We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveler rating
49
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
49
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews site manager honesty shop hot running water fire pit bbq pack gas hob village shop breakfast pack own devices toilet and shower canvas walls the wood burning oven collecting wood comfortable beds pigs wheelbarrow farm
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 49 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

A groups of 28 of us took over the whole campsite for the early May bank holiday. First I have to say the weather was spectacular so that did help make the weekend amazing but more importantly John and the set up he has in Kittisford is just fabulous.
The tents are super comfortable and equipped with absolute everything you need for your trip. The site was perfect for a large group as we made the most of the “cricket wicket”, “football and rugby pitch”, tennis court... etc. We enjoyed walks to the woods and by the pond and stream.
All our needs were brilliantly catered for by John and as soon as we ran low on wood - he appeared to deliver more. The Honesty shop had everything we needed and was conveniently located so not far to walk. The hot tub was well used and the other great feature was that John allowed us the facility to charge our electric car which was great to know after a long drive from London. I cannot recommend this kind of holiday and specifically this location enough. Loved it! Thanks very much.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Nurette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2018 via mobile

Fab outdoors retreat with family. Our two under 4s had a great time playing around the tent. This glamping experience perfectly encapsulates the best bits of camping without the cold damp bits. John is always on the end of the phone should you have any issues.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2018

We love glamping with Lantern and Larks - having been before to the Rutland and Suffolk sites, this was our first time at their Somerset site. It’s like camping, but with a more sturdy tent (glamorous camping), a real fire, a proper bed with cosy blankets, warm duvets and fluffy pillows, even hot running water… It’s technically a cheats way to get outdoors (and stay outdoors) for a few nights. And what an experience it is, completely different to a city break or a weekend away in a country cottage, this is a unique adventure. From the moment you arrive, you feel like this is going to be fun… you park your car up in a designated carpark and use wheelbarrows to cart your luggage off into the countryside – no space for cars next to your tents, so expect to get stuck in from the start! There are options of cooking on an outdoor fire pit, a gas stove in the kitchen or a wood fired stove in the living room, there are plenty of fun recipes to try out here if you have the time. We’ve marinated whole joints of pork, beef and lamb, leaving them in tubs to soak up the flavours for days before, then searing them in a pan on the hot fire, surrounded by trees and sunshine (sometimes a little rain!) before wrapping them in foil and placing them directly in the flames for 30 minutes (give or take, it’s not an exact science!) to produce a Sunday Roast with a difference. Campfire cooking doesn't need to be boring! And don’t forget this is the perfect place to toast marshmallows… this is a right of passage for any camper or glamper, it just has to be done. The mud here is very ‘red’, so don’t visit with clothing that might be precious to you… there were a few slips in the wet mud and some very mucky boots that had to stay out in the boot room at the back throughout our stay – we didn’t want to get the rugs and wooden flooring mucky!
A new addition to the Somerset site is an exclusive hot tub alongside one of their tents – you need to request this on booking, this offered a fantastic view as the sun set, just beautiful. Everything feels, tastes, seems better outdoors somehow!

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2018 via mobile

What a fantastic place, this was our 5th Glamping experience and best by far....Tents are set up really well and very spacious, lots of room for our family of 5 and our dog, you can also cook in your own kitchen which is a real bonus.
The place is so peaceful and beautiful.....lovely walks and has a great tree swing in the woods for big kids and little ones....we had the hot tub in which was so easy to heat and was amazing and very warm.
This was the perfect Glamping and John was just a great guy and very helpful....couldn’t do enough for you!
Will be back definitely.
Thank you John and family x

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017

2nd time & 2nd site with L&L (Suffolk 2016). John welcomed us & helped wheelbarrow our mountain of stuff up the gravelled path to our tent. The hot water bottles, site maps & picnic blanket were welcome touches. Having spent last year boiling/cooling water for my 2 (4 & 7) to drink it was a welcome relief when John advised us the spring souced tap water was tested & treated & safe to drink straight from the tap! The site is laid out with five tents near the edges of the Blancheon field with mown paths and a large circular meeting place in the centre. We had the freedom to roam over the majority of the farmland & permissive paths (with gated access points around the field) enabled us to see more of the countryside although I did have to keep an eye on my youngest who kept trying to escape the campsite! Unlike Suffolk the farm woods are a small walk from the campsite: to the entrance, across the road, into the opposite Broad Close field (immediately turn right into Brewers Close field keeping the hedge to your left). The Woods entrance at the top of that field. Children bewailed the short walk however delighted to find the tree/log swings & fairy doors (John said there should be 5/6 when we told him we only found 1 (a fairy door count is planned)). The children enjoyed meeting the pigs, goats & checking for chicken eggs as they visited the honesty shop stocked with basic food items, campfire treats & bbq condiments (ready meals are no longer stocked). A real plus was the fridge which John advised we could use to store chilled food so that kept our bbq meats & a few perishable items fresh. We sourced further provisions from the Stawley Village Shop (TA21 0HH - next to the Primary School). Top tip: sat nav & shop road signs will direct you to turn left exiting the campsite entrance. You can, however we found the roads v. narrow & a bit hilly (challenging when reversing). For wider roads turn RIGHT exiting the campsite entrance & sat nav will redirect. For everything else we used the Co-op in Wiveliscombe. Trips to Cleeve Abbey, Tropiqaria etc. were balanced with meals at the excellent Notley Arms Inn in Monksilver & solicitous Rock Inn at Waterrow (very limited parking). If visiting Diggerland try the excellent Five Bells Inn at Clyst Hydon. We ate by the campfire most nights however from experience we took extra high luminosity battery powered lanterns to help to cook by & also dine/read/play by when the wind & weather drove us indoors with smaller torches for those little night time visits to the facilities.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews