We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay to visit Fatima”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ourem
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Owen Sound, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect stay to visit Fatima”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Pousada. Beautiful setting and so peaceful. Our room looked out over the valley; we sat watching the twinkling lights, and then in the morning the fog lifting as the sun came out.
Breakfast buffet was lovely, scrambled eggs cooked to our liking by Vasco. Such personal service. During the day, we stopped in the little cafe, that is just down the street; and toured the beautiful little church that sits atop the mountain. Short drive to Fatima, and a beautiful lunch at a roadside restaurant between Fatima and Ourem.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cmgrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Ourem, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience and for the nice comments about the staff and ambience.

We are delighted to know you have enjoyed our Pousada, a lovely retreat near Fátima.

We hope to welcome you again at Pousadas de Portugal,

Kind Regards,

Ricardo Gomes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    103
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
68
122
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights on our 15 day tour. This pousada is located near the top of one of the highest hills in the area, right below an interesting castle, in the old Ourem village. All roads leading to this pousada are quite steep and narrow - parking in front of the pousada is minimal but there's lots of free parking near the church.The rooms are comfortable, the staff friendly (minimal staff on duty at this time but enough for our needs). Had dinner at the pousada one night - it was reasonably good. The other night we ate out at the nearest tavern/restaurant run by an elderly couple...an interesting experience! Not much to do or explore in this small village - quite peaceful. Enjoyed drinks/tea/coffee/snacks at a couple village bars. We visited Tomar and the Convento do Cristo as our main day trip - we also attempted a quick visit to Fatima but took one look at the crowds/traffic/tour busses and turned back to Ourem. Driving in this area was confusing because some new IC roads were not in our GPS maps. Next stop Alijo.

Room Tip: Our room just looked onto a narrow back street so no view but the room itself was fine. Rooms on oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canoeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut USA
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

This Pousada in a old an quite village just below the fortress of Ourem was a peacefull stopover on the way from Porto to Lisbon. Nice rooms, extremely well kept property and spank clean. Restaurant serves excellent dishes at a very reasonable price. Breakfast buffet is generous. The view from old Ourem is breathtaking. Besides this Pousada is only a 15 minutes driving distance from Fatima. Parking is scarce. You might have to leave the car outside the old Ourem village for the night.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view towards east. Most of them have a little balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank picafloralpino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Beautifully located inside the Fortress of Ourém, this Pousada is comfortable, well decorated, the rooms are quite good and service is very good, as expected. The only downside is the restaurant which, being reasonably good, didn't live up to our expectations (which were high to start with).

Overall, it's a lovely place to stay when in the area and I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Readington, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

After a visit to Fatima my family and I stayed at this charming Pousada. We had several rooms with grown children and a 10 month old grandchild ( who I may say behaved beautifully) My husband and I have stayed at 5 other locations through out Portugal and always enjoy our stay. The rooms were very clean and we had a view of the side of the church . I loved the church bells. The pool was great after a long day and the views were spectacular., service was slow at the pool . The courtyard was just so charming were we were able to enjoy coffee and brandy after dinner. The staff was wonderful especially the ladies in the main resturant. . The only negative was the lack of signs to get to the Pousada and the roads are extremely tight and very difficult to maneuver especially if you have a large vechicle. If you are not afraid of heights then the drive may even be exciting for you. When we finally arrived we were told by the front desk that they have never had a client say to them that they had difficuly finding the place or any feedback about the roads which I knew immeditaly could not possibly be accurate. I was able to speak to guests during our stay while at the pool and they had the experience with finding the Pousada so I knew it was not just me. We actually had a GPS and with the cordinates it kept taking us the castle above. All in all a wonderful place to stay, dinner was okay, breakfast was good with a decent selection. Drinks both at the pool and courtyard were good and service was overall very good and very friendly. I would defintely recommend this place to friends or colleagues and my family would defintely stay there again but perhaps they will keep me home because the road was just a bit much for me.

Room Tip: request the rooms with a view of possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This hotel is a beautiful retreat in a rural area. It is simple, but inspiring, and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Unless you are a proficient 'cyclist, a car is essential and it is necessary to keep a sharp look out to find the Pousada de Ourem. Pilgrims wishing to travel to Fatima have an ideal stop in this lovely village where there are some interesting walks, especially to a mediaeval castle on the top of the hill. There are a few shops, but no night clubs! There is a memorial plaque on a house to Catherine of Braganza, the Portuguese Queen of Charles II, who stayed in a house in the village on the way up to the castle before travelling to England for her wedding to Charles II. England received Bombay as a result of the marriage contract.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brinley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Bartolomeu de Messines, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The pousada is set on a spectacular hill top with panoramic views of the surrounding countryside. My husband really enjoyed the drive especially the last bit, but can understand those reviews who did not enjoy this bit!! The room was clean and comfortable if a little basic. No view from the window but the layout of the building made this unavoidable. The building itself is beautiful though possibly could be a problem for anyone with mobility problems. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, they couldn't do enough for us. the resteurant was good if a little pricey, again the staff were very good. Breakfast was fine plenty of choice at the self service buffet. The pool area small but adequate and great for relaxing after a days sightseeing. Plenty to do in the surrounding area, but I would say a car is a must. Not much to do in the evening unless you are prepared to drive.
We had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend this pousada to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lilian l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gerente at Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay at Pousada Conde de Ourém.

Such comments certainly help us motivate our staff and, most importantly, assist us to provide a more personal and efficient service.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in a not too distant future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ourem
12.5 mi away
Hotel Lis Batalha Mestre Afonso Domingues
9.8 mi away
Hotel dos Templarios
4.8 mi away
Luz Houses
Luz Houses
#1 of 39 in Fatima
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Dom Goncalo Hotel & Spa
12.4 mi away
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
Hotel Casa do Outeiro
#1 of 4 in Batalha
355 reviews
7.5 mi away
Estalagem Santa Iria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel

Property: Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel
Address: Largo Dom Joao Manso | 2490-481 Ourém, Ourem 2490-481, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Santarem District > Ourem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ourem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pousada do Conde de Ourém is a charming historic hotel set in a medieval town, between three major touristic sites: Batalha, Tomar and just 10 km away from Fátima. The hotel has a garden with an outdoor pool and sun terrace. The restaurant serves local cuisine and the bar serves a variety of drinks. All of the rooms have air conditioning, a minibar and a TV. Within Ourém there is a 15th-century castle, also known as Paço dos Condes de Ourém and the Serras de Aire and Candeeiros Natural Park is about an hour away by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pousada de Ourem - Fatima Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada De Ourem Fatima Conde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing