We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (46)
Filter reviews
46 results
Traveler rating
46
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews site manager honesty shop fire pit hot running water bbq pack gas hob village shop breakfast pack toilet and shower own devices canvas walls the wood burning oven pigs farm wheelbarrow goats logs
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 46 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2018

We had a fantastic family holiday at Laterns and Larks. The tent was very plush and the setting is really pretty. We liked that there are not too many tents crammed together. It was a great base to explore Exmoor, Dunster and Lynmouth. We purchased the breakfast pack and the BBQ pack and we would recommend these. The honesty shop is really useful too. We had such a relaxing time. John is a great manager too.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank TXG2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2018

Arriving at the site after almost 20mins of driving through what seemed to be a maze for cars, we were amazed by the seclusion and natural beauty of the site. It really is un spoilt and off the beaten track. We parked up and said 'hi' to the pigs and goats and were soon welcomed by Alan who was standing in for the John who we were told was the usual site manager. Alan was very friendly and informed us where everything was on the site and showed us around the honesty shop etc. He then pointed us in the direction of our glamping tents. With the kids waiting with their wheel barrows full of our luggage, we took a short stroll to our tent. We were blown away with the size and how well equipped this tent was. To be honest, it's more like a lodge with canvas walls. There's a huge log burning stove and also a 2 gas hob in the kitchen. The toilet and shower areas were plenty big enough and everything was spotlessly clean. We were so comfortable here and loved how the tents were set in the ground and nicely spaced out. The grass was left to grow tall and small paths cutting through really made you feel isolated. Everything is thought of, and you really are made to feel at home. The kids enjoyed the space and freedom, there's a small wooded area and a stream close by for the kids to explore. Our dog enjoyed the freedom too and loved bounding through the long grass.
I can't rave about this enough, we will definitely return to this site and can't wait to try others in the group too

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LornaFlint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2018 via mobile

Well what can I say ? We had a fantastic time! The weather was not great but that did not matter in the slightest! The glamping tent was superb it had everything you needed for a fabulous time ! Never ending supply of logs for the wood burning oven and the wood burning hot tub ! The Grandchildren had the time of their lives and my daughters 29th Birthday with her husband could not have gone better !! I can’t recommend this destination enough! It was so very special ! Well done to all involved you have created a perfect sanctuary for young and old !! Just superb !

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Dickinson22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

The tents are more like houses with canvas walls! The setting is beautiful, the welcome warm.
It´s definitely off the beaten track, but there are lovely walks from the campsite. If you need a destination there´s the pub or the village shop for extra supplies and afternoon tea.
Had a very peaceful and restful week.. thank-you John.

Room tip: Kingfisher tent at the end means you won´t be disturbed
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018

I have just spent a really super weekend here with my daughter and 4 of her children + Archie - The Dog. We were met by John on arrival and shown the well stocked Honesty shop and then taken over to our 'Tent' - with our belongings piled up in wheelbarrows. When I say 'Tent' this is a loose use of the word as the Tent is amazing - a lovely spacious Safari Style dwelling with 3 bedrooms + open plan kitchen and living space and most importantly a proper loo and a shower - + hot running water! The beds were comfortable, with nice white bedding and big white fluffy bath sheets (I would suggest that perhaps hand towels should be provided as well). The Furnishings were of good quality and everything was to a high standard.
Outside there is a lovely decked terraced with seating and views across the meadow and over to woodland. There is an area of cut grass with a Fire Pit and seating just below the steps from the terrace and with long meadow grass to each side of our pitch there is plenty of room to play.
We were provided with a map of the Farm and on Saturday, followed one of the footpaths through the woods down to a super stream where we could paddle and build dams - shaded from the very hot sun by ancient oaks. Evenings were spent chatting, playing Kick the Can and making S'mores on the fire pit.
The setting is very tranquil and peaceful - with only the sounds of nature - no traffic noise - and certainly a good place to spend time with family and friends, recharging your batteries and making memories.
When I asked my little grandson - Oliver - yesterday which part of the weekend he had liked best - he thought for a minute and then said 'All of it. Granny' and to me that just sums it up!

Date of stay: July 2018
2  Thank Watlingtonwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews