We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Oasis of peace and Tranquility”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Byre

The Byre; Luxury holiday cottage, Somerset
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Byre; Luxury holiday cottage, Somerset
Master bedroom with luxury furnishings and superb views Back garden with views over open fields
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
The Byre; Luxury holiday cottage, Somerset
Master bedroom with luxury furnishings and superb views
Back garden with views over open fields
Lounge, furnished in oak and leather, underfloor heating, log fire
Modern kitchen with quality built-in appliances
Dining area
Bedroom 2; twin , linking to superking double bed if needed
Bathroom
Ensuite to main bedroom
Front garden, with ample parking area
Bedroom
View from terrace. to open countryside
Luxury hot tub to rear of property
View from back garden
Swan with cygnets on canal
Canal
Hot tub
Hot tub
Local geese
Evening
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Wellington, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Keith2016...
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oasis of peace and Tranquility”
Reviewed August 21, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I am must say i am writing the same comments as the other comments made, it was a fantastic place in a perfect location.
The Byre was very clean modern and faultless, the location, quiet, relaxing , (even with 2 children) and great views.
The hot tub was a much needed bonus after horse riding and Coasteering. A perfect place and Tim who owns it made us feel welcome and nothing was too much trouble and with some nice surprises when we arrived in the way of cider and cake. mmm

All in all a great place to go and would recommend anyone to go to relax and chill out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naomi4620...
L'Ametlla de Mar, Spain
1 review
“Peaceful!!!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

It was a very pleasant stay!!! My son had a great time. He loves the countryside and the game console was a bonus, as he seemed write at home! Shame the stay was so short and hope one day, we will return!!!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bwillg
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The perfect country escape”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We visited The Byre for a 4 night mid--week break. The cottage is furnished to an incredible standard and is very cozy. The hot tub is exactly what is needed with fantastic views over the countryside.
We was made to feel very welcome and enjoyed the bottles of local cider that was waiting for us.

I highly recommend visiting the Prince of Wales pub in Holcombe, is about 20 min walk and food is incredible and staff very welcoming.

We will hopefully be booking a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Mod cons, Views, Hot Tub
Liked least: The flies.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JLH-PGH
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Congenial host, all creature comforts and superb location”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Highly recommend this home from home with a lovely view. We had decent weather so made the most of the outdoor eating area. Being mid way between Sidmouth and Minehead both coasts were thoroughly explored as was the tow path at the bottom of the lane. Thank heavens for the hot tub to soak away the aches and pains. The dog was also suitably happy if exhausted. Special thanks to the thoughtful host.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, hot tub, fully equiped home from home
Liked least: There was nothing not to like!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma G
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lovely getaway!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We (2 couples) stayed at the Byre back in April this year for 2 nights. The cottage is beautifully furnished and has a real home from home feel to it. Everything you could need is provided for you, even a Wii console in the smaller bedroom!

There is a lovely walk just down the lane to the canal path which is nice and relaxed.

On arrival we were greeted by a welcome bottle of cider each and a cake, which we all thought was a special touch.

A big thank you to Tim the owner who was extremely helpful and was quick to respond to any questions we had.

The views are stunning & you are not at all overlooked. The hot tub is fantastic and we spent a lot of time taking in the views from it!

We absolutely loved it here, so much so that we are making a return visit in October for my sister's and I 30th birthday and we cannot wait!

Definitely recommend The Byre to anyone looking for a break away with beautiful views, amazing hot tub and peace and quiet! :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 10, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
harvey28
London,UK
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Stylish holiday home in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

'The Byre' is situated at the top of a winding country lane, just a short walk from an idyllic, unspoilt stretch of canal. It has a wonderful view over fields, all the more enjoyable when seen from the superb hot tub, which is maintained for you on a daily basis.

The house provides hotel-style accommodation, stylishly planned and very clean. The floors are slate, bedding good quality, beds excellent, kitchen well equipped and the living area comfortable. Both bedrooms have flat screen TVs and ensuite bathrooms, with excellent showers and fairly thick towels.

The caretaker is helpful, and you'll find apple juice, cider and chocolates in the fridge! The area is pretty and unspoilt, yet very close to the M5. It's a dog friendly place, and our labrador loved the canalside walks. We would have no hesitation in returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, stylish accommodation, hot tub
Liked least: Nothing - all was great
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing