We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms nice, staff not so much” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Lincoln
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Rooms nice, staff not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The main attraction of this hotel is it's close vicinity to the Malpensa Airport. Unfortunately it's not all that convenient as the hotel shuttle isn't all that easy to find at the airport, and only runs once an hour. There were many people waiting and it was very crowded once it did arrive, with several people having to stand on the bus. We had a group of 6 people and no shuttle accomodations were offered for an early flight so we had to take a taxis. The night before we asked the desk attendent and they were going to make arrangements for a taxi that could take all of us and our luggage. That morning the man behind the desk said that wasn't possible, and proceeded to scold us for making the taxi drivers wait when some of us were down at the front door early, but were waiting for the rest of our party and it wasn't quite even the time we had asked for the taxis yet! The man working behind the desk on the morning of13 July, 2013 needs to remember it's his customers who are paying his salary and be more polite and friendly!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 62Patti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear 62Patti,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. It is pleasing to know that you found our rooms to be nice. However, I would like to apologize that the service you received was not up to par on this visit. I have taken note of your feedback and I will have this relayed to our team to ensure similar incidents could be avoided in the future.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    287
    178
    56
    41
See reviews for
73
239
57
249
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We booked this hotel because we had an early morning flight (6.30am). The earliest free shuttle gets to the airport at 5.45am, but to check in bags we had to get to the airport by 5.30. The hotel booked a taxi for us. We were extremely surprised when we arrived at the airport (after a three minute trip!) and were told that it was a fixed price of 18 euros. The hotel should have warned us of this, particularly as the taxi driver was inside chatting to the staff before we left.
A few other complaints - the free internet advertised is only for an hour (this is in the small print, to be fair, but we hadn't realised). We tried to call room service to order dinner, and dialed room service three times, the reception twice, and even tried calling the restaurant before giving up (this was at 9.45pm, and the prices for room service go up at 10pm - not sure if that is related).
The bed is pretty comfortable, and although the room was small that was all you need for a night before the flight. It is certainly not four star though. If it wasn't for the lack of shuttle and the extremely overpriced taxi to the airport, it would be fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtay2247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ValentinaBrambilla, Proprietario at Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear jtay2247,
thank you for your recent stay in our hotel. First of all we apologize for any inconvenience you suffered. We comprehend that your main problem was with the taxi driver, and not specifically with our services. We see you have had an overall good experiece regarding position of the hotel, quality of the sleep, room and cleanliness. About the room service, that runs 24 hours a day, we apologize for the lack of answer you signal. This is really not representative of our standard and we will take all the necessary steps in order to improve the service. About the taxi fare, we just would like to say that the hotel and its staff have not any say in the matter, we only know that there are fix rates from the hotels around the airport to the Terminal, and 18 euros is the normal fee (even if we are so close). We apologize if our staff have had a non professional attitude with the cab driver. Thank you for you stay and best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Somma Lombardo hotels

Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
174 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed here prior to a 6am flight. We were a party of six so had three rooms. Because we came by train and then planned to get the shuttle to the hotel, our stay got off to a bad start. At the airport, we asked about where to get the shuttle.and we're told two possible exits, neither of which were right. Turns out the shuttle was at exit 4 right beside the information booth! The shuttle comes to stop 19 outside and comes only once an hour. Taxis will refuse to take yo to hotel--we tried and were told they would call whic the driver appeared to do and said shuttle would come in 5-7 minutes. No shuttle and call to hotel said we had to wait the hour for next shuttle ( we missed it by a couple of minutes). Shuttle also picks up for Holiday Inn Express so was standing room only. Our friends who arrived later at airport were told same info by airport information person despite my having given her correct info!
Arrived at hotel, check in very slow, due to number coming on shuttle and only one working person (other was on phone for some time). Second person got off phone and helped us. Was curt, but we got room, which was nice,comfortable beds and to our delight had an ice machine. About fifteen minutes after arrival I went down to print out boarding pass. Internet said I had already used allotted hour (you are only given one hour free Internet). Went to talk to same woman who checked us in who said I obviously used the hour in my room. Pointed out I had not been in hotel for a hour yet. She gave me a nasty look and curtly gave me an access code for "another" hour. My check out experience was an equally nasty man. We had to arrange taxis through hotel as no shuttle was offered until 5:30 am. Taxis were there early and cost 18 euro each for short ride to airport.

So room was good, staff were horrible, shuttle service almost on-existent. But there are few choices near the Airport and the cost was good through Priceline.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phxchica127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear phxchica127,

Thank you for your review. All our guest comments are valuable and we consider them seriously in the consistent endeavor to improve the quality of our products and service.

I am truly sorry to hear your issues with our shuttle service and staff. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and dissatisfaction this has caused you.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Value - This was good value for around £40.

How to get there - Take the 4th exit door out of airport and it's stop 19 for free hotel bus. It is too far to walk and there is no pavement even if you wanted to.

Location - Its very scruffy and unattractive around this area, it looks like an industrial estate. There is no where to buy anything or anywhere to walk. There are no shops to buy anything, so get what you need at the airport.

Description - This is a contemporary comfortable hotel. Kettle in the room and with a TV. There is a little gym and sauna at basement level. I was in the back room and the air conditioning units were noisy at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear A_Guy_Called_Phil,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. It is regrettable that your stay was negatively impacted by our location. I hope this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Thank you again for staying with us and for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
164 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

My recent stay at the Crowne Plaza near Malpensa Airport in Milan was an exceptional experience. Booking the room via delta.com allowed a super nightly rate and was very convenient from and to the airport for a one night stay. The decor was pleasing, the food great, and the reception staff very patient and understanding and well trained.
Be aware, costs can accrue quickly as dinner is extra, breakfast is extra, turkish bath and sauna are extra, computer usage is extra. One nice feature, which I didn't use, was bikes for rent for an affordable fee.
Since I had Euros left from my Italy trip, reception was agreeable to accepting that currency and placing remainder of balance on my credit card which I greatly appreciated. I fyou decide to use the bath/sauna, please inform the desk an hour before vs. the 20 minutes recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LvmjV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed there with my wife in June 2013. The room size was just perfect for two of us. At first I was a little disappointed because the A/C in our room wasn't working, but then after letting the reception know...they changed our room.
The breakfast and dinner at the hotel is really good, even though it's a little expensive (around 20 Euros pp). The hotel provides a free pick up and drop service to and from the airport, which is really helpful not only if you're travelling outside Milan but also if you plan to visit the centre. You can easily take a tube to the centre. Would definitely recommend this hotel if you're visiting for a couple of days!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backyard / garden are larger then the front facing ones. Higher floors have more no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nitin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Very clean and a 10 minute drive from Malpensa airpot. Staff at reception were a bit rude complaining that we had paid a really low rate - we booked over Crown Plaza's website so why complain that your own rates are too low?

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starfruitsalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear starfruitsalad,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and it is our regret that we failed to deliver an exemplary performance in this context. Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you had encountered at the reception. I appreciate your candid feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
0.9 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
#3 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
Address: Case Nuove Via Arturo Ferrarin 7, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Milan-Malpensa Airport, an upscale 4 star superior hotel located just 2 minutes away from Milan Malpensa International Airport. Take advantage of our complimentary shuttle running to/from Terminal 1 on a scheduled basis and Terminal 2 on request. Alternatively, the airport offers a 24hr free shuttle service between the two Terminals with a bus stop just 500m from the hotel. Choose one of our contemporary and elegant rooms and stay connected with your family and colleagues using Wireless and Wired internet connection. If you need to work while dining either in our bar or restaurant, Wi-Fi connection will be on us! Treat yourself to a mouth watering Italian meal in our restaurant La Brughiera , recently awarded the Food & Beverage Excellence prize for 2008. The bar I Celti with its variety of snacks, healthy options and international drinks, represents the perfect place to do business or to enjoy moments of relax. After a tiring working day or before a long flight why not to unwind or exercise in our complimentary Health & Fitness Centre featuring cardio-fitness circuit, sauna and Turkish bath. Whether looking for a breakout room for interviews or a location for your next annual conference Crowne Plaza Milan-Malpensa Airport hotel boasts a modern conference centre equipped with the latest technology. Enjoy your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport Hotel Somma Lombardo
Crowne Plaza Somma Lombardo
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport Italy/Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing