful retreat......”
Reviewed August 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you are looking for a quiet countryside getaway in a modern cottage then look no further than The Byre. Excellent choice for us as dog owners with the Great Western Canal 2 minutes away for dog walking. Also a lovely garden with friendly sheep in the adjoining field ! The hot tub proved a big hit with us and our 2 children too. Great owners Tim and Merry live next door and are there if you need them for anything......nothing was too much trouble. Thank you......we will be back !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and hot tub
Liked least: WiFi not brilliant
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing