We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay there only if you have an early morning's flight to catch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I will place this hotel somewhere between average and very good. It has all the facilities that one needs for a day's stay to catch an early morning's flight. It has an hourly free shuttle to and from the airport in the evening and half hourly in the morning. However, the bad part is that there is no shuttle service from 10 AM to 6 PM and it can be a nightmare to reach the hotel on one's own unless one takes a taxi which can be expensive. Then one has to book the shuttle at the hotel immediately on arrival as the shuttle is small and can be fully booked. The hotel offers good breakfast from very early in the morning keeping in mind the needs of the early flight catchers. It has a good wifi connection. There is adequate heating and hot water. There is hardly any eating place in the vicinity apart from the hotel's own restaurant. I will recommend this hotel only if you have to catch an early morning or late night's flight.

Room Tip: Do book the free shuttle as quickly as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mithuraaj d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

426 - 432 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

My flight was leaving in early morning so I found Idea hotel on line. This hotel was good-for the price and very close to the airport. Room is big and new. There are a lot of selections for TV channels too. I like the dinner at restaurant. It's too bad that service was only OK, did not pay attention to solo female traveler though. The hotel staffs were nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCDwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

For the price, it is a ok hotel close to the airport.

The food at the restaurant (dinner) is really good, although the breakfast is a little bit limited
The main plus point of this hotel for me was the staff. They were all very helpful and nice. Unfortunately the rooms are not too quiet and you can hear people on the corridors and the bells of the nearby church every half an hour (they only stop from midnight to 6 if I remeber correctly). The rooms would also benefit from a shower/bad courtain and some re-painting on the walls.

Next time I think I will try to book something in the city, but for a cheap hotel close to the airport it is acceptable.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fledermaus g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nice hotel very close to the airport, located in peaceful area. We arrived late at night from the airport by shuttle provided. Shuttle might be only weakness, many people did not get in. However, rooms were nice, clean. Breakfast perfect. Ideal for airport overnight layovers.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maiklcz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I can put up with decaying wall plastering in the restaurant. I can put up with plumbing needing attention in the bathroom. I can put up with worn our corners of the room furniture. I can put up with dirty room walls...

However, when I pay the extra cost for a 24hour Wi-Fi access (I don't agree with it, but sadly it happens) I expect it to go with the room not by the device....After signing in with my smart phone I was unable to sign in with my laptop. The reception politely (sic) informed me that if I sign-in with one device I need to buy an extra access code for a second device...

Would I ever return to this hotel? Would I ever recommend this hotel?

Room Tip: Taxi fare Terminal 1 to the Hotel is €15. It's free if you happen to find the hotel shuttle bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mariosdarios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Its a good hotel, very clean but restaurant service is too bad!!! Im a tour leader, the service make my guest feel trouble!!! Maybe next time i won't choose this hotel again only because of the restaurant service to avoid my guest complaint my company!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nilson P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Good only for one thing, who is traveling from and to Malpensa airport. The breakfest is poor, the room wasn't warm, and not good clearness! Even for one night it's not really nice.. Like 2, the highest 3 stars hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Somma Lombardo
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
1.1 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,503 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
Hilton Garden Inn Milan Malpensa
#4 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
977 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Cervo
Hotel Ristorante Cervo
#6 of 9 in Somma Lombardo
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport

Address: Via Della Chiesa, 27 | Fraz. Case Nuove, 21019 Somma Lombardo, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Somma Lombardo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Somma Lombardo
Price Range: $56 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport Italy/Somma Lombardo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing