We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay - comfortable enough.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Leverkusen, Germany
Level Contributor
892 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
“Short stay - comfortable enough.”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed one night here recently on a business trip which entailed catching the first flight out the next morning to Barcelona at 06:30 :-(
The stay was pleasant enough - the room was functional & clean and had all the basics to make one feel comfortable. The choice of evening meals in the restaurant was rather limited if, like myself, you didn't elect to go for the buffet. The reception staff were friendly if not overly efficient. The sort of place to use if you really are catching an early flight out the next day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyekaytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    301
    182
    59
    42
See reviews for
76
243
59
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
202 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights, travelling on business. The hotel is located in an industrial area/ residential / wooded area ( not sure as I got there late at night and left early in the morning each day…) and probably it is a good idea to have a GPS, other wise it could be tricky to find.

At check in I was greeted and the front desk staff was very helpful. The assigned room was quiet and very clean. The room had your typical Crowne Plaza amenities.

For some reason the hotel, did not really impressed me that much. It almost looks like your average 3 story, wood frame, hotel with a bit of extra furnishings trying to get to the Crowne Plaza standards. Overall the interior seems to have seen better days, and it is not the case where the property is in disrepair, it’s just wear. The very weak lighting, everywhere, does not help either. Between the color scheme and poor lighting the place is not exactly inviting…..

The internet was terribly slow at all times, and given that I need the internet for work that was very disappointing.
Another very disappointing feature was the TV. I have seen similar systems in other hotels, but not in a long time and thankfully not in many of them….In order to get to see even regular TV you have to go through an entire menu, where you have to make selection after selection, and avoid accidently ordering some shows or services…One of the most annoying features I have ever come across in hotels

Breakfast was good, good coffee, but once again nothing special about it, except the extra charge when compared to the Holiday Inn Express properties and several other 3 star hotels that I spent the last month in.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel, because of value, location, overall aspect of the property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valebilla, Proprietario at Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Traveler2009,
thank you for taking time to tell us about your experience. We apologize for any inconvenient you suffered or bad impression you recieved, because our goal is to satisfy customers under every aspect.
About the general aspect of our hotel we would like to say that our Crowne Plaza, 4 stars superior, has only 7 years of life, and furnishings have been chosen by an esteemed international architect. The setting is very cozy and the soffused lighting is something researched. We understand on the other hand that we can not meet everyone's personal taste.
About the internet connection we apologize for the inconvenient because it is not representative of our standard.
About the TV system, we use an international TV supplier that is very used in Crowne Plaza hotels. We are sorry if this system does not meet your preference, but we can say it is not difficult to use it and it is almost impossible to accidently order services not required, considering you have to clearly push the Enter Button in order to procede with the purchase.
Our property manage also Holiday Inn Express Malpensa Hotel where breakfast is always included.
Last of all we apologize for any inconvenient we may have caused and we hope to welcome you again in order to let you have a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Somma Lombardo hotels

Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2012

used this hotel twice for 1 night in between flights to rome and back to states. Totally up to date hotel, excellent rooms and beds are fantastic. used the room service for a late meal and it was excellent, hot and modest upcharge from the hotel dining room charge.
staff very helpfull, shuttle bus is on time to the airport but expect to wait if you get in not during the prime time.
Cost was very inexpensive
only downside was the cost of internet was 25(euros)! in this day an age it was free every other place we went in Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdbobcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Great location for the overnight traveler out of MXP airport. The room was great. Comfortable, very clean, well equipped and quiet. The restaurant & bar provided a very nice food and drink. The hotel appears grossly understaffed though! We saw only 3 staff serving the restaurant, bar and room service for the entire hotel! The great thing was that even though they were running around like 'headless chickens', they provided everyone with excellent service with a smile! It was my birthday the following day and my wife secretly arranged with the already overstretched Gabrielle to give me a wonderful surprise. He appeared with a cake and a candle out of nowhere exactly at midnight! Thank you Gabrielle! Also, the young girl working with him that night at the bar was wonderful. Only downer was the poor quality, over priced breakfast, otherwise it was a wonderful experience all around.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had to stay overnight at Milan Malpensa airport for an early flight the next day and so, being an IHC Platinum Priority Club member the airport Crowne Plaza sounded like a good choice. At 105 euros for two including breakfast the price was good. However, it is a 15 euro taxi ride, as even though it is listed as an airport hotel there is no way to walk there as it can only be reached by a freeway, and once there you are stuck - it is in a local village that consists mainly of boarded up houses and run down tenements. Not a place for a pleasant after dinner stroll. Yes it does have a courtesy bus but we were not told about it in our booking. On the way to the airport the next morning it was standing room only after a huge pick up from another hotel. Not a pleasant trip. Front desk staff were not helpful at all - worst reception I have ever had in a Crowne Plaza hotel. Yes we were upgraded ( the room was quite modetn but small, the bathroom good but the view was over a car storage yard) but I had to pay for wifi as I had already been upgraded (and was not offered the choice between free wifi or an upgrade when we checked in). But you do get an hour free wifi if you eat in the restaurant. Fine, but then when I checked out they tried to charge me for in room cable internet. Amazing! I was asked to sign some sort of declaration that I had not accessed the internet. Food was OK with good fresh salad buffet and acceptable breakfast.

Not recommended for an airport stopover, despite the price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeKayAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear DeeKayAdelaide,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay and for being one of our Platinum Priority Club members. I am happy you found our breakfast options commendable. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had because of our hotel staff services as well as internet services. I truly value your comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We will address these points and I hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

While I understand your stay was not 100% as it should have been. I do hope you can stay with us again so we can show you how truly great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed for just one night on 24th Sept. Arrived at terminal 2, Could not find the bus stop anywhere for the transfer, phoned the hotel to be told we would have to wait 55 minutes for the next transfer and we had just missed it, then the phone went down without telling us where to find it. As we were both feeling unwell we took a taxi and the grumpy taxi driver told us it would be 20 euros for his bother. He moaned the entire time to the hotel, which we ignored.

Hotel is quite nice in a fairly run down sort of area. Checked in all ok, Room was nice but nothing special, bed large and comfortable and both fell asleep for a couple of hours.

Once up and feeling better, not to mention hungry we went and looked at the menu, didn't fancy any of it. Far too fancy not to mention expensive and no bar alternative. We had a drink in the bar and took advantage of the free wifi to look for alternatives for somewhere to eat.

Walked about 10 minutes down the road to Hotel Cervo which served really lovely home made simple Italian food at good prices.

The next morning we went for breakfast at about 7;30 - that is when the disappointment really hit! It is a large restaurant and we struggled to find a cleaned table, there was hardly anything left for breakfast, no bread, no pastries, some cheese, meats and a little fruit. I waited 10 minutes after asking for hot water for my tea. people were having to have cereal off plates as there were no clean bowls and after a while there where no clean plates. It has to be the worst breakfast experience ever. Not sure if there was a staff issue as we counted 3 staff but they hardly ever seemed to be in the restaurant, nobody clearing tables, really bad.

We checked out quickly and took the transfer to the airport where we could get a decent drink and something to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neisar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Neisar,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience the shuttle service and the restaurant experience may have caused you. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured we will follow up to ensure the shuttle service system and the restaurant is running more smoothly.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gent - Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Good airport hotel
Going to Milan almost twice a month, this was my first stay at the Crowne Plaza Malpensa. Stayed here for 1 night as I had a very early flight back home.
Room was comfortable, with all amenities you would expect in this kind of hotel. The buffet dinner at the hotel was good and reasonable priced.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fitchy_gent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
0.9 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
1,308 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
1,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
1.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Malpensa
Hotel Villa Malpensa
#1 of 1 in Vizzola Ticino
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport

Property: Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
Address: Case Nuove Via Arturo Ferrarin 7, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Milan-Malpensa Airport, an upscale 4 star superior hotel located just 2 minutes away from Milan Malpensa International Airport. Take advantage of our complimentary shuttle running to/from Terminal 1 on a scheduled basis and Terminal 2 on request. Alternatively, the airport offers a 24hr free shuttle service between the two Terminals with a bus stop just 500m from the hotel. Choose one of our contemporary and elegant rooms and stay connected with your family and colleagues using Wireless and Wired internet connection. If you need to work while dining either in our bar or restaurant, Wi-Fi connection will be on us! Treat yourself to a mouth watering Italian meal in our restaurant La Brughiera , recently awarded the Food & Beverage Excellence prize for 2008. The bar I Celti with its variety of snacks, healthy options and international drinks, represents the perfect place to do business or to enjoy moments of relax. After a tiring working day or before a long flight why not to unwind or exercise in our complimentary Health & Fitness Centre featuring cardio-fitness circuit, sauna and Turkish bath. Whether looking for a breakout room for interviews or a location for your next annual conference Crowne Plaza Milan-Malpensa Airport hotel boasts a modern conference centre equipped with the latest technology. Enjoy your stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport Hotel Somma Lombardo
Crowne Plaza Somma Lombardo
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport Italy/Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing