We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Casa Catao(Ourem)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveler rating
107
109
37
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
109
37
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolstunning locationyoung stafftiny streetsquiet roomcharming hotelsuperior rooma great place to staycentral portugalpestana grouphistoric castlesmall mountainleft hand sidehillvalleyfatimagps
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 267 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have been vacationing in Europe for a number of years and my favorite spot is central Portugal. The Castle Ourem is about as central as it gets and the Posada is perched right at the top within the old castle walls. The Posada is new with none of the old world charm lost in the making. The rooms are perfect, the staff very helpful and the food at the restaurant is first class. The Posada is right in the heart of the small village and within easy walking distance to the castle proper. There are several local "Mom & Pop" taverns right outside the Posada front door which are a must visit in the evening along with a drink of Ginja. Don't pass this place up if you are in the vicinity.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, but you only want to sleep there; the real value is in the little village right outside the front door.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jt093812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at Pousada de Ourém and for taking the time to post your opinion.

We believe that our staff are our main asset and we're happy you enjoyed our restaurante and the rooms.
Such comments certainly help us motivate our staff and, most importantly, assist us to provide a more personal and efficient service.

We hope you can choose again Pousadas de Portugal,

Best Regards,

Sara Pereira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Pousada. Beautiful setting and so peaceful. Our room looked out over the valley; we sat watching the twinkling lights, and then in the morning the fog lifting as the sun came out.
Breakfast buffet was lovely, scrambled eggs cooked to our liking by Vasco. Such personal service. During the day, we stopped in the little cafe, that is just down the street; and toured the beautiful little church that sits atop the mountain. Short drive to Fatima, and a beautiful lunch at a roadside restaurant between Fatima and Ourem.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the valley.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cmgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for the nice comments about the staff and ambience.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed our Pousada, a lovely retreat near Fátima.

We hope to welcome you again at Pousadas de Portugal,

Kind Regards,

Ricardo Gomes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights on our 15 day tour. This pousada is located near the top of one of the highest hills in the area, right below an interesting castle, in the old Ourem village. All roads leading to this pousada are quite steep and narrow - parking in front of the pousada is minimal but there's lots of free parking near the church.The rooms are comfortable, the staff friendly (minimal staff on duty at this time but enough for our needs). Had dinner at the pousada one night - it was reasonably good. The other night we ate out at the nearest tavern/restaurant run by an elderly couple...an interesting experience! Not much to do or explore in this small village - quite peaceful. Enjoyed drinks/tea/coffee/snacks at a couple village bars. We visited Tomar and the Convento do Cristo as our main day trip - we also attempted a quick visit to Fatima but took one look at the crowds/traffic/tour busses and turned back to Ourem. Driving in this area was confusing because some new IC roads were not in our GPS maps. Next stop Alijo.

Room Tip: Our room just looked onto a narrow back street so no view but the room itself was fine. Rooms on other side might have better views? Beds at all the pousadas are firm/excellent with quality sheets/pillows.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canoeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This Pousada in a old an quite village just below the fortress of Ourem was a peacefull stopover on the way from Porto to Lisbon. Nice rooms, extremely well kept property and spank clean. Restaurant serves excellent dishes at a very reasonable price. Breakfast buffet is generous. The view from old Ourem is breathtaking. Besides this Pousada is only a 15 minutes driving distance from Fatima. Parking is scarce. You might have to leave the car outside the old Ourem village for the night.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view towards east. Most of them have a little balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank picafloralpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Beautifully located inside the Fortress of Ourém, this Pousada is comfortable, well decorated, the rooms are quite good and service is very good, as expected. The only downside is the restaurant which, being reasonably good, didn't live up to our expectations (which were high to start with).

Overall, it's a lovely place to stay when in the area and I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews