We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect stay”

Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wellington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 17 Wellington B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect stay”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Booked in to Staple Cross Cottage on July 6th for 3 nights and we had a fantastic time. Rooms perfect in every way everything spotlessly clean and maintained to a very high standard. Fantastic breakfast, Monica and Roy run a FIRST CLASS Bed and Breakfast I’ve got to say that this was the best B&B I have ever stayed in on my travels .We all enjoyed our stay. VERY HIGHLY recommended and very relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael g G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staplecross, Owner at Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments which are really appreciated. Its good to know that you all had a relaxing stay here with us. Should you ever be planning another trip down to the West Country it would be great to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
18
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just back from a one night stay at Staplecross cottage, I have never felt so welcome at a B&B! The room was lovely and Monica and Roy are fantastic hosts, very amiable and incredibly helpful pointing out the best walks nearby and making sure we got a table for dinner at the bustling country pub next door. The B&B is in a beautiful spot surrounded by farmland and county lanes. I highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staplecross, Owner at Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We're really pleased you felt so welcome and enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 9, 2013

I was going to be in the area for a wedding in Huntsham, and needed a bed & breakfast for one night. The booking was made easily over the phone a few weeks prior to my visit.
On my stay, I found Monica & Roy to be extremely welcoming, helpful and good company. The room, as well as the whole cottage, were immaculate with everything you might need. I left after a good night's sleep with a delicious breakfast in my belly. And all very reasonably priced!
Thanks loads guys!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shark0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

A wonderful place - beautiful room full of small thoughtfulnesses, a superb breakfast and perfect hosts in Monica and Roy. Not to mention a great setting near a wonderful area public downland away from the hustle and bustle but close to a great pub with good beer and food. We couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed one night following a friend's wedding in Wellington.

Monica and Roy were great. The B+B is well decorated, quiet and spotless. The shower was amazing which we needed for our slightly fuzzy heads the morning. After a great breakfast Roy even drove us back to the venue in Wellington to pick our car up, couldn't have been more helpful.

Thanks

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommi_boyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was our second visit to Staple Cross and it was just as relaxing as the first.

Monica and Roy couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome and breakfast was fab! A real treat.
The cottage is next door to the pub (but that doesn't mean its noisy as it is a small village pub), and we can just walk out of the front door and straight into the pub for a lovely homecooked meal.It is also a very easy commute to Honiton, Exeter, Topsham and several National Trust places.
Staple Cross is the perfect getaway and we can't wait till the next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n4ncy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

I am actually local to the area coming from Bampton but now live in Oxforshsire. In the past we have frequently eaten at the Staple Cross but not for many years. We had still been drinking there due to their commitment to real ales but we felt the food had been lost in a world of nostalgia. But let me say that when we went there for Sunday lunch over the bank holiday weekend, the food was fabulous! After a long debate on the table about whether to have lasagne, sea food pie, freshly cooked fish, chicken burger or roast beef we all decided to go for a traditional roast. Tentatively sat on the edge of our seats discussing whether we should have gone for the chicken burger we recieved great 'banter' from the land lady. Truly very pleasant and making sure we were having a great time. Then the food came out and none of us had doubts about what we should have ordered. Perfectly cooked beef, crispy potatoes yet soft in the centre, crisp yorkshire pudding with a middle that soaked up the gravy to become moist, 4 vegetables and lashings of gravy. And the best bit £8.95!! Even though we ertr stuffed we had seen a pudding menu that needed some explanation. 'Grave Diggers Pudding' 'Malva Pudding' 'Mint Choc Cheesecake' and many more. So Grave diggers - Chocolate torte with chocolate mousse on top: Explanation - You'll be so full you;ll need a shovel to dig yourself out of the grave you will have dug by eating it. Malva - not sure but it is made with a secret recipe - cross between sticky toffe and treacle sponge (and apparently low fat!!). Mint choc cip cheesecake - Oreo base, mint choc flavoured cheesecake with white chocolate and milk drops. We had the Malva which was outstanding and goes perfectly with ice cream and cream (We coudln't decide which to pair it with so were given both with no extra charge). We also had the cheesecake which I know sounds odd but was truly delicious. Addmitidly we shared the 2 puddings between 4 as they would have been quite filling but I was tempted to stay into the evening just so I could try more on the menu!
I know this is a long review but I was so pleased with the service and the food I had to tell everyone about it. And after going out in London and the home counties to pay through the nose for average food and shockingly bad service I had to have a rant about how good it was. This isn't a michelin starred restaurant or trying to be anything its not. It's great food, brilliant service and a delight on the pocket. 4 people, drinks, mains and 2 puddings - £60!!
DEFINTELY GO!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank verity h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wellington hotels
2.8 mi away
The Old Dairy at Bishops Barton
0.0 mi away
Runnington Cider Barn
Runnington Cider Barn
#1 of 1 in Runnington
40 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Beambridge Inn
Beambridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Sampford Arundel
90 reviews
5.3 mi away
Backways Farmhouse B&B
Backways Farmhouse B&B
#9 of 17 in Wellington
28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greenham Hall
Greenham Hall
#2 of 2 in Greenham
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast

Property: Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast
Address: Staple Cross Cottage Staple Cross | Hockworthy, Wellington TA21 0NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wellington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wellington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious West Country bed and breakfast located in a peaceful rural hamlet on the Devon-Somerset borders amidst beautiful countryside. Immaculate guest rooms full of character are provided in this former 18th century coaching stables (1 twin & 1 double). There is also the added bonus of a great Inn right by for evening meals. Plus the M5 motorway is just a short drive away and a mainline train station too, allowing easy access to a multitude of destinations around the South West. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Staple Cross Cottage Bed & Breakfast Wellington, Somerset, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing