We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Find!”

Samarcanda Ristorante Pizzeria
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Place where you can eat a very nice food or pizza, listen good chillout music in a etnic ambient very close to the malpensa airport and idea hotel Malpensa and Holiday inn express Malpensa, also possible drink nice cocktails and good selection of wine and beers on tap and bottle.
Flemington, NJ
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a Find!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The staff at the Holiday Inn at Malpensa Airport had only two suggestions for dinner: The Crown Plaza Hotel or Samarcanda. We found ourselves walking two blocks to the 'restaurant, pizzeria, lounge bar,' hoping for a decent meal. We were pleasantly surprised to find a brightly lit bar with a lovely dining area, a great wait staff, and an extensive menu. The wine list included a Sicilian nero d'avola, one of our favorite reds. The appetizer of local cheeses was delicious. And while the specials sounded wonderful, for us nothing could top the thin-crust pizza from the wood oven - a perfect ending to our trip to Italy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    395
    123
    28
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
959 reviews
448 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,256 helpful votes
“Average at Best”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Combination local restaurant and one serving nearby hotels. Food and service were below average (especially for Italy) but not to the point of being rated poor. Pizza's had limited taste and were probably the least favorite ones we had during our 15 days in Italy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RLWOrangePark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Italy”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We ate here on on first night in Italy, on our first visit to Italy. We thought the pizza was very good. And even though we ate some other very good pizza, this was still the best pizza. Nice glass of white wine. Very good salad. Reasonable prices. I hope I can return some day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 751Susan751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
485 reviews
293 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“A good place, once you find it”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We got directions to walk from the Holiday Inn Express, but we still managed to get a little lost. The neighborhood is deserted after dark, though not really scary. The food was good--be sure to listen to the server's advice. It appears to be a neighborhood place, with folks staying near the airport mixed in.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Myrna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Seriously, such high reviews?”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Well, either I ordered completely wrong or my taste buds differ from about 80% of the TA population.

I was staying in Sestri for a couple of weeks and almost had a wonderful dinner in Sestri for my last night, but thought it was wiser to head to MXP rather than drive in the middle of the night to the hotel. I decided to have my Last Supper at Samarcanda based on TA reviews. It is a lounge vibe, very loud with bar patrons and the blaring music from speakers in the restaurant area. Music was often American from (I hate to admit that I know this) the 1970's and 1980's. Only Americans and other tourists were there eating. The only Italians I saw/heard were ones hanging in the lounge area.

I had dinner around 10pm. A few people were there, and it was lots busier by 11. I'm guessing there are earlyand late crowds.

I was happy when I saw the pizza oven when I entered and decided to stay despite the bar feel and loud music.

The forno was fired by wood according to the pizza chef. So I excitedly ordered a Capricciosa pizza, 1/2 bottle of pricey simple Chianti wine and water. The pizza was pretty much inedible, by far the worst pizza that I've eaten in the entire last month of Italy travels. The dough's only flavor was salt. The dough was so chewy, and not in a good way, that I could barely cut it with a knife. It was underdone with little char. I only ate around the edges and the toppings as the center was wet and boring--calories for nothing. And trust me, I enjoy my calories every wonderful mouthful that I eat. I don't mean it was wet like a pizza center from Napoli. Just blah, stretchy, soggy. Plenty of salt as I ordered it with anchovies, which I shouldn't have done in hindsight, as they pizza man apaprently uses salt as his one seasoning. I asked for it to be topped with rucola, which was sparsely tossed on. The mozzerella quickly became hard and unpleasantly rubbery, like many USA supermarket cheap mozzerella blocks which quickly harden as they cool.

It was truly an awful meal. I only give it 2* rather than 1* because the service was nice.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lanago2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samarcanda Ristorante Pizzeria also viewed

Somma Lombardo, Province of Varese
Casorate Sempione, Province of Varese
 
Somma Lombardo, Province of Varese
Somma Lombardo, Province of Varese
 

Been to Samarcanda Ristorante Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing