We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ourem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

While visiting Fatima this summer I stayed in the Pousada de Ourem . If you have never stayed in a Pousada, you must try One. This is one of several government owned hotels that are located in historical buildings or locations that have been converted to hotels. This particular location used to be a hospital located next to a castle. It is on top of a hill and has beautiful views of the area. The room was on the small side but the lovely balcony extended the area with its great views. The location is remote so a car would be advised, especially if you are visiting Fatima as it is 10-15 miles away from here. The staff were exceptionally helpful and the food was good enough. The price was very good and if you are a senior there are discounts for your stay. All in all it was a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GramgramDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay at Pousada Conde de Ourém.

Effectively we are proud of our Castle and strive daily to achieve the legitimate expectations of those who visit us, we are pleased to know that we were able to provide you memorable moments.


We liked to have you with us, and we hope that this was the first of many moments at Pousadas de Portugal.

best regards,

Sara Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    92
    29
    8
    4
See reviews for
62
112
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This was a very cute Pousada that rests at the top of the hill near the Castle. It has a great pool overlooking the town below and I was happy with everything.

The wifi worked pretty well but you had to keep inserting the codes which was a pain at all of the pousadas. however, this was the only pousada where my wifi worked in the room.

Staying in this town was one of my favorite experiences for my trip.

Tip: There is a restaurant called Taberna Do Costelo which is about a min walk from the hotel and was one of the best culinary experiences I have ever had. It is like having a great chef as your personal cook. Very intimate , very different type of dining experience. It is also very cheap which is just an added bonus.


Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Morgan,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for the nice comments about the ambience.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed our Pousada.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future!

best regards,

Sara Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I know I'm repeating what other reviewers have said but the location is what makes this Pousada so special; it's perched on a hill and converted from original village buildings just below the ruined 12th century castelo.
The designs of the rooms are constrained by the conversion and so they are not particularly big but comfortable. The outdoor pool is a pleasant bonus.The hotel internet only seemed to work in the public areas.
The weakest part of our stay was the restaurant. Due to the remote location we ate there more that we would otherwise have liked. Maybe the menu is a bit ambitious for the kitchen staff but there was a series of disappointments: steak served on a bed of sliced potatoes with half the potatoes not cooked through, meat with a tepid accomanying risotto, the blandest mushroom tart imaginable. And a first for me in Portugal: no salad appeared on the menu although it was available if requested and then bizarrely (if you have visited Portugal you will know what I mean) I had to specially ask for oil and vinegar to be brought to the table to dress it.
Nevertheless, overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Westyorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Ourém and for taking the time to post your opinion.
We deeply regret that your stay did not meet your expectations, and we would like to apologize for the inconveniences you might have experienced. We will take the necessary steps to improve the quality of our services.
The feedback from our Guest’s and friends are to us a stimulus and an opportunity for improvement
We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal.

Best Regards,

Sara Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Enjoyed stay at hotel. Room had a large balcony with great views of the area. Little village were hotel nice to walk around with the fort and a few restaurants nearby. Rooms were modern and nicely decorated.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Mr. David

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay at Pousada Conde de Ourém.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed our Pousada ,specifically your room.

We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal.
Best Regards,

Sara Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
86 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have been vacationing in Europe for a number of years and my favorite spot is central Portugal. The Castle Ourem is about as central as it gets and the Posada is perched right at the top within the old castle walls. The Posada is new with none of the old world charm lost in the making. The rooms are perfect, the staff very helpful and the food at the restaurant is first class. The Posada is right in the heart of the small village and within easy walking distance to the castle proper. There are several local "Mom & Pop" taverns right outside the Posada front door which are a must visit in the evening along with a drink of Ginja. Don't pass this place up if you are in the vicinity.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, but you only want to sleep there; the real value is in the little villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jt093812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Ourém and for taking the time to post your opinion.

We believe that our staff are our main asset and we're happy you enjoyed our restaurante and the rooms.
Such comments certainly help us motivate our staff and, most importantly, assist us to provide a more personal and efficient service.

We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal,

Best Regards,

Sara Pereira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Pousada. Beautiful setting and so peaceful. Our room looked out over the valley; we sat watching the twinkling lights, and then in the morning the fog lifting as the sun came out.
Breakfast buffet was lovely, scrambled eggs cooked to our liking by Vasco. Such personal service. During the day, we stopped in the little cafe, that is just down the street; and toured the beautiful little church that sits atop the mountain. Short drive to Fatima, and a beautiful lunch at a roadside restaurant between Fatima and Ourem.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for the nice comments about the staff and ambience.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed our Pousada, a lovely retreat near Fátima.

We hope to welcome you again at Pousadas de Portugal,

Kind Regards,

Ricardo Gomes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights on our 15 day tour. This pousada is located near the top of one of the highest hills in the area, right below an interesting castle, in the old Ourem village. All roads leading to this pousada are quite steep and narrow - parking in front of the pousada is minimal but there's lots of free parking near the church.The rooms are comfortable, the staff friendly (minimal staff on duty at this time but enough for our needs). Had dinner at the pousada one night - it was reasonably good. The other night we ate out at the nearest tavern/restaurant run by an elderly couple...an interesting experience! Not much to do or explore in this small village - quite peaceful. Enjoyed drinks/tea/coffee/snacks at a couple village bars. We visited Tomar and the Convento do Cristo as our main day trip - we also attempted a quick visit to Fatima but took one look at the crowds/traffic/tour busses and turned back to Ourem. Driving in this area was confusing because some new IC roads were not in our GPS maps. Next stop Alijo.

Room Tip: Our room just looked onto a narrow back street so no view but the room itself was fine. Rooms on oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canoeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ourem
9.8 mi away
Hotel dos Templarios
4.8 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 39 in Fatima
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
4.9 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Estalagem Santa Iria
4.6 mi away
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
Hotel Anjo de Portugal
#2 of 39 in Fatima
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Avenida de Fatima
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel

Property: Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel
Address: Largo Dom Joao Manso | 2490-481 Ourém, Ourem 2490-481, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Ourem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ourem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada do Conde de Ourém is a charming historic hotel set in a medieval town, between three major touristic sites: Batalha, Tomar and just 10 km away from Fátima. The hotel has a garden with an outdoor pool and sun terrace. The restaurant serves local cuisine and the bar serves a variety of drinks. All of the rooms have air conditioning, a minibar and a TV. Within Ourém there is a 15th-century castle, also known as Paço dos Condes de Ourém and the Serras de Aire and Candeeiros Natural Park is about an hour away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Ourem Fatima Conde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing